Chat command history

Post Reply
User avatar
Exilyth
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 18:46
Location: Earth

Chat command history

by Exilyth » Post

Today I built some structures, using [WorldEdit] to help speed up the process.
Still, progress was a bit slow because I had to type the chat commands over and over again.
Being able to press a button to go through a chat command history would have helped a lot.

I think remembering what a player said (if it started with "/") in a list and setting the text line in the chat window to the next or previous remembered entry whenever a certain key is pressed would suffice.

http://dev.minetest.net/minetest.regist ... at_message is the hook for chat messages.

How do you check if the chat window is open?
How do you react to a certain key being pressed when it is?


If I wasn't so tired and on my way to bed, I'd try and hack something together.
Maybe someone beats me to it, that would be great.
Anyway, good night for now.

Dartmouth
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 14:39

Re: Chat command history

by Dartmouth » Post

unified_inventory has buttons for basically all WE functions in the inventory, no need for commands at all. For some reason, saving and loading schematics through the GUI doesn't work though.

User avatar
Exilyth
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 18:46
Location: Earth

Re: Chat command history

by Exilyth » Post

Mhh... I see. World Edit v1.0 doesn't have the gui, but the development version from github does.

Anyway, I searched some and found that according to this thead
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=13106
pressing F10 gives a proper console with command completion and history.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6146
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Chat command history

by rubenwardy » Post

if you press F10, a chat terminal with history comes up.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Chat command history

by Don » Post

Too bad you don't get the history when pressing t. It should be linked to f10.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: Chat command history

by kaadmy » Post

Pressing T is still a formspec that has a field in it, it can't really be customized much, although changing the C++ code might be a hacky/buggy fix.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest