Help to modify .exe[SOLVED]

Post Reply
User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Help to modify .exe[SOLVED]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Hi, i'm working on a fork of freeminer and when i start the game (on windows), i always have freeminer at the top of the window!
How can i modify that?
Last edited by azekill_DIABLO on Mon Apr 18, 2016 18:21, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: Help to modify .exe

by kaadmy » Post

Why would you want to modify the executable? The source code is available, if you know how (or just look online for help), you can fix that problem yourself, and maybe if it works, share the fix/patch with others.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: Help to modify .exe

by MineYoshi » Post

kaadmy wrote:Why would you want to modify the executable? The source code is available, if you know how (or just look online for help), you can fix that problem yourself, and maybe if it works, share the fix/patch with others.
Well, the Freeminer source is in Github, see the Minetest source and see where change the name!

see how works everything and start to work!

(You going to upload the little project to Github?)
Oi

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6288
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Help to modify .exe

by rubenwardy » Post

You don't modify an exe. You modify the source code, then use that to build a new exe

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: Help to modify .exe

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

ah....thx, but can you explain more?

i don't really understand sorry...

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4570
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Help to modify .exe

by Krock » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:ah....thx, but can you explain more?

i don't really understand sorry...
This is like when you have a complete cake and try to add an egg to its contents. Kinda difficult, eh?

Same situation with a windows executable. You must change it's recipe (= source code) before you bake (= compile) the cake (= executable). The players will use your executable later to play the game.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: Help to modify .exe

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

ok but just one question: how can i get freeminer source code?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: Help to modify .exe

by Calinou » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:ok but just one question: how can i get freeminer source code?
You can get Freeminer's source code here: https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer

Here's a direct .zip download if you do not have Git installed: https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer/ ... master.zip

However, note that compiling Minetest or Freeminer on Windows is not trivial, and can require hours of fiddling with libraries which all need to be compiled one-by-one.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: Help to modify .exe

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Ok thanks :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests