Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

User avatar
Sergey
Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by Sergey » Post

Another question that related to the previous one.

Can part one map (world) be tranfered to another map (world)? Blocks (describing part of map) in one database transfered to another database? I want to transfer all my buildings to another world.

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

Are we able to set more than one material for mapgen nodes? Or is there a magical way to use a string of nodes?

In other words I have this

Code: Select all

minetest.register_alias("mapgen_stone", "default:stone_"..1,4)
which only reads default_stone_1.

I have tried numerous ways including e.g:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_alias("mapgen_stone", "default:stone_".. math.random1,4))
or something like that (I've tried so many methods I cant recall now :P )
But that last method created a funny event.... using a dummy DB, it cycles through the stones 1 thru 4 each time I start MT... So, one time it will use default_stone_1..., close out, restart and it uses Default_stone_3, and so on... : /

I am not sure if anyone has followed or had interest in my experiment here
But what I am trying to figure out, is "if" I can use the multiple versions of default_stone to load during map generation, so they are randomly generated, giving a less tiled visual.

I even tried using

Code: Select all

minetest.register_alias("mapgen_stone", "default:stone_".. i)
but this just .... : / actually, I forget what that did... :D

Anyway... any help is greatly appreciated. Because I have NO idea what the heck I'm doing here :P

And if it is, that there can be only one alias, and a string is undoable.... well, then that's okey dokey too
A Wonderful World

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post

There is a discussion to use animated stripes. Correctly there is no way to use multiple nodes or textures, AFAIK

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

burli wrote:There is a discussion to use animated stripes. Correctly there is no way to use multiple nodes or textures, AFAIK
Hmm..., using animated strips might require using layers and calling mapgen to randomly choose between frame numbers...
Sounds... interesting but, I'm not sure I understand how that might be more logical, practical, or even different than just using additional textures?
Is there a link to such conversation I can review?

I just really wish I were able to figure this out though but, I simply am not that fluent or functional with coding.
I keep going back and trying to read more about applying Lua but, I'm just not "wired" right for coding languages :(

I honestly feel though, that there must be some way to achieve this... and will keep plugging away... even though most I try will probably be waaaaay completely incorrect :P

And I get distracted and bored, extremely easil........ (oooohhh what's that?...)
A Wonderful World

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post


User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

burli wrote:Here is something on Github https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2746

And this issue was closed https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2747
Thank you.
Im gonna keep all related talk of this over at my other thread rather than here. Even though it's mapgen related, I don't want to clutter this area up any more than I have with this.

would it be possible for a mod to remove these posts from here going back to when I asked regarding using multiple textures on mapgen. I have copied them over to my other thread and it clutters this one. Thank you
A Wonderful World

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by paramat » Post

Sergey

> I don't understand what blocks need to be regenerated.

The areas with grey desert, sandstone desert, coral reefs or bushes, are the new biomes.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by paramat » Post

TumeniNodes

> Are we able to set more than one material for mapgen nodes? Or is there a magical way to use a string of nodes?

Nope. As you found out those aliases only setup the node used per-session.
This would need an engine mapgen change to select a random node for every stone node placed.

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

paramat wrote:TumeniNodes

> Are we able to set more than one material for mapgen nodes? Or is there a magical way to use a string of nodes?

Nope. As you found out those aliases only setup the node used per-session.
This would need an engine mapgen change to select a random node for every stone node placed.
That's cool : )
Well, it works great for different uses anyway, so I'm happy enough with that.
A Wonderful World

Nyarg
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 04:32

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by Nyarg » Post

Is it possible to tune lava don't appears in air ?
It's making caves disfunctionality for exploring.
Spoiler
Image
I am a noob. still yet. Not so noob ) [vml] WIP and a little proof for fun PlantedTorch )))
MT Strike 78a36b468554d101e0be3b0d1f587a555f396452 Great! Somebody have found it )
"My english isn't well" I know. I'm sorry )

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post

What is needed that dungeons are generated with cobble stone? I made a minimal subgame and I don't get any errors, but dungeons are generated with stone.

The same issue exists in the minimal development game. Cobble node is registered, but not used for dungeons

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post

How can I make ridges in mgv7 less deep? And the underground and the shores a bit more rough. Ridges look so polished

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

burli wrote:How can I make ridges in mgv7 less deep? And the underground and the shores a bit more rough. Ridges look so polished
I'm pretty sure paramat went over such topics with us very early on in this section?
viewtopic.php?p=227726#p227726

"persistence' is the 'roughness' of the noise pattern, the strength of small-scale variation relative to large-scale variation." this should be the answer to your roughness question?
A Wonderful World

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post

I already played with this values, but I don't get what I want

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

burli wrote:I already played with this values, but I don't get what I want
you also tried adjusting offset and scale in the ridges code?

I do know, even with the ability to make adjustments, there some limitations...
I have been able to get somewhat close to what I actually want. And after a while I just gave in and compromised... :P

Do you think you might have better luck managing what you are looking for, more with a lua mapgen? (just asking, you may have already tried that too)
A Wonderful World

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

I just remembered this...

When I was looking for, close to what you may be trying to achieve?
It sounds like you are looking for more of a "rocky" sort of coastline? (meaning bumpy-best I can explain what I mean :D )
something like this?
http://www.americansouthwest.net/califo ... stline.jpg

Hope it helps...
viewtopic.php?p=228627#p228627
A Wonderful World

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post

I don't mean "rocky". I mean "less smoothed" and curvy. They look always like this

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20170308_204821.jpg
screenshot_20170308_204821.jpg (256.16 KiB) Viewed 569 times

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

Then I believe this is where you want to make adjustments...

(and change the eased setting, you don;t want that)

Code: Select all

mgv7_np_terrain_alt = {
	flags = eased
	lacunarity = 1
	octaves = 4
	offset = -20
	persistence = 0.3
	scale = 6
	seed = 5934
	spread = (600,600,600)
A Wonderful World

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4804
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by Wuzzy » Post

What does the “mudflow” flag of v6 do?

Second question: How can I disable mapgen flags at subgame level safely?

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by paramat » Post

burli wrote:What is needed that dungeons are generated with cobble stone? I made a minimal subgame and I don't get any errors, but dungeons are generated with stone.

The same issue exists in the minimal development game. Cobble node is registered, but not used for dungeons
Some dungeons use desert stone or sandstonebrick for the walls, the mapgen aliases used are these https://github.com/minetest/minetest_ga ... en.lua#L32 pus desert stone of course. There are also fallbacks if a mapgen alias is not found https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... n.cpp#L598 note that desert stone falls back to stone.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by paramat » Post

burli wrote:How can I make ridges in mgv7 less deep? And the underground and the shores a bit more rough. Ridges look so polished
Mgv7 rivers are fixed depth.
The riverbed will always be a smooth curve, but you can make the river course more twisty by increasing octaves and/or persistence of mgv7_np_ridge_uwater

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by paramat » Post

Wuzzy,

"mudflow" moves dirt that sits on the edge of vertical drops and moves it to the base of the drop, like soil erosion, it's done twice in a loop.
Use 'minetest.set_mapgen_setting()' https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... .txt#L2296 in a mod to set any of the mapgen flag settings.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post

Is it possible to use biomes to generate different stone underground? I tried it, but it didn't work. Maybe I did something wrong?

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by TumeniNodes » Post

I made a slight modification, so that trees use the "default_tree" texture completely (it just looks better to me)

But, I still want logs (fallen logs in the map) to use the "default_tree_top" texture.

I was just taking a look and, while I knew how to reduce the amount of logs in the map, I am not sure how to keep the fallen logs using the original textures?

Is there anywhere in this code I need to change to do this?

Code: Select all

-- Aspen tree and log

	minetest.register_decoration({
		deco_type = "schematic",
		place_on = {"default:dirt_with_grass"},
		sidelen = 16,
		noise_params = {
			offset = 0.0,
			scale = -0.009,
			spread = {x = 150, y = 150, z = 150},
			seed = 2,
			octaves = 3,
			persist = 0.66
		},
		biomes = {"coniferous_forest"},
		y_min = 1,
		y_max = 31000,
		schematic = minetest.get_modpath("default").."/schematics/aspen_tree.mts",
		flags = "place_center_x, place_center_z",
	})

	minetest.register_decoration({
		deco_type = "schematic",
		place_on = {"default:dirt_with_grass"},
		sidelen = 16,
		noise_params = {
			offset = 0.0,
			scale = -0.001,
			spread = {x = 150, y = 150, z = 150},
			seed = 1,
			octaves = 3,
			persist = 0.66
		},
		biomes = {"coniferous_forest"},
		y_min = 1,
		y_max = 31000,
		schematic = {
			size = {x = 3, y = 3, z = 1},
			data = {
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
				{name = "default:aspen_tree", param2 = 12},
				{name = "default:aspen_tree", param2 = 12},
				{name = "default:aspen_tree", param2 = 12, prob = 127},
				{name = "flowers:mushroom_red", prob = 63},
				{name = "flowers:mushroom_brown", prob = 63},
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
			},
		},
		flags = "place_center_x",
		rotation = "random",
	})
I'm thinking it's someplace in here

Code: Select all

data = {
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
			---	{name = "default:aspen_tree", param2 = 12},
one of these?---	{name = "default:aspen_tree", param2 = 12},
			---	{name = "default:aspen_tree", param2 = 12, prob = 127},
				{name = "flowers:mushroom_red", prob = 63},
				{name = "flowers:mushroom_brown", prob = 63},
				{name = "air", prob = 0},
hope the pic explains better
Image
Attachments
trees n logs.png
trees n logs.png (831.13 KiB) Viewed 569 times
A Wonderful World

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Post your mapgen questions here (modding or engine)

by burli » Post

If you want a different texture you need to make a new node and use this in the schematic

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests