Cannot figure out how to enable mods in configuration menu

Hpzorz
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 04:13

Cannot figure out how to enable mods in configuration menu

by Hpzorz » Tue Sep 13, 2016 04:48

Hi, I've been trying to add mods to Minetest on Ubuntu 16.04, and I started with downloading the MoreTrees mod by VanessaE and the Creatures MOB engine by BlockMen.

I've dabbled with mods in Minecraft so I like to think I can find my way around folders :P. Anyway, I extracted the mods and any 'depend' mods (Biome_lib and Plantlife I believe) into the .minetest/mods subfolder that I created. The mods show up under the mods tab, but when I go to configure my world, the mods don't seem to do anything. I waited for about 3-4 l hours to see if trees would grow go or animals would spawn, but I saw nothing. I tried installing the mods both in .minetest/mods and the RUN_IN_PLACE way and nothing, the mods don't return an error either.

I was reading that new mods had to be enabled, so I thought maybe I forgot to enable them, but I noticed that the mods don't stay enabled (denoted by green text I believe?), and became white every time I entered and exited the menu, so I was wondering if my problem was that I'm not even enabling the mods correctly? Is there some way to save the configuration? I currently press Esc to go back to the main menu.

Thanks in advance.
 

Hpzorz
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 04:13

Re: Cannot figure out how to enable mods in configuration me

by Hpzorz » Tue Sep 13, 2016 04:52

NEVERMIND: I increased my window size to see if I was hiding a save button (was playing on 1440x480 window), and what do you know, a save button appeared. I tried deleting this post, but couldn't figure out how. >.<
 

Byakuren
Member
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: Cannot figure out how to enable mods in configuration me

by Byakuren » Tue Sep 20, 2016 09:21

The forum doesn't allow users to delete their posts. I think it's pointless since users can just edit their post to replace it with a dot or something, but maybe behind the scenes deletion makes it harder for mods to see what the post said? Deleting a thread also deletes other people's posts, but it could just be made so that you can delete individual posts, but not threads (assuming phpbb has that feature).
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: Cannot figure out how to enable mods in configuration me

by twoelk » Tue Sep 20, 2016 16:41

you could edit the first post and add a [solved] in front of the titel as others have done.
 


Return to Modding Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests