What can you do with Mob API's

TheFourthPlace

What can you do with Mob API's

by TheFourthPlace » Post

(First post on this board)

I've played minecraft on xbox for years and as a competent c++ coder I built my own minecraft like engine from scratch to scratch an itch MC just never helped me with. However there is a lot to it, so I was looking at perhaps just using minetest as the base.

So, as part of a kind of recon of the minetest world I was curious as to where the lines of demark are between lua and c++ code.

I downloaded simple_mobs to have a look and found that lua in init is data definition and in api.lua does in fact look like what appears to be reasonably capable code for npc character independence.

But, what I'm searching for is how I can add better mob behavior. For example, if I wanted some kobolds to travel in a pack, or for them to perhaps perform an ambush or for them to found a kobold encampment I had always assumed I would just have to write the code in c++. Given however that pathfinding is likely already sorted, the 'ai' type code I'm looking to add is not processor intensive then I guess there is no reason to.

Which leads me to the question... where is the demark point? What things can I just not do with lua in relation to mobs? For example if I wanted a raiding party, they would have to share information about their location and group behavior. That state needs to be store somewhere globally available to each mob instance.

Idea's?

taikedz
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake

Re: What can you do with Mob API's

by taikedz » Post

There are no "formal" mob api's in Minetest - that's left to the modding community rather than an engine or core-game part.

There are currently (as far as I am aware) 3 popular mob engines: