CLOSED Multi Map proof of concept

Beerholder
GitHub: evrooije
In-game: Beerholder

CLOSED Multi Map proof of concept

by Beerholder » Post

Hi all, after some time off, I started coding/ modding for Minetest again yay :) This time I am looking into something I want to call [MOD] Multiple Map Layers [multi_map] which I want to use for a new subgame that I started working on a week or so ago. I am posting here first before the WIP mod section to discuss the idea a bit and get some feedback, and would like to have something more concrete before posting the mod in the WIP section :)

This very simple piece of code is still very alpha, and to just share the idea, have a working PoC people can try out. Lots of stuff is still missing and lots of work to do, but I wanted to get the basic concept working first, share the idea and a bit of code ...

EDIT changed link: https://github.com/evrooije/multi_map

"Problem":

Standard mapgen generates stone all the way down and requires carving out subworld terrain instad of (re)using the same logic of terrain generation for all layers. To use the sky more effectively, again (different) mods or floatlands can be used but oceans are an issue and the complexity having to deal with multiple mods is increased. Many times, only a few layers (or a single one in case of the sky) are added and a lot of space on the Y axis is still not used effectively. There is not really a straightforward, simple way to increase the usable area of a world.

Proposal and goals: