How to create a complex node?

Post Reply
User avatar
bosapara
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49

How to create a complex node?

by bosapara » Post

How to code a node in the node with transparency or translucency?

like this Image or thisImage

______________________________________________

Is it possible to code translucency item like a glass on the picture?

Image

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: How to create a complex node?

by TumeniNodes » Post

I guess it could kind of be done, possibly using an example of the code from my stack slabs mod or even the windows from artdeco...
Meaning a way to set the nodes positions that they can be placed inside another node but, this breaks the laws of MT physics and may be prone to glitches

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=15008&hilit=stackslabs

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=14444&hilit=artdeco

this video shows what I mean about the way the windows are coded for artdeco
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vvOowxqvggQ

I can probably whip up something sort of quick you are looking to do, to use as an example.
I thought this is cool because a game could use it to hide various nodes within a node... such as maybe a key placed inside a stone node which must be broken to find it and retrieve said key, etc....
A Wonderful World

User avatar
bosapara
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49

Re: How to create a complex node?

by bosapara » Post

TumeniNodes wrote: I can probably whip up something sort of quick you are looking to do, to use as an example.
I thought this is cool because a game could use it to hide various nodes within a node... such as maybe a key placed inside a stone node which must be broken to find it and retrieve said key, etc....
Easy way to make special stone that will drop item after crash

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: How to create a complex node?

by TumeniNodes » Post

here is a sample
it needs textures and the wield and inventory images to be setup

When placing this node inside another node, you have to point at the top of the node you wish to set it into.

https://github.com/TumeniNodes/block_in_block

Image

Now, the code can be further edited to add what ever is desired for drops.
As well as to switch to a regular node when it is picked up/(dug) etc... the possibilities are restricted to creativity and of course, engine restrictions
Attachments
screenshot.jpg
screenshot.jpg (241.39 KiB) Viewed 174 times
A Wonderful World

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: How to create a complex node?

by TumeniNodes » Post

I just added the source files for Nodebox Editor to the repo as well
A Wonderful World

User avatar
bosapara
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49

Re: How to create a complex node?

by bosapara » Post

TumeniNodes wrote:here is a sample
it needs textures and the wield and inventory images to be setup

When placing this node inside another node, you have to point at the top of the node you wish to set it into.

https://github.com/TumeniNodes/block_in_block

Now, the code can be further edited to add what ever is desired for drops.
As well as to switch to a regular node when it is picked up/(dug) etc... the possibilities are restricted to creativity and of course, engine restrictions
Thanks you for explaining, btw im understood that its impossible to create 1 node (without tricks)

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: How to create a complex node?

by TumeniNodes » Post

bosapara wrote:Thanks you for explaining, btw im understood that its impossible to create 1 node (without tricks)
If you mean, creating this as one single node, (as one node inside the other) than yes..., and I am unsure of any tricks which could successfully produce this... other than just doing it all as a texture.

But, this method is actually fun and can be used in so many ways...
maybe I will do a quick video to show ways it can be used... (I just really suck at doing videos)

I also added the second type you were looking for (just a cube)
these are all just examples you can build off of, I hope it helps a little... I'm actually having fun with it
A Wonderful World

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2943
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: How to create a complex node?

by TumeniNodes » Post

I threw the mod into the [wip] mods section
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20979

remember... there are so many different things one can do with this...

Another way I figure, would be to use a model(mesh)
Make each with their own material.. Maybe I will play with that idea as well
A Wonderful World

ShadMOrdre
Member
Posts: 1118
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA

Re: How to create a complex node?

by ShadMOrdre » Post

Tumeni,

I've often wanted a leaf node, with a branch inside. In an early version of my building_elements mod, I provided certain nodeboxes that were defined specifically for tree models. The small branch nodes connected to the larger trunk nodes and to default leaf nodes, but I wanted to add a node where the branch was visible from within the leaves. I haven't looked at your code yet, but noticed you mentioned a mesh. Are these nodes, meshes, or a texture trick?

As a side, I remember a tease from jp, just before he left, regarding something very similar to this, to be used as a display stand for a store. I believe he used a simple itemframe, using a glass framed node as the case, with the item entity inside. You can set the yaw for the entity to have it rotate or not. This is the only other method I am aware of to have a node within a node.

Shad MOrdre

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests