Post your mod requests/ideas here

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Would it be possible to have air raids? We could have TNT falling from the sky and detonating when they hit the ground. Followed by an Air raid siren. Is this possible? (It would be good for a WW2 adventure map, or an action map.)

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:could someone make a mod that adds mud and dry mud. i want to build a quick shelter but dirt just doesnt seem sensible so i thought why not mud. Then i remembered this game doesnt have mud. the one thing that it must have is a easy recipe that you can make from the begining
has anyone taken up this project. also mud would be like a liquid that you either have to cook ar place on dry land to get dry mud.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
rarkenin
Member
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Post

Josh wrote:Would it be possible to have air raids? We could have TNT falling from the sky and detonating when they hit the ground. Followed by an Air raid siren. Is this possible? (It would be good for a WW2 adventure map, or an action map.)
Dropping TNT from high area would be a problem due to the fact that chunks in between may be unloaded.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

I think i have some ideas:
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4518
(Sorry I'm new :P)
Last edited by VoidLord on Thu Jun 13, 2013 20:11, edited 1 time in total.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

How about a dig dug mod that adds mobs that die in 1hit and float at you through dig dug ore
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

How about a mod that spawns a kingdom near first spawn?
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:could someone make a mod that adds mud and dry mud. i want to build a quick shelter but dirt just doesnt seem sensible so i thought why not mud. Then i remembered this game doesnt have mud. the one thing that it must have is a easy recipe that you can make from the begining
has anyone taken up this project. also mud would be like a liquid that you either have to cook ar place on dry land to get dry mud.
I was working on this, got a TON of progress done on it..... AND
My SD card corrupted itself, lost a ton of work files, and all my in-progress mod files.


SUPER PISSED.

I'll get around to finishing this soon.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Traxie21 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:could someone make a mod that adds mud and dry mud. i want to build a quick shelter but dirt just doesnt seem sensible so i thought why not mud. Then i remembered this game doesnt have mud. the one thing that it must have is a easy recipe that you can make from the begining
has anyone taken up this project. also mud would be like a liquid that you either have to cook ar place on dry land to get dry mud.
I was working on this, got a TON of progress done on it..... AND
My SD card corrupted itself, lost a ton of work files, and all my in-progress mod files.


SUPER PISSED.

I'll get around to finishing this soon.
thanks
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

Be warned, this version of mud is highly erosive, and if left alone, can dig a massive cave system, littering it with dirt.

Fortunately, this erosive mud can only be achived by letting flowing sandmud (found at the edges of bodies of water) contact dirt.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Traxie21 wrote:Be warned, this version of mud is highly erosive, and if left alone, can dig a massive cave system, littering it with dirt.

Fortunately, this erosive mud can only be achived by letting flowing sandmud (found at the edges of bodies of water) contact dirt.
what types of mud are there. and can they dry into blocks.
Last edited by jojoa1997 on Wed Jan 23, 2013 22:34, edited 1 time in total.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

Sandmud: WIP, dosnt do much ATM.

Mud: HIGHLY EROSIVE: dries into dirt. is capable of adding more source blocks to itself, and will spread as far as it possibly can. If controlled, can dig out areas for you, without you having to do it yourself.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Traxie21 wrote:Sandmud: WIP, dosnt do much ATM.

Mud: HIGHLY EROSIVE: dries into dirt. is capable of adding more source blocks to itself, and will spread as far as it possibly can. If controlled, can dig out areas for you, without you having to do it yourself.
could you make it dry into like a hardened mud cause my idea was to get mud and then dry it to make a harder dirt.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

I could. I only use dirt ATM because the mud is just a darker texture of the dirt.
The main thing I aim to do with this is to make it a controlled mining/large-area-terraforming tool, with disasterous consquences if used improperly. >:D

Uploading a demo vid ATM
Last edited by Traxie21 on Thu Jan 24, 2013 01:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Traxie21 wrote:I could. I only use dirt ATM because the mud is just a darker texture of the dirt.
The main thing I aim to do with this is to make it a controlled mining/large-area-terraforming tool, with disasterous consquences if used improperly. >:D

Uploading a demo vid ATM
awsome +10
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

Vid didn't upload properly.

I can't work on this today, but I'll try to make a release by Monday.

Its both fun and annoying, I keep running into problems that are so easy to fix, but I invent complicated solutions that only half-work.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

can someone someone make a mod that allows you to choose the seed when in the client
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
AspireMint
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:59
GitHub: AspireMint
IRC: AspireMint
In-game: AspireMint
Location: Stuck at spawn

by AspireMint » Post

Hello,
my idea - mod that download (only yours) buildings (from multiplayer) to pc, so you can save your work, and use it in singleplayer :)
(because everything what you see is loaded to pc, so we need script on client side that save your work)
Is it possible?
"There's 🧁for you, 🧁for me, 🧁for sale, 🧁for free"

"I came here to drink milk and kick ass, and I've just finished my milk!" ― Maurice Moss

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1187
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post

Could be done using worldedit. But the server would have to install the mod.

User avatar
neko259
Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Post

Mod request: mod package manager.

You have a file named repos.list which contains mod repository links list. Mod repositories can be rsync, git, mercurial etc. A repository is a folder with some files named: modname.mod

Example modname.mod:

Code: Select all

name=Mod name
description=Some mod
min_minetest_version=0.4.1234
max_minetest_version=0.4.4634
depends=default,flowers,othermod
src=http://link_to_mod_folder
And you have some modmanager.sh script with search, info, install, remove commands. I would implement that by myself but I don't have enough time for this.

I think you already understood I stole the idea from portage, but simplified it a bit :)
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Traxie21 wrote:Sandmud: WIP, dosnt do much ATM.

Mud: HIGHLY EROSIVE: dries into dirt. is capable of adding more source blocks to itself, and will spread as far as it possibly can. If controlled, can dig out areas for you, without you having to do it yourself.
when will you make a topic with a release
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

AspireMint wrote: my idea - mod that download (only yours) buildings (from multiplayer) to pc, so you can save your work, and use it in singleplayer :)
That would be great! Right now, we could write a mod that works on the server and sends the area e.g. via email or loads it up somewhere. The client has the data about the nodes somewhere. Big problem here: How do you select which area you want to be saved? Also it might be intresting if the client would cache received chunks so that they are present the next time the client connects and only changed chunks have to be sent again. That might make it easier to view huge areas and save bandwith.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
AspireMint
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:59
GitHub: AspireMint
IRC: AspireMint
In-game: AspireMint
Location: Stuck at spawn

by AspireMint » Post

I mean mode only on client side. (but then its cheating? :S)
- "How do you select which area you want to be saved?"
by walking :) , so everythink what you see (and its yours = you are owner of land) will be automatically saved to your pc.
start/stop recording: with command?
"There's 🧁for you, 🧁for me, 🧁for sale, 🧁for free"

"I came here to drink milk and kick ass, and I've just finished my milk!" ― Maurice Moss

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

AspireMint wrote: - "How do you select which area you want to be saved?"
by walking :) , so everythink what you see (and its yours = you are owner of land) will be automatically saved to your pc.
start/stop recording: with command?
Saving everything might be possible. Local commands don't work with the current LUA interface. And your client has no idea which land you own :-) It's something that needs to be done at the c++ level.
Some people seem to have modified their clients so that they can more or less fly without the fly priv.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3938
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

neko259 wrote:Mod request: mod package manager.

You have a file named repos.list which contains mod repository links list. Mod repositories can be rsync, git, mercurial etc. A repository is a folder with some files named: modname.mod

Example modname.mod:

Code: Select all

name=Mod name
description=Some mod
min_minetest_version=0.4.1234
max_minetest_version=0.4.4634
depends=default,flowers,othermod
src=http://link_to_mod_folder
And you have some modmanager.sh script with search, info, install, remove commands. I would implement that by myself but I don't have enough time for this.

I think you already understood I stole the idea from portage, but simplified it a bit :)
The min_... and max_minetest_version can't be done, but i made one.
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=618
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Post

sfan5 wrote:
neko259 wrote:Mod request: mod package manager.

You have a file named repos.list which contains mod repository links list. Mod repositories can be rsync, git, mercurial etc. A repository is a folder with some files named: modname.mod

Example modname.mod:

Code: Select all

name=Mod name
description=Some mod
min_minetest_version=0.4.1234
max_minetest_version=0.4.4634
depends=default,flowers,othermod
src=http://link_to_mod_folder
And you have some modmanager.sh script with search, info, install, remove commands. I would implement that by myself but I don't have enough time for this.

I think you already understood I stole the idea from portage, but simplified it a bit :)
The min_... and max_minetest_version can't be done, but i made one.
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=618
There is also a simple bash (linux) mod installer and windows mod installer I've done:
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4459 (bash)
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4477 (windows)
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests