Post your mod requests/ideas here

BZab
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04
Location: Poland

by BZab » Mon Jan 28, 2013 21:12

I'm too lazy to check, it wasn't posted here before :P
Elevator - not as in minecraft, but as moving platform... maybe using code from UFO, boats or carts ;)
We can put rail on wall (vertical, maybe horizontal too), and platform will be moving with us...
 

User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
 
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

by cactuz_pl » Tue Jan 29, 2013 14:57

Sokomine wrote:
AspireMint wrote:- "How do you select which area you want to be saved?"
by walking :) , so everythink what you see (and its yours = you are owner of land) will be automatically saved to your pc.
start/stop recording: with command?

Saving everything might be possible. Local commands don't work with the current LUA interface. And your client has no idea which land you own :-) It's something that needs to be done at the c++ level.
Some people seem to have modified their clients so that they can more or less fly without the fly priv.


Is it possible to save loaded (in cache) terrain as world file?

Edit: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4619
Last edited by cactuz_pl on Tue Jan 29, 2013 16:44, edited 1 time in total.
Nope
 

kbobdc3
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 21:23
Location: Delmar, Delaware

by kbobdc3 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 21:23

Someone needs to make TNT that only has a horizontal blast, for clearing floors and stuff
I'm not stupid, I'm weak minded
 

User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
 
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

by cactuz_pl » Thu Jan 31, 2013 18:07

Idea: Instant house, wall, monument or something else.

First 10 seconds: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHU8MhlrwoM

I think it can "grow"/"appear" like trees.
Nope
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5890
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

by rubenwardy » Thu Jan 31, 2013 18:24

cactuz_pl wrote:Idea: Instant house, wall, monument or something else.

First 10 seconds: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHU8MhlrwoM

I think it can "grow"/"appear" like trees.


cornernote made a mod like this, with npc's
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Thu Jan 31, 2013 19:41

In theory, the L-System tree generation code could be abused to spawn whole buildings, big or small, as long as they only need a max of three materials and the shape can be reduced to a series of turtle commands.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

User avatar
pandaro
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:34
Location: behind
GitHub: pandaro

by pandaro » Fri Feb 01, 2013 08:30

A system to protect an area, only if the owner is not connected to the server; if you are connected you protect the area alone.
sorry for bad english
Linux debian 7 wheezy 64
kde
 

markveidemanis
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 15:41

by markveidemanis » Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:39

[REQUEST] make a chatcommand reset the global map to a predefined map, maybe addon for worldedit.
make sure it resets the WHOLE map, not just the loaded chunks. could be done with python to replace a file, but this needs to be done in-game.
BitCoin: 1Eq4arvykGNa1YC2DbJpWcwGfMvtFGjAoR
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Sun Feb 03, 2013 13:38

markveidemanis wrote:[REQUEST] make a chatcommand reset the global map to a predefined map, maybe addon for worldedit.
make sure it resets the WHOLE map, not just the loaded chunks. could be done with python to replace a file, but this needs to be done in-game.


You can use Python+SQLite to do anything you want with the file. It won't cause issues. Read below:

When any process wants to write, it must lock the entire database file for the duration of its update. But that normally only takes a few milliseconds. Other processes just wait on the writer to finish then continue about their business. Other embedded SQL database engines typically only allow a single process to connect to the database at once.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

markveidemanis
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 15:41

by markveidemanis » Wed Feb 06, 2013 14:16

So basically, i want to make a python program to replace a file? That doesn't sound too hard...
But what about for only part of a map?
BitCoin: 1Eq4arvykGNa1YC2DbJpWcwGfMvtFGjAoR
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 14:41

Traxie21 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:could someone make a mod that adds mud and dry mud. i want to build a quick shelter but dirt just doesnt seem sensible so i thought why not mud. Then i remembered this game doesnt have mud. the one thing that it must have is a easy recipe that you can make from the begining

has anyone taken up this project. also mud would be like a liquid that you either have to cook ar place on dry land to get dry mud.

I was working on this, got a TON of progress done on it..... AND
My SD card corrupted itself, lost a ton of work files, and all my in-progress mod files.


SUPER PISSED.

I'll get around to finishing this soon.
Any news?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.

by Traxie21 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 15:28

Yeah.. It noe dries into dried mud, but I have been unable to make sandmud spawn properly. ATM it will replace every sand block with sandmud, which changes into normal mud on contact with dirt....

It is potentially catostrophic to any world.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 16:13

have it dry when it touches any block but mud and water
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.

by Traxie21 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 17:03

Uhh
Impossible, because it would then be constantly drying and then refreshing. Btw, water clears normal mud.
 

chase programer
Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 16:56
Location: Everywhere.

by chase programer » Wed Feb 06, 2013 22:18

i want somene to make an rc mod with planes like the one from minecraft the lager
Back and ready to help with this amazing community that i lost.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3918
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Sat Feb 09, 2013 18:40

A mod within minetest_game which supplies library functions for other mods would be welcome. Functions it ought to have:
- general one that checks if a node is owned or not (including all known methods of protection); VanessaEs homedecor mod has such a function
- save and restore table between server restarts
- function that adds a furnace with given textures, speed and whatever else is needed; there are several divergent copies of furnaces out there already
- other things which might be required by several mods
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 19:50

can someone make a mod where if you dig a chest everything either pops out or goes in your inventory and what doesnt fit pops out
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sun Feb 10, 2013 19:50

jojoa1997 wrote:can someone make a mod where if you dig a chest everything either pops out or goes in your inventory and what doesnt fit pops out

See PilzTest.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 20:05

can someone make a craft guide for inventory plus
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 20:28

jojoa1997 wrote:can someone make a mod where if you dig a chest everything either pops out or goes in your inventory and what doesnt fit pops out


or dwarves. it has it :3
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 20:34

can someone make a mod of it though as a separate file. i have the dwraves game but i also want it in my regular game. a separate mod would be awesome.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Maour
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 23:27

by Maour » Wed Feb 13, 2013 23:43

Hybrid Dog wrote:Please convert this mod to minetest:
http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/650765-181poop-mod-v12/


I made a mod like this for fun and for learning modding,I never planed to release it,but if you want I can upload it and post it,but it need better textures and it dont have ingots/bricks.
PS= I'm not a native english speaker,so my english has a lot of typos and errors
Last edited by Maour on Wed Feb 13, 2013 23:47, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Thu Feb 14, 2013 00:22

could someone make a mod where you can zoom your sight like looking through binoculars but instead using a key to do it.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Thu Feb 14, 2013 00:26

jojoa1997 wrote:could someone make a mod where you can zoom your sight like looking through binoculars but instead using a key to do it.

You won't see that anytime soon (impossible with the current mod API)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Thu Feb 14, 2013 14:00

I think if we, add some C++ it can be done.

But we can always make a item, have a hud pop up, to make it look zoomish.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Modding Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests