Post your mod requests/ideas here

User avatar
BZab
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04
Location: Poland

by BZab » Post

I'm too lazy to check, it wasn't posted here before :P
Elevator - not as in minecraft, but as moving platform... maybe using code from UFO, boats or carts ;)
We can put rail on wall (vertical, maybe horizontal too), and platform will be moving with us...

User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

by cactuz_pl » Post

Sokomine wrote:
AspireMint wrote: - "How do you select which area you want to be saved?"
by walking :) , so everythink what you see (and its yours = you are owner of land) will be automatically saved to your pc.
start/stop recording: with command?
Saving everything might be possible. Local commands don't work with the current LUA interface. And your client has no idea which land you own :-) It's something that needs to be done at the c++ level.
Some people seem to have modified their clients so that they can more or less fly without the fly priv.
Is it possible to save loaded (in cache) terrain as world file?

Edit: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4619
Last edited by cactuz_pl on Tue Jan 29, 2013 16:44, edited 1 time in total.
Nope

User avatar
kbobdc3
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 21:23
Location: Delmar, Delaware

by kbobdc3 » Post

Someone needs to make TNT that only has a horizontal blast, for clearing floors and stuff
I'm not stupid, I'm weak minded

User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

by cactuz_pl » Post

Idea: Instant house, wall, monument or something else.

First 10 seconds: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHU8MhlrwoM

I think it can "grow"/"appear" like trees.
Nope

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6281
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

cactuz_pl wrote:Idea: Instant house, wall, monument or something else.

First 10 seconds: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHU8MhlrwoM

I think it can "grow"/"appear" like trees.
cornernote made a mod like this, with npc's

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4544
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

In theory, the L-System tree generation code could be abused to spawn whole buildings, big or small, as long as they only need a max of three materials and the shape can be reduced to a series of turtle commands.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
pandaro
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:34
GitHub: pandaro
Location: behind

by pandaro » Post

A system to protect an area, only if the owner is not connected to the server; if you are connected you protect the area alone.
sorry for bad english
Linux debian 7 wheezy 64
kde

User avatar
markveidemanis
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 15:41

by markveidemanis » Post

[REQUEST] make a chatcommand reset the global map to a predefined map, maybe addon for worldedit.
make sure it resets the WHOLE map, not just the loaded chunks. could be done with python to replace a file, but this needs to be done in-game.
BitCoin: 1Eq4arvykGNa1YC2DbJpWcwGfMvtFGjAoR

User avatar
rarkenin
Member
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Post

markveidemanis wrote:[REQUEST] make a chatcommand reset the global map to a predefined map, maybe addon for worldedit.
make sure it resets the WHOLE map, not just the loaded chunks. could be done with python to replace a file, but this needs to be done in-game.
You can use Python+SQLite to do anything you want with the file. It won't cause issues. Read below:
When any process wants to write, it must lock the entire database file for the duration of its update. But that normally only takes a few milliseconds. Other processes just wait on the writer to finish then continue about their business. Other embedded SQL database engines typically only allow a single process to connect to the database at once.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.

User avatar
markveidemanis
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 15:41

by markveidemanis » Post

So basically, i want to make a python program to replace a file? That doesn't sound too hard...
But what about for only part of a map?
BitCoin: 1Eq4arvykGNa1YC2DbJpWcwGfMvtFGjAoR

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Traxie21 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:could someone make a mod that adds mud and dry mud. i want to build a quick shelter but dirt just doesnt seem sensible so i thought why not mud. Then i remembered this game doesnt have mud. the one thing that it must have is a easy recipe that you can make from the begining
has anyone taken up this project. also mud would be like a liquid that you either have to cook ar place on dry land to get dry mud.
I was working on this, got a TON of progress done on it..... AND
My SD card corrupted itself, lost a ton of work files, and all my in-progress mod files.


SUPER PISSED.

I'll get around to finishing this soon.
Any news?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

Yeah.. It noe dries into dried mud, but I have been unable to make sandmud spawn properly. ATM it will replace every sand block with sandmud, which changes into normal mud on contact with dirt....

It is potentially catostrophic to any world.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

have it dry when it touches any block but mud and water
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

Uhh
Impossible, because it would then be constantly drying and then refreshing. Btw, water clears normal mud.

User avatar
chase programer
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 16:56
Location: Everywhere.

by chase programer » Post

i want somene to make an rc mod with planes like the one from minecraft the lager
Back and ready to help with this amazing community that i lost.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

A mod within minetest_game which supplies library functions for other mods would be welcome. Functions it ought to have:
- general one that checks if a node is owned or not (including all known methods of protection); VanessaEs homedecor mod has such a function
- save and restore table between server restarts
- function that adds a furnace with given textures, speed and whatever else is needed; there are several divergent copies of furnaces out there already
- other things which might be required by several mods
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

can someone make a mod where if you dig a chest everything either pops out or goes in your inventory and what doesnt fit pops out
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:can someone make a mod where if you dig a chest everything either pops out or goes in your inventory and what doesnt fit pops out
See PilzTest.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

can someone make a craft guide for inventory plus
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:can someone make a mod where if you dig a chest everything either pops out or goes in your inventory and what doesnt fit pops out
or dwarves. it has it :3

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

can someone make a mod of it though as a separate file. i have the dwraves game but i also want it in my regular game. a separate mod would be awesome.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Maour
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 23:27

by Maour » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:Please convert this mod to minetest:
http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/650 ... p-mod-v12/
I made a mod like this for fun and for learning modding,I never planed to release it,but if you want I can upload it and post it,but it need better textures and it dont have ingots/bricks.
PS= I'm not a native english speaker,so my english has a lot of typos and errors
Last edited by Maour on Wed Feb 13, 2013 23:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

could someone make a mod where you can zoom your sight like looking through binoculars but instead using a key to do it.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:could someone make a mod where you can zoom your sight like looking through binoculars but instead using a key to do it.
You won't see that anytime soon (impossible with the current mod API)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

I think if we, add some C++ it can be done.

But we can always make a item, have a hud pop up, to make it look zoomish.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest