Where should mod forks be posted?

Noriel_Sylvire
GitHub: NorielSylvire
In-game: Noriel_Sylvire

Where should mod forks be posted?

by Noriel_Sylvire » Post

I have forked multidimensions by AITechEye and fixed a couple bugs and added cave generation among other stuff.
Where should I post about this? On the original author's post as a reply? Or as a new and separate post.

Also, I am really new to publishing the software I make. Up until very recently, all my code was just for myself or friends, and this is the first time I ever fork any project. Have I been disrespectful by forking and modifying it without notifying the author? Have I broken some rule that I didn't know of?
I saw he didn't make any new commit for two and a half years, so I thought he abandoned the project.

I am really concerned about disrespecting the original author, as I liked this mod a lot, so much I read the entire code, and added all of this in one and a half days, even while multitasking other stuff because I couldn't stop myself from thinking of this mod.
My Games 👾🐉 | My Mods 🔧🧪🎄🎃 | My GitHub 💻📚

rubenwardy
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Where should mod forks be posted?

by rubenwardy » Post

It's a good idea to contribute bug fixes and features to the original mod, it reduces the amount of work needed to maintain mods, by merging changes upstream. Someone not committing for 2 years doesn't necessarily mean the mod is dead, worth getting in contact anyway.

However, forks are cool too. If this is a fork you're planning on keeping around, you should make your own topic and submit it to ContentDB yourself. You can also post a reply in the original topic to point people towards it

Forking is a natural and good part of open source. Just make sure you give credit and follow the license
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

Noriel_Sylvire

by Noriel_Sylvire » Post

rubenwardy wrote:
Sat Oct 22, 2022 20:02