Realistic Survival Ideas

TheReaperKing

Realistic Survival Ideas

by TheReaperKing » Post

Howdy! So as many of you already know I am a Computer Science Teacher using Minetest. I'd like to simulate a realistic survival environment where they start from nothing and build up to a modern city. I'd really like for them to even be trading and bartering and eventually using currency.

Since it is a school setting I can't have them PvP but we are allowed to hunt animals. I have three classes and I was wondering, do you all think it'd be interested if they all use the same server so that they can raid other classes settlements? The offline classes won't be able to be there to defend but I was thinking perhaps I could add traps and they'd have to strategize their defenses a bit. I'd like it so they could trade too if they wanted.

I'd also like them to have to deal with the elements like rain and snow actually having an effect such as causing players to get sick and possibly even hypothermia and heat exhaustion in the different climates. Does anyone know of any mods that might help with any of that?

I also want them to manage their waste. Right now they get a "waste" block every 6 minutes and I'd like to make it so that if they don't get rid of it after a little while they are poisoned, and also that it can poison water supplies and destroy crops and make people sick if placed too near a settlement.

Right now the main mods I'm using are:
Mesecons
Streets (cheapie)
Pipeworks
exertion
bows
mobs redo for animals
skillsframework - I'd love to eventually add farmer, crafting, building, etc skills

I do have the bitchange mod for shops and currency but I was wondering if people recommended any others.

It might be fun for them to encounter random npc villages too but I'm not sure we have any of those up and working yet.

I'm super interested in any mod suggestions people have for this.