Items stackable by 100 ?

What stack_max would you prefer ?

99 (current)
5
14%
100 (for easier calculation)
28
78%
< 99
2
6%
> 100
1
3%
 
Total votes : 36

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by vitalie » Thu May 12, 2016 16:17

+1 for 100

Other options, like 64 or 144, aren't much different from 99. Most people have difficulty with non-decimal systems, so "power-of-two" argumentation isn't really relevant.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2224
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Linuxdirk » Sun May 15, 2016 07:10

vitalie wrote:+1 for 100

Yes. You can calculate the amout of material on-the-fly with stacks of 100: “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes 1500 cobblestones in total which will be enough for what I want to do”, while when having stacks of 99 it is “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes … uhm … I guess I take another stack, just to be safe.”
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Sun May 15, 2016 07:20

Linuxdirk wrote:
vitalie wrote:+1 for 100

Yes. You can calculate the amout of material on-the-fly with stacks of 100: “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes 1500 cobblestones in total which will be enough for what I want to do”, while when having stacks of 99 it is “I have 15 stacks of cobblestone, that makes … uhm … I guess I take another stack, just to be safe.”

15 * 99 = 15 * 100 - 15 = 1485

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by vitalie » Tue May 17, 2016 15:52

Hybrid Dog wrote:15 * 99 = 15 * 100 - 15 = 1485
Let's put it the other way round. "I need 1500 cobblestones. That would be ... err ... Hey, how many stacks would that be?"

With stacks of 100, you move the decimal point two positions to the left, round up and get the result. With stacks of 99 you do what? Yep, you do the same thing and take an extra stack just to be safe :-)
Last edited by vitalie on Wed May 18, 2016 03:07, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by philipbenr » Tue May 17, 2016 19:27

I like 100... 144 is cool, but it is really weird...

100 or 99. After that, it gets complicated. Plus, people like multiples of 10.
 

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
 
Posts: 5371
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by MineYoshi » Tue May 17, 2016 20:40

a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Don » Tue May 17, 2016 22:22

MineYoshi wrote:a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...

Yes, giveme can add huge stacks.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
 
Posts: 5371
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by MineYoshi » Tue May 17, 2016 22:58

Don wrote:
MineYoshi wrote:a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...

Yes, giveme can add huge stacks.

thanks
But that huge stacks only work using the command...
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Don » Wed May 18, 2016 02:50

MineYoshi wrote:
Don wrote:
MineYoshi wrote:a question "/giveme default:mese 500" works?

I tried it many time ago but i don't know...

Yes, giveme can add huge stacks.

thanks
But that huge stacks only work using the command...

Mods can also set the size ofthestack. Just add stack_max = whatever to the node def.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

wilkgr76
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by wilkgr76 » Wed May 18, 2016 03:38

No matter what we do, someone will be unhappy.

E.g, we do stacks of 600. SOMEONE will say that's too much. So we change to 300. Yep, you guessed it. Someone says that's not enough, and someone else says that's perfect and the next two people say it's too much.
N/A
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3643
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Wuzzy » Wed May 18, 2016 12:10

Just some thoughts: Reducing the default stack size to a value below 99 can be a minor problem because it will not be backwards-compatible with existing worlds. There will be still item stacks of 99 after the update.
Increasing the stack size would be unproblematic, of course.

But I really don't care as long as you don't make the number smaller. I am fine with both 99 and 100. At the end of the day, it is up for the subgame developer to set sane and balanced stack sizes for the stuff in the subgames. Nobody argues about the engine default images for hotbars and crossbar, all good subgames just use custom textures. So why should default stack sizes be different? Go complain to the subgame authors instead.

What would be much more important IMO would be a way to set the default stack size, maybe among other default values for new items. Imagine you have a subgame where you want to have all “normal” items to be of size 64. Now some generic mod comes along, and, having the stack size not set, it defaults to 99. That's not good from the subgame perspective. The possibility to set the default stack size would overcome this.

Maybe (!), along with this feature, the engine default could be set to 65535, the maximum number the engine permits. It's extreme, but there are 3 ideas behind this:
- Sane default to make mods and subgames work “out of the box”
- Subgames will be “forced” to overwrite this number and actually *think* about stack sizes, instead of just mindlessly using the engine default. :-)
- Perfect for testing and quick hacks, before the hard work of gameplay balancing begins

The downside of my extreme idea is of course that old subgames will suddenly fall extremely out of balance until they are updated again. :/
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Don » Wed May 18, 2016 12:42

Wuzzy. Love the idea. Would be great if it was a conf setting. default_stack_size = 99
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Wed May 18, 2016 15:34

vitalie wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:15 * 99 = 15 * 100 - 15 = 1485
Let's put it the other way round. "I need 1500 cobblestones. That would be ... err ... Hey, how many stacks would that be?"

With stacks of 100, you move the decimal point two positions to the left, round up and get the result. With stacks of 99 you do what? Yep, you do the same thing and take an extra stack just to be safe :-)

1500 = 15 * 100 = 15 * (99 + 1) → 15x99 + 1x15

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
yyt16384
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:16
Location: China
GitHub: yyt16384
IRC: yyt16384
In-game: yyt16384

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by yyt16384 » Wed May 18, 2016 16:10

Wuzzy wrote:Just some thoughts: Reducing the default stack size to a value below 99 can be a minor problem because it will not be backwards-compatible with existing worlds. There will be still item stacks of 99 after the update.
Increasing the stack size would be unproblematic, of course.


Actually both would be incompatible in some subtle ways. People may depend on an existing stack being normal (size <= stack_max), or depend on a stack being full.

Wuzzy wrote:Maybe (!), along with this feature, the engine default could be set to 65535, the maximum number the engine permits. It's extreme, but there are 3 ideas behind this:
- Sane default to make mods and subgames work “out of the box”
- Subgames will be “forced” to overwrite this number and actually *think* about stack sizes, instead of just mindlessly using the engine default. :-)
- Perfect for testing and quick hacks, before the hard work of gameplay balancing begins


I guess most people will not think about this and just use a number like 99. :)
 

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by vitalie » Thu May 19, 2016 14:08

Hybrid Dog wrote:
vitalie wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:15 * 99 = 15 * 100 - 15 = 1485
Let's put it the other way round. "I need 1500 cobblestones. That would be ... err ... Hey, how many stacks would that be?"

With stacks of 100, you move the decimal point two positions to the left, round up and get the result. With stacks of 99 you do what? Yep, you do the same thing and take an extra stack just to be safe :-)

1500 = 15 * 100 = 15 * (99 + 1) → 15x99 + 1x15
That's exactly what I was saying. With stacks of 99, you still need 100s.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by philipbenr » Fri May 20, 2016 05:17

Don wrote:Wuzzy. Love the idea. Would be great if it was a conf setting. default_stack_size = 99


+1 Best suggestion yet.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Fri May 20, 2016 13:11


‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
glichgamer12
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 00:04
In-game: Glitchgamer12

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by glichgamer12 » Sun Jun 19, 2016 08:57

Ok math wizards. The only thing I don't understand is why just bring it up ONE number, to 100?
whats up. hurry up and play the dubstep!

here is a story about a cow: one upon a time there was a cow, now this cow was running away from c55. now why this was happening was unknown. you know what, i am not going to continue this poop.
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly Ginkgoo

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Gael de Sailly » Sun Jun 19, 2016 17:56

glichgamer12 wrote:Ok math wizards. The only thing I don't understand is why just bring it up ONE number, to 100?

The objective is not to increase stack max, but to set it to a round number, easier to calculate with. I suppose (I may have wrong) that at the beginning, it wasn't possible to display 3 digits, and the stacks have been limited to 99. That's no more the case now. That's why I propose 100.
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.
 

User avatar
everamzah
Member
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 00:47
GitHub: everamzah
IRC: everamzah
In-game: everamzah

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by everamzah » Sun Jun 19, 2016 18:55

The size of a player's crafting grid is typically 9, which is a divisor of 99, but not 100. I get a cool 11 coal blocks from 99 coal lumps, for example.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by orwell » Tue Jun 21, 2016 17:42

snowflake wrote:but in Minecraft its only stackable to 64..

We are not minecraft!

Put this on the top of init.lua of the default mod:
Code: Select all
minetest.craftitemdef_default.stack_max=100
minetest.nodedef_default.stack_max=100
minetest.noneitemdef_default.stack_max=100

to set the default stack size to 100 (or any other value you dream of)
I agree, 100 is easier to calculate with and is an even number.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
Mainpage
Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 01:12
GitHub: mainfolio
IRC: mainpage
In-game: mainpage

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Mainpage » Wed Jun 22, 2016 00:47

This is like the metric v imperial debate...
BTW metric is better
I eat baby seals
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:18

orwell wrote:We are not minecraft!

thanks
orwell wrote:or any other value you dream of

Code: Select all
minetest.craftitemdef_default.stack_max=0/0
minetest.nodedef_default.stack_max=0/0
minetest.noneitemdef_default.stack_max=0/0

my oneiric value doesn't work :G
the stack size is set to 1 ;¬ {

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

wilkgr76
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76

Re:

by wilkgr76 » Thu Jun 23, 2016 00:25

Hybrid Dog wrote:
orwell wrote:We are not minecraft!

thanks
orwell wrote:or any other value you dream of

Code: Select all
minetest.craftitemdef_default.stack_max=0/0
minetest.nodedef_default.stack_max=0/0
minetest.noneitemdef_default.stack_max=0/0

my oneiric value doesn't work :G
the stack size is set to 1 ;¬ {

Well, how di you want a stack of 0 items??
N/A
 

User avatar
yyt16384
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:16
Location: China
GitHub: yyt16384
IRC: yyt16384
In-game: yyt16384

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by yyt16384 » Thu Jun 23, 2016 05:18

orwell wrote:Put this on the top of init.lua of the default mod:
Code: Select all
minetest.craftitemdef_default.stack_max=100
minetest.nodedef_default.stack_max=100
minetest.noneitemdef_default.stack_max=100

to set the default stack size to 100 (or any other value you dream of)
I agree, 100 is easier to calculate with and is an even number.


It won't work for mods that load before default...

Just edit builtin/game/item.lua instead.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Feature Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron