Items stackable by 100 ?

What stack_max would you prefer ?

99 (current)
12
22%
100 (for easier calculation)
36
67%
< 99
3
6%
> 100
3
6%
 
Total votes: 54

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Post

You can get stacks of 100 by using /giveme. Even 1000 if you like

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4276
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Sokomine » Post

Some servers have increased the stack size for cobble. That's very practical as that ugly stuff takes less of your storage space away that way. Regarding the topic, I'm pretty sure the theory that it was set to 99 because that's the highest two-digit-number in decimal notation is the most likely one.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Post

there should be a setting called "default_stack_max"

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by rubenwardy » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:there should be a setting called "default_stack_max"
What a great idea! Who would code such a thing?
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Don » Post

rubenwardy wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:there should be a setting called "default_stack_max"
What a great idea! Who would code such a thing?
Hybrid Dog do not suggest Rubenwardy. I am ready for a new chapter in this book so he will be busy.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

prestidigitator
Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by prestidigitator » Post

It could be done in straight Lua mod code. Wrap (replace) the appropriate 'register_*()' functions and have them add a 'stack_max' value to item definitions if one is not present. Likewise modify definitions already added to the 'minetest.registered_items', table to cover items registered before the mod is initialized. Something like:

Code: Select all

local DEFAULT_STACK_MAX = 128;

local function wrapRegFunc(funcName)
   local wrapped = minetest[funcName];
   minetest[funcName] =
      function(name, def, ...)
         if def.stack_max == nil then def.stack_max = DEFAULT_STACK_MAX; end;
         return wrapped(name, def, ...);
      end;
end;
wrapRegFunc('register_node');
wrapRegFunc('register_craftitem');
wrapRegFunc('register_tool');

for _, def in pairs(minetest.registered_items) do
  if def.stack_max == nil then def.stack_max = DEFAULT_STACK_MAX; end;
end;

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by rubenwardy » Post

I was talking about the pull request I did a few months ago, that hasn't been merged:

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/1843
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

prestidigitator
Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by prestidigitator » Post

Sure. I'm just always looking for mod-based workarounds. I've found participating in contributions to official code rather unfriendly and unappealing myself, so the more people can do for themselves from Lua, the better.

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Post

rubenwardy wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:there should be a setting called "default_stack_max"
What a great idea! Who would code such a thing?
55noreleC

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by rubenwardy » Post

ABJ wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:there should be a setting called "default_stack_max"
What a great idea! Who would code such a thing?
55noreleC
celeron55 doesn't work on Minetest any more. I was talking about how I've already done it.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Post

rubenwardy wrote:celeron55 doesn't work on Minetest any more.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/co ... =celeron55

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by rubenwardy » Post

Before the small commit in feb, the last one was ten months ago. Compare that to zeno, pilzadam, or even me. Point proven.

Celeron55 has even said in IRC that he doesn't want to work on Minetest anymore, but wants to work on other projects.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 3216
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Linuxdirk » Post

rubenwardy wrote:I was talking about the pull request I did a few months ago, that hasn't been merged:
There are a lot of good pull requests that fix bugs, enhance the game or tweak the visuals that aren’t merged even if they could be automatically merged – but that’s another topic :)

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Post

rubenwardy wrote:celeron55 doesn't work on Minetest any more. I was talking about how I've already done it.
Doesn't he? That's weird. Then who does? PilzAdam & Co?
Now I know why it's no longer called Minetest-c55

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam
Location: Voiron, France

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Gael de Sailly » Post

ABJ wrote:Then who does? PilzAdam & Co?
It's a big community who works on the core : nerzuhl (nrz), est31, Zeno`, kwolekr, paramat, and others.
Complete list of contributors
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Post

Gael de Sailly wrote:It's a big community who works on the core
You mean like anybody can contribute?
BTW it's nice to have the OP reply for once :D

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam
Location: Voiron, France

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Gael de Sailly » Post

Anybody on Github can contribute, by making pull requests, and trusted developers can directly push their changes in the repository (minetest/minetest)

The core is mostly written in C++, except the builtin directory which is Lua.
Mods are fully written in Lua.

It's not the topic, so if you want to talk more specifically about it, I advise you to open a new topic.
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

trukoil
Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 03:32
Location: Minetest

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by trukoil » Post

I recall to have a setting in minetest.conf that enabled going over 99 items in stack, used to max out to 999.

Don't remember what setting was or if was in older Minetest builds.

Discussions about the maximum permitted stack would be useless if it could be overrode in minetest.conf or world.mt

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Dragonop » Post

+1 to 96 per stack.
There shouldn't be >100 (excluding 100) stacks, if so, chests are pretty useless in some way.
Actually 100 seems big, but doesn't seem as big as 101.

Edit: I think that you can give yourself (/giveme, /give user cmds) something like -1 and that will give you 49~~ something.

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Post

/giveme default:blahblah 100 is not something everyone on MP can (and would want/bother to) do.
So need an alt

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2828
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by Hybrid Dog » Post

ln my opinion minetest should set the default stack max to a random value between 71 and 127 if the value isn't set yet that servers get different stack max and playing makes more fun.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by webdesigner97 » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:ln my opinion minetest should set the default stack max to a random value between 71 and 127 if the value isn't set yet that servers get different stack max and playing makes more fun.
IMHO that would be more annoying than fun :P

ABJ
Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by ABJ » Post

.79rengisedbew ,kcab gnimoc er'uoy taht ees ot dalg m'I :CIPOTFFO
ONTOPIC: Yeah.....I...guess it would probably be very annoying yes.

wilkgr76
Member
Posts: 832
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by wilkgr76 » Post

+1 for 144
N/A

snowflake
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 16:50

Re: Items stackable by 100 ?

by snowflake » Post

Calinou wrote:I agree, it should be 100 by default.
Same.. it's diffcult to do some maths xD

but in Minecraft its only stackable to 64..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests