Mapgen as an option

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Mapgen as an option

by mahmutelmas06 » Sat Nov 28, 2015 22:29

Hi

I dont know if it was mention before but how about

Choosing mapgen dictly in settings instead of showing them in mods section.

instead of
V5
V6
V7
singlenode


this
v5
v6
v7
singlenode
ethereal
amgt
valeys_mapgen
...
...
My Mods:

Beverage
 

User avatar
qwertymine3
Member
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 14:33
GitHub: Qwertymine
In-game: qwertymine3

Re: Mapgen as an option

by qwertymine3 » Sun Nov 29, 2015 00:09

This would require some way for mods to tell the engine that they are mapgen mods, without being loaded.
This would be cool, but would require some engine changes to be done.
Avatar by :devnko-ennekappao:
 

KCoombes
Member
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
Location: SW Florida, USA
In-game: Knatt

Re: Mapgen as an option

by KCoombes » Sun Nov 29, 2015 01:14

A minor code addition to indicate the correct path to check for mapgen mods - which then puts the responsibility of installing mapgen mods in the correct folder back to the user.
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: Mapgen as an option

by mahmutelmas06 » Sun Nov 29, 2015 22:19

Maybe seperate folder for Mapgen mods ? And then the settings menu can read it from there
My Mods:

Beverage
 

User avatar
Ferk
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 17:18
GitHub: Ferk

Re: Mapgen as an option

by Ferk » Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:10

But then what about games or modpacks that depend on a specific mapgen? Would we have to distribute the mapgen mods separately from the game/modpack to be able to use it?

In my opinion, the window popup that is shown when creating a new world for a game should be game-specific and moddable. For many games it makes no sense to be able to select the mapgen because it'll get overriden from Lua (and if it was included as a mod like this, it would most likely cause conflicts if you choose the wrong one). Instead there could be custom options from the particular game you are creating the world for.
{ ☠ Dungeontest ☠ , ᗧ••myarcade•• }
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
Location: On earth
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: Mapgen as an option

by mahmutelmas06 » Thu Dec 03, 2015 02:21

Ferk wrote:But then what about games or modpacks that depend on a specific mapgen? Would we have to distribute the mapgen mods separately from the game/modpack to be able to use it?

In my opinion, the window popup that is shown when creating a new world for a game should be game-specific and moddable. For many games it makes no sense to be able to select the mapgen because it'll get overriden from Lua (and if it was included as a mod like this, it would most likely cause conflicts if you choose the wrong one). Instead there could be custom options from the particular game you are creating the world for.


You dont have to distribute mapgen seperatly from games.You can still include as a mod in its folder.
For games which needs spesific mapgen can force the mapgen to choose.
And there could be a new feature as blacklisted mods.For exp if a game or mod is not compatible some mapgens/mods it wont allow you to choose it.
My Mods:

Beverage
 

User avatar
yyt16384
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:16
Location: China
GitHub: yyt16384
IRC: yyt16384
In-game: yyt16384

Re: Mapgen as an option

by yyt16384 » Thu Dec 03, 2015 07:02

mahmutelmas06 wrote:And there could be a new feature as blacklisted mods.For exp if a game or mod is not compatible some mapgens/mods it wont allow you to choose it.


This pull allows specifying mod conflicts.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7489
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
 
Posts: 5371
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20

Re: Mapgen as an option

by MineYoshi » Thu Apr 07, 2016 19:30

it's a nice idea, but many people of here is ok with the actual mapgens!
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5891
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Mapgen as an option

by rubenwardy » Thu Apr 07, 2016 19:59

MineYoshi wrote:it's a nice idea, but many people of here is ok with the actual mapgens!


...this change wouldn't get rid of "actual mapgens"
 

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
 
Posts: 5371
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20

Re: Mapgen as an option

by MineYoshi » Thu Apr 07, 2016 22:20

rubenwardy wrote:
MineYoshi wrote:it's a nice idea, but many people of here is ok with the actual mapgens!


...this change wouldn't get rid of "actual mapgens"



I mean, the actual mapgens are ok!

I don't think we need so much add ethereal or others...

But if you want then do it!
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5891
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Mapgen as an option

by rubenwardy » Thu Apr 07, 2016 23:20

MineYoshi wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:...this change wouldn't get rid of "actual mapgens"



I mean, the actual mapgens are ok!

I don't think we need so much add ethereal or others...

But if you want then do it!


You misunderstand, they're not talking about including them by default.
What they want is when you have Lua mapgens installed, for them to appear in the mapgen list.
 

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
 
Posts: 5371
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20

Re: Mapgen as an option

by MineYoshi » Fri Apr 08, 2016 18:52

rubenwardy wrote:
MineYoshi wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:...this change wouldn't get rid of "actual mapgens"



I mean, the actual mapgens are ok!

I don't think we need so much add ethereal or others...

But if you want then do it!


You misunderstand, they're not talking about including them by default.
What they want is when you have Lua mapgens installed, for them to appear in the mapgen list.

i understand it, i only think isn't so necessary, the actual mapgens are ok for many people here.

But as i said before i don't think is so necessary!
 


Return to Feature Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest