Is it possible to hide game console in windows?

User avatar
alan_derua
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 22:07
Location: Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
GitHub: alan-derua
In-game: alan_derua

Is it possible to hide game console in windows?

by alan_derua » Sat Oct 22, 2016 01:25

When you start minetest there are to windows opened: console and the game itself. Is it possible to hide the console window?
 

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
 
Posts: 983
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: Is it possible to hide game console in windows?

by Napiophelios » Sat Oct 22, 2016 04:44

For Windows OS:
I use a vbs script called "minetest_launcher.vbs"
placed next to the "minetest\bin" folder.
Code: Select all
CreateObject("Wscript.Shell").Run "bin\minetest.exe",0,True

You can then create a shortcut to the script and add an icon to it.
your debug text file will now generate next to the script file.

edit:
or just add "fullscreen = 1" to your minetest.conf file.
the console window will still be open, but it will be out of view
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Is it possible to hide game console in windows?

by Krock » Sat Oct 22, 2016 18:01

There's a trick that will only work with MSVC-compiled binaries:

Change the language setting in the "Advanced Settings" window under "Client and Server" to your language. Edit the minetest.conf file manually if your language isn't in the dropdown menu.
This will make Minetest to use the MSVC localization workaround and start it as a new process without the console window.

AFAIK this only works with my development binaries - all others seem to be cross-compiled from Linux (or with MinGW on Winblows).
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: Is it possible to hide game console in windows?

by hajo » Sun Oct 23, 2016 18:48

Krock wrote:Change the language setting in the "Advanced Settings" window under "Client and Server" to your language.
Edit the minetest.conf file manually if your language isn't in the dropdown menu.
This will make Minetest to use the MSVC localization workaround
and start it as a new process without the console window.
AFAIK this only works with my development binaries

How can I run with my choice of language, and also
have the console active (or maybe switch between hide/show console) ?
 


Return to Feature Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests