The Realm of 3D Mobs

User avatar
faraway
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 00:17

by faraway » Thu Apr 12, 2012 22:14

Gambit wrote:Some MLP mobs


O_O Awesome!! Very well done.
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:59

Can't have an open source game without a tux running around.
Image
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Fri Apr 13, 2012 02:08

faraway wrote:
Gambit wrote:Some MLP mobs


O_O Awesome!! Very well done.


Yeah, I studied the mlp mod made for minecraft and thought they looked horrible. So I improved on the concept. Glad you like them.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Fri Apr 13, 2012 03:33

Gambit wrote:Can't have an open source game without a tux running around.
Image

awesome! I hope this will be added :)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Fri Apr 13, 2012 19:04

Image

My little model.

I can give the .blend at will.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Fri Apr 13, 2012 21:24

Jordach wrote:Image

My little model.

I can give the .blend at will.

looks like a robot ^_^
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Fri Apr 13, 2012 21:33

I am still new to BLENDER.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Fri Apr 13, 2012 22:54

same here
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Sat Apr 14, 2012 04:57

There is a program made for minecraft that allows you to make models.
http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/200676-modeler-techne-looking-for-help/

could they be imported from there into this game?

Its very easy to use and its designed to makes things for minecraft.
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sat Apr 14, 2012 17:01

NakedFury wrote:There is a program made for minecraft that allows you to make models.
http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/200676-modeler-techne-looking-for-help/

could they be imported from there into this game?

Its very easy to use and its designed to makes things for minecraft.


Not really sure if that's necessary since it apears that we sorta got the hang of things without it. But who knows, maybe it's beneficial to someone.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Sat Apr 14, 2012 17:51

Gambit wrote:
NakedFury wrote:There is a program made for minecraft that allows you to make models.
http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/200676-modeler-techne-looking-for-help/

could they be imported from there into this game?

Its very easy to use and its designed to makes things for minecraft.


Not really sure if that's necessary since it apears that we sorta got the hang of things without it. But who knows, maybe it's beneficial to someone.


would be beneficial to everyone who doesn't want to waste hours with blender.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Apr 14, 2012 17:54

Really? I spent five mins testing and it worked within reason.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Sat Apr 14, 2012 21:57

ok gonna try it out. Would need some information first or we need to come up with a sort of standard.

How do you measure the blocks? by pixel?
how big is the player character? 2 blocks high? is the character even a model?
in what file type do we save or work in?
Last edited by NakedFury on Sat Apr 14, 2012 21:57, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Daemon
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 18:17
Location: From France

by Daemon » Mon Apr 16, 2012 18:43

I like your pingouin and oerkki Gambit :)
~Sorry for my bad english, I'm french!~
The best server Minetest/Le meilleur serveur Minetest : http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1741&p=33
Survive or Die Project/ Projet Survive or Die : http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=50349#p50349
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sat Apr 28, 2012 02:46

I call this one, Grim. Obviously a hostile mob. Grim only shows when the player is nearly dead. It only attacks when you turn your back against it. Grim can be hit, but cannot be killed. The only way to rid the Grim is to restore your health.

Image
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Sat Apr 28, 2012 02:56

Gambit where do you make this models? Blender?
how do you measure the size? I mean how big will they look in Minetest?
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sat Apr 28, 2012 03:02

I use Lightwave to make the models. As for the size, they're gonna be big. still trying to figure out the actual size of the player model already in the engine so I could set them to their suitable size.

And from what I believe, Blender can import .lwo format, so that won't be a problem.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Sat Apr 28, 2012 03:11

instead of a player use blocks as comparison. IF the player model ends up being the same as in MC then 2 blocks high and 1 wide.

use krisis 3d player model as comparison.
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sat Apr 28, 2012 04:57

Ah, but the question remains... how big are the actual blocks? My guess is it's 16x16 pixels.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Sat Apr 28, 2012 05:35

They're (logically) 1 cubic meter, and are as many pixels in a given dimension as the texture pack you're using.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Sat Apr 28, 2012 06:42

VanessaE wrote:They're (logically) 1 cubic meter, and are as many pixels in a given dimension as the texture pack you're using.


My brain broke...
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Sat Apr 28, 2012 07:22

Eh, forget I wrote that; I took it to mean "how big are the regular dirt/stone/etc. blocks in the game?", which I should have assumed folks here would know :-)

Serves me right for posting while tired.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3822
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 07:35

Calinou created a File with Blender of a Block:
http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1690
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Limbo

by Death Dealer » Sat Apr 28, 2012 13:14

VanessaE wrote:They're (logically) 1 cubic meter, and are as many pixels in a given dimension as the texture pack you're using.

The textures can differ tho? 16x16 then 64x64 then something like 256x256 so I'm not sure how your getting one cubic meter.
Keep calm and code python^_^
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Sat Apr 28, 2012 14:20

If you took a dirt or stone or other solid node from the game and "printed" it at real life size (say with a rapid prototyping machine), it would end up as a perfect 1x1x1 meter cube, while the standard flat player images would end up exactly 1.6 meters tall (and about 0.01 mm thick ;-) ), regardless of the pixel resolution of the original texture's image canvas.

3D mobs would have to be drawn with that in mind, otherwise you might end up with over/undersized features when the mob is put into use.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Feature Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests