The Realm of 3D Mobs

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Limbo
Contact:

by Death Dealer » Post

VanessaE wrote:If you took a dirt or stone or other solid node from the game and "printed" it at real life size (say with a rapid prototyping machine), it would end up as a perfect 1x1x1 meter cube, while the standard flat player images would end up exactly 1.6 meters tall (and about 0.01 mm thick ;-) ), regardless of the pixel resolution of the original texture's image canvas.

3D mobs would have to be drawn with that in mind, otherwise you might end up with over/undersized features when the mob is put into use.
The size of the mobs are set by the .lua file. I know this because of my enderfreaks mod. So I'm sure 3d player would be the same. Making the 3d sprite image then setting in the .lua to be so tall. This is what I did with 2d sprite.
Keep calm and code python^_^

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

I didn't mean the literals sense / aka life size, I meant the size of digital models. However, if the Lua script determines the size, then I guess the right size wouldn't really matter. I'm not a script person, so I let you all discuss that, I'll just make models. :D
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

Could you give me a .obj, .ply, .stl, .3ds, .md3 or .md2 of the models? I'll try to integrate them :D
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

Sure, if you can try and implement them, that'll be cool. I exported them as .obj format. I'm not sure how well they'll hold up. Also, mediafire was being such a pain so I used 4shared instead.

http://www.4shared.com/zip/IH75qcFp/min ... furl=d1url

I have more mobs, but they're not ready yet.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Nice!
I could add them to [url=blockpla.net]BlockPlanet[/url]
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

Yeah, some competition. This should make things a lot better for everyone. :D May the best build win.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

BTW: Can you please upload them on mediafire
I hate 4shared,because i must sign up
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

sfan5 wrote:BTW: Can you please upload them on mediafire
I hate 4shared,because i must sign up
get a google account, you can use that to sign in.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

sfan5 wrote:BTW: Can you please upload them on mediafire
I hate 4shared,because i must sign up
I did mention above that mediafire was being a pain. It just won't allow me to upload anything. If there is a similar one out there that did not require anyone to login to download, let me know.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

I have a Google Account xD
Thanks anyway Jordach
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

Gambit wrote:Sure, if you can try and implement them, that'll be cool. I exported them as .obj format. I'm not sure how well they'll hold up. Also, mediafire was being such a pain so I used 4shared instead.

http://www.4shared.com/zip/IH75qcFp/min ... furl=d1url

I have more mobs, but they're not ready yet.
Uh, could you send me a 3DS or a .blend with the textures? I forgot that .obj doesn't support these well.
Thanks!
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

I could try conversion.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
cosarara97
Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 18:53

by cosarara97 » Post

These obj don't actually have the entire models in them... I think they only have the "thing" you had selected at the moment of exporting, because most of them have just one cube or something like that inside. I know it's not blender not knowing how to import them because if you open them in a text editor you can see they don't have many vertexes inside.
:D

User avatar
lalorobot
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 17:37
Location: Canada

by lalorobot » Post

Since nobody was doing it I decided to make the enderfreak for death dealer I can give away the .blend if you want
Image
Mods make minetest even better and maybe getting better than minecraft with some time
my maps: http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1359

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

cosarara97 wrote:These obj don't actually have the entire models in them... I think they only have the "thing" you had selected at the moment of exporting, because most of them have just one cube or something like that inside. I know it's not blender not knowing how to import them because if you open them in a text editor you can see they don't have many vertexes inside.
That's so LOL!! I post the. lwo then tomorrow. I remembered someone got it open on blender.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
lalorobot
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 17:37
Location: Canada

by lalorobot » Post

No I lost the first file!!!!!! I remade it although it does not look as good as before...... here are the .blend files
http://www.solidfiles.com/d/1692bfc388/
Mods make minetest even better and maybe getting better than minecraft with some time
my maps: http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1359

User avatar
Zigz1
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:49
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Zigz1 » Post

Guys


Plz



Minetest is supposed to be for older computers, 3D models would just make people lag much more on their damned computers.
Misled by shadows..

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Not true.

I had 40 fps on intergrated which also wound not play MInecraft.

Now with my new card MInetest is really slow. MInecraft runs, and is even faster.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
Monty
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 23:10

by Monty » Post

Zigz1 wrote:Guys


Plz



Minetest is supposed to be for older computers, 3D models would just make people lag much more on their damned computers.
You can't possibly be serious. I hope we're not going back to MSDOS territory.

User avatar
EnriqueHeuvel
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 14:02

by EnriqueHeuvel » Post

wheres download

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4526
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

None, this is a discussion about 3d players, you mean the files about the mobs?
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4540
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Just because minetest is aimed at older computers doesn't mean it shouldn't have features that can be enabled and used on higher-end machines. Besides, the whole *game* is a 3d environment, and a mob is only going to add a dozen or so new polys to the screen, on top of the hundreds (thousands?) that are already visible. If handled properly, a 3D mob shouldn't significantly impact the performance of the game.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

VanessaE wrote:Just because minetest is aimed at older computers doesn't mean it shouldn't have features that can be enabled and used on higher-end machines. Besides, the whole *game* is a 3d environment, and a mob is only going to add a dozen or so new polys to the screen, on top of the hundreds (thousands?) that are already visible. If handled properly, a 3D mob shouldn't significantly impact the performance of the game.
it doesn't, just loading time
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Zigz1
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:49
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Zigz1 » Post

Any better graphics can make the FPS worse on a weak computer, the 3D mob option should be able to be enabled and disabled. Not on servers but in client options.
Misled by shadows..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest