dimensions

User avatar
PolySaken
Member
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 05:18
Location: djelibabi
GitHub: PolySaken-I-Am
In-game: PolySaken

dimensions

by PolySaken » Sun Mar 04, 2018 08:46

would it be possible at all for minetest to support other "sub-worlds" or "dimensions"
that can be defined in mods?
that would be very useful.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3824
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: dimensions

by Krock » Sun Mar 04, 2018 12:25

1.5 year old issue about this idea: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/4428
Possible: yes, but it requires much work to keep compatibility with existing mods if an additional axis should be used for alternative worlds.
Different realms already exist in the same world, as the 62km vertical space is never used entirely in a vanilla setup. If you are interested in some of these mods:
Nether viewtopic.php?t=10265
CaveRealms viewtopic.php?t=9522
CaveRealms lite viewtopic.php?t=18413
Moon realm viewtopic.php?t=6329
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
PolySaken
Member
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 05:18
Location: djelibabi
GitHub: PolySaken-I-Am
In-game: PolySaken

Re: dimensions

by PolySaken » Sun Mar 04, 2018 21:57

k thanks.
i just wanted to know if it could be done.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2981
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: dimensions

by Wuzzy » Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:00

Long story short, there are no “dimensions” like in Minecraft, but it's common to imitate dimensions by simply stacking vertical realms.

If you add unbreakable separators like bedrock between the realms, you can also make it impossible to just walk from one realm to another. This way you force the players to always use portals.
I also recommend to keep enough distance between the realms so that sounds and explosions from the bottom of one realm can't be heard in the top of another realm.

The downsides of this approach are the more realms you add, the thinner they have to be and they are not truly independent of each other, since they technically are all in the same world. Also, you have to handle the coordinates yourself and need to select the realm boundaries carefully. If you do realms, it's important to plan ahead early on and choose proper realm boundaries. Later on, it won't be possible to change the realm boundaries without breaking existing worlds. You also need to handle weather, sky, etc. in each realm seperately.

The upsides are that there's no long loading time for teleporting to another “dimension”, because it's just the same world, and, if done right, the player won't notice the difference from “real” “dimensions” like in Minecraft anyway.

The realms approach is exactly hat I did in MineClone 2, and many other games follow this approach as well.
My projects: MineClone 2. Hades Revisited. Help modpack. A ton of other mods.
 

User avatar
PolySaken
Member
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 05:18
Location: djelibabi
GitHub: PolySaken-I-Am
In-game: PolySaken

Re: dimensions

by PolySaken » Tue Mar 27, 2018 18:22

Wuzzy wrote:Long story short, there are no “dimensions” like in Minecraft, but it's common to imitate dimensions by simply stacking vertical realms.

If you add unbreakable separators like bedrock between the realms, you can also make it impossible to just walk from one realm to another. This way you force the players to always use portals.
I also recommend to keep enough distance between the realms so that sounds and explosions from the bottom of one realm can't be heard in the top of another realm.

The downsides of this approach are the more realms you add, the thinner they have to be and they are not truly independent of each other, since they technically are all in the same world. Also, you have to handle the coordinates yourself and need to select the realm boundaries carefully. If you do realms, it's important to plan ahead early on and choose proper realm boundaries. Later on, it won't be possible to change the realm boundaries without breaking existing worlds. You also need to handle weather, sky, etc. in each realm seperately.

The upsides are that there's no long loading time for teleporting to another “dimension”, because it's just the same world, and, if done right, the player won't notice the difference from “real” “dimensions” like in Minecraft anyway.

The realms approach is exactly hat I did in MineClone 2, and many other games follow this approach as well.

Thanks
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1322
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
GitHub: 4w
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: dimensions

by Linuxdirk » Tue Mar 27, 2018 18:36

Wuzzy wrote:If you add unbreakable separators like bedrock between the realms, you can also make it impossible to just walk from one realm to another. This way you force the players to always use portals.

But isn’t it much cooler if you could simply walk between them?

Nether on the bottom, above the Nether are some deep caves, then some kind of a giant caves underworld, then the regular caves, then at water level the normal world with mountains 8km high then a cloud world with floating islands and stuff and above that the space …

That would be super awesome!
 

lightseer
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:18

Re: dimensions

by lightseer » Wed Mar 28, 2018 17:54

PolySaken wrote:would it be possible at all for minetest to support other "sub-worlds" or "dimensions"
that can be defined in mods?
that would be very useful.

Suppose you could walk between between and have all the mods change as you passed over. Ores not in one dimension would turn into other things. You could establish exchange rates, too. If you got it all working smoothly you might be able to also start connecting servers, though not in realtime. I mean you could potentially use it to allow players to cross over by logging off one server and logging into the other bringing their stuff with them. Is that too fanciful to consider?
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: dimensions

by texmex » Wed Mar 28, 2018 19:42

For server-to-server interlinkage, someone is already doing it here by means of a reverse proxy: https://github.com/andrewvy/knot
 

User avatar
ThomasMonroe
Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 16:21
Location: Wherever I am at
GitHub: ThomasMonroe314
IRC: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared
In-game: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared

Re: dimensions

by ThomasMonroe » Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:19

Woah, I would have never thought about doing it like that!
That's awesome!
Projects|:*sigh* school: :Qub³d: :Legends Of Survival: :making people think:
I don't make things messy, I just *cough* disturb the local entropy.
 

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
Location: Illinois, USA
In-game: Nemo

Re: dimensions

by sorcerykid » Sat Mar 31, 2018 21:29

There was some discussion last year about dividing the y-axis into planes to simulate different dimensions.

sorcerykid wrote:There is a benefit to the seemingly useless vertical expanse -- multiple independent "worlds" within a single map each of which can have a common origin of 0,0. This is done on just test server, which has an underworld (or "cursed world") at -6000m iirc and the overworld at sea level. Other subgames even introduce what is known as a netherworld.

It's theoretically possible that one could place an unbreakable plane of bedrock between each strata to prevent people from digging through.


viewtopic.php?f=3&t=18763&p=300759
 


Return to Feature Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], pandaro and 1 guest