Capes. Are they possible?

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

Capes. Are they possible?

by Rhys » Post

Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

Rhys wrote:Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?
If you adjust the player model, sure.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Dan Duncombe wrote:
Rhys wrote:Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?
If you adjust the player model, sure.
So, it is possible then, but how do I do it?

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

Rhys wrote:
Dan Duncombe wrote:
Rhys wrote:Hello! Just wondered something - In Minecraft, they have like special capes. Can we re create that on Minetest?
If you adjust the player model, sure.
So, it is possible then, but how do I do it?
Get Blender, then re-export the model, with all animations, as .x, making sure you have textured it, then make a new skin for Sam that includes the cape.This will probably break compatability with every other skin.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

Dan Duncombe wrote:This will probably break compatability with every other skin.
Not if you use multiple textures / UV maps; IIRC this feature has been merged some time ago.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
Gambit
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31
Location: United States

by Gambit » Post

Wouldn't it possible to have a Player model with a Cape already attached and animated, but with two defferant textures. The Player model only will have .PNG for itself, and the cape will have its own .PNG which perhaps mods be made to change it from a .PNG with no pixels (Invisible=no cape) to a .PNG with a cape design.

I tried to explain it in the most convoluted way possible.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Gambit wrote:Wouldn't it possible to have a Player model with a Cape already attached and animated, but with two defferant textures. The Player model only will have .PNG for itself, and the cape will have its own .PNG which perhaps mods be made to change it from a .PNG with no pixels (Invisible=no cape) to a .PNG with a cape design.

I tried to explain it in the most convoluted way possible.
Yes, that would be possible
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Gambit wrote:Wouldn't it possible to have a Player model with a Cape already attached and animated, but with two defferant textures. The Player model only will have .PNG for itself, and the cape will have its own .PNG which perhaps mods be made to change it from a .PNG with no pixels (Invisible=no cape) to a .PNG with a cape design.

I tried to explain it in the most convoluted way possible.
Yes, that would be possible
That could be well extended to include about every other wearable item. However, won't this make the model 'heavy'?
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Blender? A offline downloadable program? I could always like make a cape "skin" for the player skin, and changeable in the game. What I mean by this is making a implemented cape in the skin (First Try), then after, make it stand out (Second Try), then, Make it move (Third Try).

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

Rhys wrote:Blender? A offline downloadable program? I could always like make a cape "skin" for the player skin, and changeable in the game. What I mean by this is making a implemented cape in the skin (First Try), then after, make it stand out (Second Try), then, Make it move (Third Try).
Ya, that. The current character does not have a cape part built in. You'll have to make that!
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
I hereby knight you commander of blender.
Image
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
nolan
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 04:52
Location: ohio

by nolan » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:
Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
I hereby knight you commander of blender.
http://www.janetchui.net/images/19.jpg
I think Pavel_S would be a better choice, Jordach could be the prince
Minecraft Came Out For The Ps3

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

nolan wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
I hereby knight you commander of blender.
http://www.janetchui.net/images/19.jpg
I think Pavel_S would be a better choice, Jordach could be the prince
If you have been paying attention to his random blender renders topic and irc, I believe you would think otherwise. :P
Back from the dead!

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Evergreen wrote:
nolan wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:I hereby knight you commander of blender.
http://www.janetchui.net/images/19.jpg
I think Pavel_S would be a better choice, Jordach could be the prince
If you have been paying attention to his random blender renders topic and irc, I believe you would think otherwise. :P
Pavel's models don't have a flexible chest, improved bendy arms.

No to mention a (nearly) working mouth.

EDIT: Using space in the skin, it is possible without using two skins.
Last edited by Jordach on Tue Sep 10, 2013 06:44, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Jordach wrote:I can do this in a day. Honest. Also with animation.
Not gonna stop ya. :)

User avatar
tinoesroho
Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Post

My clothes mod more or less stalled, in part because I suck with models. I didn't want to break the skins, either.
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Yes, they are possible:
Image
I just need to animate and we're away!!
Image
Hint, hint.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Jordach wrote:Yes, they are possible:
http://mg.viewskew.com/mgoblin_media/me ... amcape.png
I just need to animate and we're away!!
http://i.imgur.com/rVsZcTP.png
Hint, hint.
No compatabillty breaking! YAY! Amazing job Jordach!
Back from the dead!

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Image
Image
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Jordach wrote:http://i.imgur.com/nPR4Ju7.png
http://i.imgur.com/1feBz1Z.png
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!
Jesus christ dude, its awesome! Can I take this into a further capes mod? :)
Last edited by Rhys on Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:23, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Rhys wrote:
Jordach wrote:http://i.imgur.com/nPR4Ju7.png
http://i.imgur.com/1feBz1Z.png
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!
Jesus christ dude, its awesome? Can I take this into a further capes mod? :)
No, it can't be a mod. The cape is built into the player model, so it can't be made with a mod. It will also be pointless if his pull request is merged.
Back from the dead!

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Rhys wrote:I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?
In the way Jordach did it, the capes are a part of the skin, so there is no changing the capes via mods. (unless the mod retextures the player skin)
Last edited by Evergreen on Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:30, edited 1 time in total.
Back from the dead!

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

See this part of the skin:
Image
You see that red section, that creates a cape when used with my cape model.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests