Capes. Are they possible?

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1374
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

Yo, extend the cape a bit.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

hoodedice wrote:Yo, extend the cape a bit.
A) It's the same size of the Minecraft cape.
B) Fuck no, then I will REALLY NEED a SECOND texture.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Jordach wrote:http://i.imgur.com/nPR4Ju7.png
http://i.imgur.com/1feBz1Z.png
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!
Wow, thats awesome!

Evergreen wrote:
Rhys wrote: Jesus christ dude, its awesome? Can I take this into a further capes mod? :)
No, it can't be a mod. The cape is built into the player model, so it can't be made with a mod. It will also be pointless if his pull request is merged.
Wut? Ofc you can make a capes mod based on that pull request. Actually its kinda easy...

EDIT: here a short video of the player with cape, added by simple testing mod
Last edited by BlockMen on Tue Sep 10, 2013 22:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese
Location: USA

by BrandonReese » Post

Evergreen wrote:
Rhys wrote:I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?
In the way Jordach did it, the capes are a part of the skin, so there is no changing the capes via mods. (unless the mod retextures the player skin)
The way the 3d_armor mod adds armor should work for adding capes, right?

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Evergreen wrote:
Rhys wrote:I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?
In the way Jordach did it, the capes are a part of the skin, so there is no changing the capes via mods. (unless the mod retextures the player skin)
Thats exactly what I mean! Skins can change skins... That skin with the cape is a skin. So, if I just take the init from skins, and add some new cape skins... there you go!

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

BlockMen wrote:
Jordach wrote:http://i.imgur.com/nPR4Ju7.png
http://i.imgur.com/1feBz1Z.png
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!
Wow, thats awesome!

Evergreen wrote:
Rhys wrote: Jesus christ dude, its awesome? Can I take this into a further capes mod? :)
No, it can't be a mod. The cape is built into the player model, so it can't be made with a mod. It will also be pointless if his pull request is merged.
Wut? Ofc you can make a capes mod based on that pull request. Actually its kinda easy...

EDIT: here a short video of the player with cape, added by simple testing mod
Nice video, and nice animation Jordach!

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1189
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Post


Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post


Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Taking a few capes from Minecraft, and making Minetest ones, and making the 'Capes Mod'. Am I allowed to use Minecraft's capes? It's ok if not - Ive made quite a few capes already.

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

I need that code from your cape dude!
Last edited by Rhys on Thu Sep 12, 2013 19:05, edited 1 time in total.

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post


User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

I doubt that you can apply these to the model, because their resolution is to high. You need a resolution of 8px * 12px for the default player character.

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

BlockMen wrote:I doubt that you can apply these to the model, because their resolution is to high. You need a resolution of 8px * 12px for the default player character.
I can edit that.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Evergreen wrote:
Rhys wrote:I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?
In the way Jordach did it, the capes are a part of the skin, so there is no changing the capes via mods. (unless the mod retextures the player skin)
nope look at how 3d_armor works. you just have to overlay the cape texture. the only needed part is that the file be the same size and that the cape is in the same spot of the file.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Jordach wrote:http://i.imgur.com/nPR4Ju7.png
http://i.imgur.com/1feBz1Z.png
Works just like a hat layer.

EDIT: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/201

It includes a capeless Sam II, W007!
I dont like that pull request. The player should be able to decide whether he/she wants to use SamII or the default skin.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
Rhys wrote:I can take some skins mod code, and do like a cape changer?
In the way Jordach did it, the capes are a part of the skin, so there is no changing the capes via mods. (unless the mod retextures the player skin)
nope look at how 3d_armor works. you just have to overlay the cape texture. the only needed part is that the file be the same size and that the cape is in the same spot of the file.
I can edit the capes to the needed size.

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Ive kinda gave up on capes now. Too much hard work. Gonna work on other mods. Sorry, guys. :'(

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Rhys wrote:Ive kinda gave up on capes now. Too much hard work. Gonna work on other mods. Sorry, guys. :'(
Image
Back from the dead!

User avatar
tinoesroho
Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Post

If you have textures - non-minecraft - send 'em my way. I'd like to update my clothing mod!
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

tinoesroho wrote:If you have textures - non-minecraft - send 'em my way. I'd like to update my clothing mod!
Well, here are the capes:

http://www.mediafire.com/folder/x0jq0fc ... test_Capes

Some are Minecraft, 1 is what I made. I know you are able to change them. :)

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Evergreen wrote:
Rhys wrote:Ive kinda gave up on capes now. Too much hard work. Gonna work on other mods. Sorry, guys. :'(
http://weknowmemes.com/wp-content/uploa ... mplate.png
I dont feel like that... I feel like THIS

Image

User avatar
CheerfulCherub
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 23:03

by CheerfulCherub » Post

Is this a playable character or can you only see in on servers. I wish we had a playable character on singleplayer.

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1788
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest