Infinite world size

Post Reply
User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

Infinite world size

by SegFault22 » Post

I remember from a while back, some guy had the idea to change an integer from signed to unsigned, and that would greatly improve world size and many other things. What's holding us back from doing that?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3931
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Infinite world size

by sfan5 » Post

previously: -30 000 <-> 30 000
now: 0 <-> 60 000
Yeah, I see the great improvement.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4558
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Infinite world size

by Krock » Post

SegFault22 wrote:I remember from a while back, some guy had the idea to change an integer from signed to unsigned, and that would greatly improve world size and many other things. What's holding us back from doing that?
int16, signed: 0000 0000 0000 0001 (number 1)
int16, unsigned: 0000 0000 0000 0011 (number 3)

No matter of signed or unsigned, they still have the same amount of bits!
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Infinite world size

by webdesigner97 » Post

And what is the advantage? Did ANYONE ever experience a too small world? No.

User avatar
twoelk
Member
Posts: 1382
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: Infinite world size

by twoelk » Post

but the word "infinite" is sooooo cool. even if it hardly has any use in real life

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

Re: Infinite world size

by SegFault22 » Post

Okay, I don't remember what dude said about the integer. If you want to know, go ask him, because I'm too lazy to do that right now.
There actually is an issue with the world being too small, when you have a large server with several hundred players - the issue is even worse if the server is a PVP server.

User avatar
RHR
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

Re: Infinite world size

by RHR » Post

There actually is an issue with the world being too small [...]
really? I've tested many servers and I always found enough empty space. Most people just walk not far enough from spawn, so it's often overpopulated there. Larger worlds wouldn't help people who are too lazy to search ...

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3683
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Infinite world size

by paramat » Post

As far as i understand, apparently it would be a major engine rewrite, and not worth it since most people find 64km^3 just large enough. I have big ideas and work with megastructures and the world's just big enough for me ;) I can stack 16 4km height realms, which seems just enough. So really you potentially have 16 x 64km^2 = 65536km^2 of space.

User avatar
spillz
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:11

Re: Infinite world size

by spillz » Post

The bigger constraint is storage limitations because the game stores everything, including the procedurally generated terrain, to disk once it has been traversed by a player instead of only saving the blocks that have been player (or entity) modified.

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

Re: Infinite world size

by Jordach » Post

Concurrently, Minetest's world saving size is stupidly large for what it is: a 4gb world in SQLITE3 compresses down to about 1.5gb in LevelDB, others might vary, but there is a HUGE difference between the two, OldCoder has been known to use LevelDB as worlds can become rapidly large.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3931
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Infinite world size

by sfan5 » Post

Has anyone used the redis DB backend for a big server yet?
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: Infinite world size

by philipbenr » Post

sfan5 wrote:Has anyone used the redis DB backend for a big server yet?
Funny, While I was trying to compile Minetest on my brothers old laptop a while ago, I got an error having to do with redis... Oh well, I got over it.

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1169
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

Re: Infinite world size

by Casimir » Post

By the way. Is there a setting to choose the default backend?

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: Infinite world size

by Nore » Post

I do have code that should make the world infinite, however, there are still a lot of limitations:
-> probably overwritten mapblocks by other ones (didn't check this one though)
-> you still can't go further than 214748 because of the way floats are sent (a 32 bit integer)
-> horrible code
-> probably other things
-> and it is outdated

Anyway, if you want to give it a try: https://github.com/Ekdohibs/minetest/tree/unlimited-map
Last edited by Nore on Fri Jul 24, 2015 09:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3931
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Infinite world size

by sfan5 » Post

philipbenr wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Has anyone used the redis DB backend for a big server yet?
Funny, While I was trying to compile Minetest on my brothers old laptop a while ago, I got an error having to do with redis... Oh well, I got over it.
redis not found! is not an error, it is just a warning.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Morn76
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 19:45

Re: Infinite world size

by Morn76 » Post

sfan5 wrote: redis not found! is not an error, it is just a warning.
Then why does that warning have an exclamation mark at the end? That should be reserved for serious probems, not a failed optional dependency like hiredis.

It's very confusing:
-- redis not found!
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
Makes it look like a redis-related error, when it's not.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3931
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Infinite world size

by sfan5 » Post

Morn76 wrote:
sfan5 wrote: redis not found! is not an error, it is just a warning.
Then why does that warning have an exclamation mark at the end? That should be reserved for serious probems, not a failed optional dependency like hiredis.

It's very confusing:
-- redis not found!
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
Makes it look like a redis-related error, when it's not.
It's the same for leveldb too...
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Morn76
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 19:45

Re: Infinite world size

by Morn76 » Post

sfan5 wrote: It's the same for leveldb too...
Then please fix that one too while you're at it. :-)

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: Infinite world size

by philipbenr » Post

redis not found! is not an error, it is just a warning.
Okay, but then why did it stop compiling on me? I tried three times and every time it died.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3931
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Infinite world size

by sfan5 » Post

philipbenr wrote:
redis not found! is not an error, it is just a warning.
Okay, but then why did it stop compiling on me? I tried three times and every time it died.
Did it stop compiling on database-redis.cpp?
If not, the problem is not redis.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Morn76
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 19:45

Re: Infinite world size

by Morn76 » Post

Morn76 wrote:
sfan5 wrote: It's the same for leveldb too...
Then please fix that one too while you're at it. :-)
And besides, if I read "git blame" output correctly, that LeveDB error message was in fact also added by you. Übertreib' es doch nicht so mit den Ausrufungszeichen! Don't overdo it with exclamation marks! ;-)

User avatar
thetoon
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:55

Re: Infinite world size

by thetoon » Post

webdesigner97 wrote:And what is the advantage? Did ANYONE ever experience a too small world? No.
Well, we got that one a lot. And to be honest, I never experienced a too small world in MT. But I don't play much these days, and for rather short sessions. I remember, back when I played MC, having been frustrated by _vertical_ limits. Granted, MT doesn't have those (actually it does, only much much bigger). But most player's exploration goes horizontal, and it's a bit odd to have the same size upwards (where almost no-one usually goes, beside "alternative" worlds and some paramat's experimentations) and forward.

Mind you, if the engine was particularly friendly to flying devices, that could make sense. But here we have either too much space above us or too few beside.

I do understand this is a huge change to drive all through the code, mods, etc. And I do perfectly understand it would be low priority, and take a lot of before-thinking. But I disagree on the whole "64km is enough for everybody" stance. We call for more mods and games, more different experiences built around MT's engine. And that's inspiring. But right now, what we're saying is "we'd love new interesting ideas, but you'll have to make them fit in a 64km-sided cube, no discussion". While we should be all "right, there's a limit right now, let's see what would be needed to lift it up".

Infinite world size might be too much to handle, now or ever. But 64km is too restrictive a limit to stay forever, don't you think?

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: Infinite world size

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

The only way I can think of larger world size being achieved is by thinking outside the box, and outside the server case. ;) This is no less ridiculous, however: Use a network of servers, and when one person goes beyond the bounds of the world on one server, start transferring data from the next. Very naive, I know. :P I know very little about server management, but perhaps my ideas will be possible one day.

And I really don't think infinite size will ever be able to be achieved. Only extremely large values that are close enough for man's purposes.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese
Location: USA

Re: Infinite world size

by BrandonReese » Post

Event an "infinite" world would be limited by storage space so it really wouldn't be infinite. I think that has been mentioned in this thread. My world with plenty of undiscovered and unused land is over 7gig. I should probably switch to leveldb but I'm scared to.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3931
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Infinite world size

by sfan5 » Post

BrandonReese wrote:Event an "infinite" world would be limited by storage space so it really wouldn't be infinite. I think that has been mentioned in this thread. My world with plenty of undiscovered and unused land is over 7gig. I should probably switch to leveldb but I'm scared to.
The longer you wait with switching the more you need to do.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests