[Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

BobbyBonsaimind
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 19:32
GitHub: RobertZenz
IRC: Robert_Zenz
In-game: Bobby

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by BobbyBonsaimind » Post

Technically, there is no hindrance I guess, once it stabilizes I mean. Though, it does make a lot of assumptions which are not exactly compatible with the current biome system, and that will get only worse the further I go.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by paramat » Post

For this it's probably better to have your own inbuilt biome code, core mapgens don't have to use the current biome API, the intention is to have multiple biome systems plus some core mapgens with their own internal biome code.
The biome API creates some limits on what you can do in a core mapgen, it's also a little limted in what it can do because of its flexibility, a dedicated biome system can be more complex and specialised.

BobbyBonsaimind
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 19:32
GitHub: RobertZenz
IRC: Robert_Zenz
In-game: Bobby

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by BobbyBonsaimind » Post

Currently it can be extended from the outside, the biome system I mean. I plan to add further support for that (even to allow to register more modules and inject them), so that would, in my opinion, need to find its way into the C++ version. But as said, that is currently all very theoretical...very, very theoretical.

BobbyBonsaimind
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 19:32
GitHub: RobertZenz
IRC: Robert_Zenz
In-game: Bobby

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by BobbyBonsaimind » Post

There are actually now only two things remaining that I'd like to get done before I'll push a new update to the server, the correct flooding of caves close to the ocean, and #3358, which is still pending for some reason.

The good news is, because stone alone is boring, I've added wood to the inventory which can be fetched, to test it I've built a small hut close to the mountains I spawned in (actually, my mod was so kind to spawn me inside a big ice cave...go figure, I really need to add a suicide command).

Image

For those now thinking "wait a minute, what kind of chimney is that" because it is two blocks wide, well, it's made of corners with a detail level of two:

Image

Also the generation time of a single block has skyrocketed because of the new ramps and the new ramp placing algorithm, and while building the hut I experienced first hand that having a heavy mapgen run in the background sucks donkey balls as long as the mapgen is not running in its own thread and environment. So I'll do my best to generate a "big enough" map for the server to simply have no one wait for that little machine to spit out new mapblocks.

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by Splizard » Post

Looks really nice :D
Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
cHyper
Member
Posts: 1014
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper cHyper_de
In-game: cHyper
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by cHyper » Post

nice project... keep on the good work of this game.

BobbyBonsaimind
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 19:32
GitHub: RobertZenz
IRC: Robert_Zenz
In-game: Bobby

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by BobbyBonsaimind » Post

Actually, I decided to wait for #3476 to be decided upon before I do any more work on this...because from where I'm sitting, Minetest hasn't turned out to be the reliable foundation I hoped it would be.

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
Contact:

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by Diamond knight » Post

this would go well with realtest for a more real and less unnatural looking worldgen, blocks make sense for minetest_game (now only minetest in 0.4.13) but on a super realistic game like realtest the block mapgen looks unnatural.

keep up the good work, this is one of the best mapgens i have seen, it should be a mod so you can use it in any subgame.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Game] Australopithecus [Tech Demo]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

nice work :) +10000

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests