[Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

Jacques
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 05:52

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.0]

by Jacques » Wed Oct 30, 2019 07:53

I noticed that mobs surrounded by solid blocks are jumping over and over and eventually die because they get stuck in solid walls, especially chickens. I think this check in ENTITIES\mcl_mobs\api.lua is not working:
Code: Select all
   -- this is used to detect if there's a block on top of the block in front of the mob.
   -- If there is, there is no point in jumping as we won't manage.
   local nodTop = node_ok({
      x = pos.x + dir_x,
      y = pos.y + 1.5,
      z = pos.z + dir_z
   }, "air")

   -- we don't attempt to jump if there's a stack of blocks blocking
   if minetest.registered_nodes[nodTop.name] == true then
      return false
   end

and I tested the following changes in my local game
Code: Select all
   -- this is used to detect if there's a block on top of the block in front of the mob.
   -- If there is, there is no point in jumping as we won't manage.
   local nodTop = node_ok({
      x = pos.x + dir_x,
      y = pos.y + 1.5,
      z = pos.z + dir_z
   })

   -- we don't attempt to jump if there's a stack of blocks blocking
   if minetest.registered_nodes[nodTop.name].walkable == true then
      return false
   end


I think that my modification prevents horses to jump 2 blocks high by themselves but I verified that mounted horses are still able to.

Have you noticed similar behaviors with your animals?
 

Midnight Sapphire
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 23:06
 

excavenger
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2019 08:59

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.0]

by excavenger » Tue Nov 05, 2019 17:02

Jacques wrote:I noticed that mobs surrounded by solid blocks are jumping over and over and eventually die because they get stuck in solid walls, especially chickens. I think this check in ENTITIES\mcl_mobs\api.lua is not working:
Code: Select all
   -- this is used to detect if there's a block on top of the block in front of the mob.
   -- If there is, there is no point in jumping as we won't manage.
   local nodTop = node_ok({
      x = pos.x + dir_x,
      y = pos.y + 1.5,
      z = pos.z + dir_z
   }, "air")

   -- we don't attempt to jump if there's a stack of blocks blocking
   if minetest.registered_nodes[nodTop.name] == true then
      return false
   end

and I tested the following changes in my local game
Code: Select all
   -- this is used to detect if there's a block on top of the block in front of the mob.
   -- If there is, there is no point in jumping as we won't manage.
   local nodTop = node_ok({
      x = pos.x + dir_x,
      y = pos.y + 1.5,
      z = pos.z + dir_z
   })

   -- we don't attempt to jump if there's a stack of blocks blocking
   if minetest.registered_nodes[nodTop.name].walkable == true then
      return false
   end


I think that my modification prevents horses to jump 2 blocks high by themselves but I verified that mounted horses are still able to.

Have you noticed similar behaviors with your animals?


I have. Sometimes they also get stuck inside blocks that they should be able to jump over; or they'll clip right trough gaps that they shouldn't be able to. Horses seem able to jump over way more than 2 blocks sometimes.
 

User avatar
JiCeyCraft
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 16:34
Location: Center of France, Loiret, Gien
In-game: JiCeyPlay

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.0]

by JiCeyCraft » Mon Nov 18, 2019 18:45

Wuzzy, I don't want to seem arrogant or bothering... BUT!

your village/villagers problem, IMHO, does not really exist.

In RePixture, you have all you need to achieve the 'Villages/Villagers' goal in MC2. In fact, IMHO, they are perfect!
Think about that, would you, pleaaaaase?
Trust and Honesty are necessary conditions for friendship.
Do you aggree with this?
 

User avatar
Walker
Member
 
Posts: 494
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 09:22
In-game: Walker

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.0]

by Walker » Mon Nov 18, 2019 20:56

My server crashed for the third time today with the following error
Code: Select all
2019-11-18 21:52:18: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'mcl_fishing' in callback luaentity_Step(): ...inetest/games/mineclone2/mods/ITEMS/mcl_fishing/init.lua:169: attempt to index a nil value
2019-11-18 21:52:18: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-11-18 21:52:18: ERROR[Main]:    ...inetest/games/mineclone2/mods/ITEMS/mcl_fishing/init.lua:169: in function <...inetest/games/mineclone2/mods/ITEMS/mcl_fishing/init.lua:154>
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3643
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Version 0.55.1 released!

by Wuzzy » Tue Nov 19, 2019 00:23

I released version 0.55.1 to hopefully fix the bug reported by Walker (thanks for reporting!).
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
Walker
Member
 
Posts: 494
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 09:22
In-game: Walker

Re: Version 0.55.1 released!

by Walker » Tue Nov 19, 2019 04:35

Wuzzy wrote:I released version 0.55.1 to hopefully fix the bug reported by Walker (thanks for reporting!).

it's a pleasure
and many thanks for the quick fix
 

zargulthewizard
Member
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 18:10
In-game: zargul

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by zargulthewizard » Wed Nov 20, 2019 16:09

Pray this works, amen.

Hope I didn't upload this already, :P, but this is a hopefully not-too-old version of the portalgun mod for an also hopefully not-too-old version of MineClone2. Codefixers&bughunters welcome!
Attachments
mcl_portalgun.zip
(642.62 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
May God be with you, always.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3643
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Wuzzy » Wed Nov 20, 2019 16:37

You should post mods here: viewforum.php?f=9
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

bzt
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 14:26

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.0]

by bzt » Sat Nov 23, 2019 19:12

Wuzzy wrote:No, they are not new. Just a bit rare.
Haha, ROTFL. Me and my kids together, we put about 1000 hours in MCL2, and we have found only ONE overworld structure... Extremely rare would be more appropriate, I think.

To help you with that @Wuzzy, I've created an MTS converter and repository. I have converted more than a hundred schematic files for structures.
mtsconv repo

It is Public Domain, I've made the script and the MTS files in the hope that these structures will be useful in MCL2.

There's a catch though, the dataset I was working from lacked rotation info, also the minetest developer's wiki only says "param2", which is not very informative, so you'll probably need a strewdriver to fix a few block's rotation, but I think that's all. I've checked the MCL2 game source to find a matching block type name, hopefully I haven't made any mistakes. But if I did, you can fix the type names with the converter.

I can't imagine why, but there's no place to mark the ground level in MTS files. As a workaround, the script sets param2 to 32 for air blocks on the ground layer. There's no point in rotating the air blocks, also the engine uses getParam2() & 0x1F, therefore this does not interfere with anything. I've checked with //mtschemplace, and it loaded the schemantic file without problems or warnings.

@Sokomine: these could be useful to your mg_village mod too, as many structures are houses, libraries, shops etc from MC. Right now the MTS files contain MCL-specific block type names, but with the converter you can replace those with MTG-specific names (most likely mcl_core: -> default: or similar). For that, you'll need a CSV: the first column is the from type name, the second is the to type names.
Code: Select all
./mtsconv -c mcl2default.csv somemclstruct.mts mtgstruct.mts


Cheers,
bzt
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3643
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Wuzzy » Sat Nov 23, 2019 21:04

There's a catch though, the dataset I was working from lacked rotation info, also the minetest developer's wiki only says "param2", which is not very informative

The Dev Wiki is semi-unofficial anyway. Only lua_api.txt counts. Consider the Dev Wiki to be gossip.

Hrm. A lot of the schematics seem to be too close to original MC. I won't add any of these buildings for now. I guess it'd be the best for MCL2 to redo the schematics from scratch. Must be a own work and not a copy.

I would post your script here:
viewforum.php?f=14

Anyway, MCL2's biggest problem atm is the spawning of mobs and not schematics. Schematics are the 2nd-biggest problem.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by texmex » Sun Nov 24, 2019 10:08

Dang, that's a very decent schematic tool. If I understand correctly it's possible to generate image previews of the schematics as well? Very nice.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Sokomine » Sun Nov 24, 2019 19:30

bzt wrote:Haha, ROTFL. Me and my kids together, we put about 1000 hours in MCL2, and we have found only ONE overworld structure... Extremely rare would be more appropriate, I think.

It's difficult to get the rarity right. Some of my structures spawn too often I'm afraid...

bzt wrote:@Sokomine: these could be useful to your mg_village mod too, as many structures are houses, libraries, shops etc from MC.

I don't like the original MC houses and structures much. They're more simplistic than what I want. The newer ones are a lot nicer. And then there's the problem Wuzzy already mentionned...no idea if a building is covered by copyright. Reproducing something in a similar (or better) style would IMHO be much better. But in general, you can create a new village type for mg_villages easily if you've got the schematics.

bzt wrote:Right now the MTS files contain MCL-specific block type names, but with the converter you can replace those with MTG-specific names (most likely mcl_core: -> default: or similar). For that, you'll need a CSV: the first column is the from type name, the second is the to type names.

Code: Select all
./mtsconv -c mcl2default.csv somemclstruct.mts mtgstruct.mts

handle_schematics has some conversion mechanisms for MCL2 <-> MTG already - but it's incomplete. Your list might be helpful to improve it.

bzt wrote:There's a catch though, the dataset I was working from lacked rotation info,

bzt wrote:I can't imagine why, but there's no place to mark the ground level in MTS files.

Yes, exactly. That's so with schematics: No way to tell how they're initially rotated (which matters if you want to place them rotated in a certain direction) or where ground level is. handle_schematics and mg_villages circumvent that by attaching depth and rotation info to the filename. It's easiest to just go to the building you want to save, mark its end position with a handle_schematics:build marker/chest, then mark the front position, save it, and drop that in the schems/ folder of your new village type mod.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

bzt
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 14:26

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by bzt » Sun Nov 24, 2019 20:31

Wuzzy wrote:The Dev Wiki is semi-unofficial anyway. Only lua_api.txt counts. Consider the Dev Wiki to be gossip.
Hahaha, you made my day man! You have a great sense of humor! I've never heard anybody calling a dev wiki "gossip", that's hilarious! :-) Good one, I like it! And it fits :-)

Wuzzy wrote:Hrm. A lot of the schematics seem to be too close to original MC. I won't add any of these buildings for now. I guess it'd be the best for MCL2 to redo the schematics from scratch. Must be a own work and not a copy.
They are close, sure, but they are no copies. I haven't used the original MC, I don't even have the original files. I've used an independent free-source, that's why most of the block rotations are missing. If anybody feels to make adjustments to these to make them more MCL2 and less MC, fell-free to do so, I give my permission. I though of these schematics as a base to work with anyway, not as ones that could be included in MCL2 just as-is.

Wuzzy wrote:I would post your script here:
viewforum.php?f=14
Thank you, I'll.

Wuzzy wrote:Anyway, MCL2's biggest problem atm is the spawning of mobs and not schematics. Schematics are the 2nd-biggest problem.
I've never experienced anything wrong with mob spawing, but I believe you.

texmex wrote:Dang, that's a very decent schematic tool. If I understand correctly it's possible to generate image previews of the schematics as well? Very nice.
Yes it can, although many blocks are missing, because the Minetest wiki (where the block images were downloaded from) does not have the images for all the nodes. Also images for rotated stairs are missing, so even if the MTS were right, the preview would be most likely incorrect. The good news is, to fix that, all you need to do is to provide the missing .pngs in the blockimgs/ directory.

Sokomine wrote:It's difficult to get the rarity right. Some of my structures spawn too often I'm afraid...
I know. It also has to be seed dependent, so it's tricky at best. I only wish my biggest problem were too many structures in the overworld! :-)

Sokomine wrote:no idea if a building is covered by copyright.
As far as I know, they are not. I haven't used MC in any form, but I agree with you and with Wuzzy, it would be better if someone would "tune" them up a bit and fix the rotations. I'm afraid I'm a good developer, but I'm not as good with design, sorry. But maybe someone on this forum will volunteer and help.

Sokomine wrote:handle_schematics has some conversion mechanisms for MCL2 <-> MTG already - but it's incomplete. Your list might be helpful to improve it.
This is not an in-game, it is an offline converter (if you know what I mean). Currently I have no CSV for MCL2 <-> MTG, but it would be easy to create one just as I've created html2mcl.csv.

Sokomine wrote:es, exactly. That's so with schematics: No way to tell how they're initially rotated
Huh, I haven't though of that, but you're right! There's no per-structure rotation info, only per-block. I suppose you could circumvent that if every single MTS would store the model in a specific orientation (something like, as +Y is up, +X is on the right, +Z is toward the viewer, then the entrance (building front) must be always point to the +Z direction, or with other words, without rotation, the entrance must be towards the viewer).

Cheers,
bzt
 

bzt
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 14:26
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Sokomine » Sun Nov 24, 2019 21:43

bzt wrote:I've never experienced anything wrong with mob spawing, but I believe you.

It's another tricky affair. Either there are too many, or too few (players always tend to complain), or it takes too long to find a place the mob likes (spawning them at mapgen time is often time consuming and can lead to lag).

As far as villagers are concerned, they're prone to wander away. Those existing for a test on some servers (i.e. Sono un Altro Clone; has manually placed village; dig the gravel at the crossing marked with a sign to get villagers spawning) disappear pretty quickly into the woods. They also havn't been observed uttering "hm" all the time as what seems to be the main job of MC villagers.

bzt wrote:This is not an in-game, it is an offline converter (if you know what I mean). Currently I have no CSV for MCL2 <-> MTG, but it would be easy to create one just as I've created html2mcl.csv.

It was clear that it's an offline converter. I just hoped you had a list of node name translations better than mine :-)

bzt wrote:I suppose you could circumvent that if every single MTS would store the model in a specific orientation (something like, as +Y is up, +X is on the right, +Z is toward the viewer, then the entrance (building front) must be always point to the +Z direction, or with other words, without rotation, the entrance must be towards the viewer).

No, there's sadly no such convention. Most of the time the .mts format is used for decoration like trees and the like. For those, rotation doesn't matter that much or is best random anyway.

If you want to use the schematics you've saved, best save them again once each with my handle_schematics mod. That gets them the right file name extensions. You can also provide that data in a table in the village type definition, but that's tedious work. Then up with them into a schems/ folder, and add a suitable init.lua file. village_gambit may act as an excample as how to set this up. And then you ought to be able to spawn your villages in MCL2.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Midnight Sapphire
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 23:06

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Midnight Sapphire » Fri Nov 29, 2019 19:50

Hello y'all I got a question for you regarding mine clone 2 I am a server admin for a small private server and I am curious if there's any way to activate a per player creative mode for the admin account so I can do some admin stuff without having to activate creative mode for everyone
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3643
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Wuzzy » Fri Nov 29, 2019 23:21

Sorry, there is no per-player Creative Mode yet. :-(
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

Midnight Sapphire
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 23:06

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Midnight Sapphire » Sat Nov 30, 2019 02:33

Hey I wanted to report a bug or something are you aware that skeletons can shoot through walls
 

User avatar
Leun
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 05:00
Location: Eastern United States
In-game: Leun

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by Leun » Tue Dec 03, 2019 05:58

Midnight Sapphire wrote:Hey I wanted to report a bug or something are you aware that skeletons can shoot through walls


Wuzzy is aware. Same with spiders that can hit you through ceilings, floors and walls. As far as I know, there is no set date when these will get fixed. I assume it has to do with nodes and line of sight code or something related to a feature missing from the Minetest engine.. or it would of been quickly fixed already. However, you can browse all open and closed bugs in the link below and also post new bugs there if they don't already exist there. Hope this is helpful to you in the future.

https://git.minetest.land/Wuzzy/MineClone2/issues
 

tashbaugh
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 18:25
Location: Alabama - US
GitHub: ashbaught

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by tashbaugh » Tue Dec 03, 2019 16:33

Leun wrote:
Midnight Sapphire wrote:Hey I wanted to report a bug or something are you aware that skeletons can shoot through walls


Wuzzy is aware. Same with spiders that can hit you through ceilings, floors and walls. As far as I know, there is no set date when these will get fixed. I assume it has to do with nodes and line of sight code or something related to a feature missing from the Minetest engine.. or it would of been quickly fixed already. However, you can browse all open and closed bugs in the link below and also post new bugs there if they don't already exist there. Hope this is helpful to you in the future.

https://git.minetest.land/Wuzzy/MineClone2/issues

Image
Lee County Schools uses Minetest to promote student reading. https://mine.lee.k12.al.us
 

bzt
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 14:26

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.55.1]

by bzt » Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:51

Hi,

I think I might have found the reason why skeletons are shooting through nodes.

In ENTITIES\mcl_mobs\api.lua, in do_states, at line 2032
Code: Select all
      -- stop attacking if player invisible or out of range
      if dist > self.view_range
      or not self.attack
      or not self.attack:get_pos()
      or self.attack:get_hp() <= 0
      or (self.attack:is_player() and mobs.invis[ self.attack:get_player_name() ]) then
the value of mobs.invis is not cleared properly when the player moves and a node gets between the mod and the player (I think).

If not this, then the problem must be with the local line_of_sight function at line 273. I've tried to replace that call in monster_attack (which picks a player to attack) in line 1543 with the original minetest.line_of_sight, but unfortunately I haven't run into any skeletons yet to test if it works. Where are they when you need them? :-) Anyway, that local line_of_sight does strange things to jump over non-walkable nodes which might be the root of the problem. I think monster_attack should use the original minetest.line_of_sight (which only checks for Air nodes).

Cheers,
bzt
 

Previous

Return to WIP Games



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest