[Game] MineClone2 [0.86]

Nicu
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 15:21
GitHub: kneekoo

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Nicu » Post

Code: Select all

nicu@nas:~/.minetest/games/mineclone2/tools$ python3 Texture_Converter.py 
ERROR: You didn't tell me the path to the Minecraft resource pack.
Mind-reading has not been implemented yet.

Try this:
    Texture_Converter.py -i <path to resource pack> -p <texture size>

For the full help, use:
    Texture_Converter.py -h
    
nicu@nas:~/.minetest/games/mineclone2/tools$ python3 Texture_Converter.py -h
This is the official MineClone 2 Texture Converter.
This will convert textures from Minecraft resource packs to
a Minetest texture pack.

Supported Minecraft version: 1.12 (Java Edition)

Syntax:
Texture_Converter.py -i <input dir> [-o <output dir>] [-d] [-v|-q] [-h]
Mandatory argument:
-i <input directory>
	Directory of Minecraft resource pack to convert

Optional arguments:
-p <texture size>
	Specify the size (in pixels) of the original textures (default: 16)
-o <output directory>
	Directory in which to put the resulting Minetest texture pack
	(default: working directory)
-d
	Just pretend to convert textures and just print output, but do not actually
	change any files.
-v
	Print out all copying actions
-h
	Show this help and exit

User avatar
NO11
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 22:24
GitHub: NO411
In-game: NO11
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by NO11 » Post

I had already figured out everything, the problem was different. Thanks anyway, Nicu.
With this code it worked perfectly, only 17 textures could not be converted:

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~/minetest-5.3.0/games/mineclone2/tools $ python3.7 Texture_Converter.py -i ./NewDefault+v1.37[MC1.11-1.12.2] -p 16 -o ./Mineclone2texturen
I think I used the wrong Python version (default 2.7? ,on the Raspberrypi4 :)), it worked with Python3.7. It's great that EliasFleckenstein wants to provide even better support for all textures up to 0.71 (or 0.72 idk). Meanwhile I'm trying to write a code for MC 1.17 (even if mcl2's goal is 1.11)packs so that I can use modern textures.

Nicu
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 15:21
GitHub: kneekoo

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Nicu » Post

Indeed, Python 2 is still in the Raspberry Pi OS, as default:

Code: Select all

pi@raspi4b2gb128:~ $ python --version
Python 2.7.16
I wonder if v2 will still be present in Debian 11 Bullseye (next foundation for the Raspberry Pi OS) and if so, which one will be the default. So far, the official information is that both 2.7 and 3.9 will be present, but that can change.

And yes, it would be great to have a script capable of converting even the latest texture packs, so we can switch them easier. My brain keeps nagging me every month or so to start doing some Python+GTK UI stuff for a few things, and maybe even a frontend for a texture pack browser that uses MC2's texture converter to switch packs by clicking instead of touching the terminal. And then I go back to my other projects/activities and nothing comes out of that idea. :))

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by goats » Post

[Edit: Bah! it would have been super nice if the other posts had shown up as well before i answered.]

Is Conversion_Table.csv in the same directory as the script? (Unless something was moved, it would be.) Are you running your terminal/cmd window from inside that directory or specifying full paths?

Although, if i do a fake conversion, i get the error:
TypeError: 'newline' is an invalid keyword argument for this function

which means your interpreter could be assuming 'Conversion_Table.csv, newline=' is a filename.

Maybe you do not have the correct version of python installed, or it is not default. (E.g., my system assumes 2.7 even though 3 is also installed.) If you do not have v3 installed, do that.

So: If you have a version of python installed besides v3, open Texture_Converter.py in a text editor, and at the top in the shebang line add a 3. (This should be there anyway as it is the required version. Bug, really. )
#!/usr/bin/env python3 or whatever the path is on your OS or particular configuration.

User avatar
kay27
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 19:26
GitHub: kay27
Location: Cyprus
Contact:

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by kay27 » Post

Hi,

As there is a chance that there will be, well, maybe villages in next release, I've got kinda a task for curious players:

- Run MCL2 from master branch with different world seeds, locate villages and share some of your finds (world seed number, mapgen, and coorditanes), if it will be something unusual, uncommon, that would be better to fix before releasing.

Actually it would be better not to change randomizer after the release - otherwise villages will move on the land, from version to version :) So you really can help now if you have some time and curiosity for that.

Many thanks in advance.

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by goats » Post

Wow mesehub is as slow as waiting for glass to evaporate right now.

User avatar
Leun
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 05:00
In-game: Leun

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Leun » Post

@kay27 I've only found one village so far and I did not find anything wrong with the placement of buildings. Only posting the seed and coordinates to acknowledge that I did find one. If I do find any villages with unusual stuff I'll post those, but everything looks good so far. :)

Seed: 666 (mapgen: 7) Village: -700.0, -95.2

User avatar
Leun
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 05:00
In-game: Leun

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Leun » Post

@kay27 I found a village on top of a mountain at cloud level. The mapgen and building placement was done well in my opinion and I had no issues with it. A village at cloud level looks really neat as the clouds move through it. I'll stop posting village seeds, but from what I've tested, the village mapgen is very good. :)

Seed: 8675309 (mapgen: 7) Village: -73.4, -365.8

markr
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 18:29
GitHub: CableGuy67

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by markr » Post

carpathian 123456789

2 villages near spawn then I flew around a bit out to about 10k w and s but didn't see anything else.

173, 10 and -67, 172
village 1and2.jpg
village 1and2.jpg (265.25 KiB) Viewed 1730 times

User avatar
JiCeyCraft
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 16:34
In-game: JiCeyPlay
Location: Center of France, Loiret, Gien
Contact:

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by JiCeyCraft » Post

WHAAAAAT?!?! 0.0 You actually FOUND Villages? WHAAT?! And villagers?
Trust and Honesty are necessary conditions for friendship. (Princess Celestia)

User avatar
Leun
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 05:00
In-game: Leun

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Leun » Post

@JiCeyCraft Villages yes, villagers no. I think the dev's are just doing village mapgen testing right now in the master commit. Kay27 posted above for people to test it out. As always, your reaction made me laugh. :)

User avatar
NO11
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 22:24
GitHub: NO411
In-game: NO11
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by NO11 » Post

WHAAAAAT?!?! 0.0 You actually FOUND Villages? WHAAT?! And villagers?
You can also spawn villagers, but this is very, very, very experimental:
In /games/mineclone2/mods/MAPGEN/mcl_villages/init.lua line 38-52 to enable.

Code: Select all

--[[ Enable for testing, but use MineClone2's own spawn code if/when merging.
--
-- register inhabitants
--
if minetest.get_modpath("mobs_mc") ~= nil then
  mobs:register_spawn("mobs_mc:villager", --name
    {"mcl_core:stonebrickcarved"}, --nodes
    15, --max_light
    0, --min_light
    20, --chance
    7, --active_object_count
    31000, --max_height
    nil) --day_toggle
end 
--]]
After a while, villagers will spawn in some houses.
I wish you the best of luck in finding structures ....

User avatar
NO11
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 22:24
GitHub: NO411
In-game: NO11
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by NO11 » Post

I have another question: I really enjoy playing Pvp with friends on a local (in 1 network) server, like "MC Manhut". But (I play on a raspi4 ..., the others on Win10) item drop is extremely delayed, chests cannot be opened, I'm killed, he loots my things, but I live on and can place whatever I want indefinitely ... . Everything is really bugged, what could be the reason? Really because of the weak performance of my Raspi? because if I host a local server from the Raspi, everything works perfectly for me. But someone who joins the game can hardly play because everything (including boats) is loading far too slowly.
If someone else is hosting and I join, everything is flawed with me. Anyone have an idea why? Pvp is hardly possible, sorry for being so upset, Mineclone2 is great. Could such things be fixed in 0.72 (performance update)?

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by daret » Post

NO11 wrote:
Fri Jan 29, 2021 20:17
I have another question: I really enjoy playing Pvp with friends on a local (in 1 network) server, like "MC Manhut". But (I play on a raspi4 ..., the others on Win10) item drop is extremely delayed, chests cannot be opened, I'm killed, he loots my things, but I live on and can place whatever I want indefinitely ... . Everything is really bugged, what could be the reason? Really because of the weak performance of my Raspi? because if I host a local server from the Raspi, everything works perfectly for me. But someone who joins the game can hardly play because everything (including boats) is loading far too slowly.
If someone else is hosting and I join, everything is flawed with me. Anyone have an idea why? Pvp is hardly possible, sorry for being so upset, Mineclone2 is great. Could such things be fixed in 0.72 (performance update)?
You are playing Mineclone on top of Raspberry Pi OS?
I would say RPi is not powerful enough, may be running only server (without GUI) could work, but running server + playing the game on the same device ... I don't know.

Try to check the cpu performance (https://www.geeks3d.com/20191004/gl-z-0 ... -improved/).
But I would say the bottleneck is the sd-card, used for OS and data storage.
https://www.jeffgeerling.com/blog/2019/ ... rison-2019
- may be using some usb3 ssd could help

User avatar
JiCeyCraft
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 16:34
In-game: JiCeyPlay
Location: Center of France, Loiret, Gien
Contact:

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by JiCeyCraft » Post

NO11 wrote:
Fri Jan 29, 2021 20:08
WHAAAAAT?!?! 0.0 You actually FOUND Villages? WHAAT?! And villagers?
You can also spawn villagers, but this is very, very, very experimental:
In /games/mineclone2/mods/MAPGEN/mcl_villages/init.lua line 38-52 to enable.

Code: Select all

--[[ Enable for testing, but use MineClone2's own spawn code if/when merging.
--
-- register inhabitants
--
if minetest.get_modpath("mobs_mc") ~= nil then
  mobs:register_spawn("mobs_mc:villager", --name
    {"mcl_core:stonebrickcarved"}, --nodes
    15, --max_light
    0, --min_light
    20, --chance
    7, --active_object_count
    31000, --max_height
    nil) --day_toggle
end 
--]]
After a while, villagers will spawn in some houses.
I wish you the best of luck in finding structures ....
'... pas de fichier ou de dossier existant dans ...' (TR '.. no such file or directory in...')
I think I might wait a liiiitle while for the next update, right?
I have mcl_structures in MAPGEN folder, but no mcl_villages.
You guys were showing pictures and coordinates while working on the last version, right?
Trust and Honesty are necessary conditions for friendship. (Princess Celestia)

tuxayo
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 19:08

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by tuxayo » Post

JiCeyCraft wrote:
Sat Jan 30, 2021 17:01
You guys were showing pictures and coordinates while working on the last version, right?
Bonjour, hi :) Yes, they are using the master branch which is the development version.

User avatar
JiCeyCraft
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 16:34
In-game: JiCeyPlay
Location: Center of France, Loiret, Gien
Contact:

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by JiCeyCraft » Post

tuxayo wrote:
Sat Jan 30, 2021 19:10
JiCeyCraft wrote:
Sat Jan 30, 2021 17:01
You guys were showing pictures and coordinates while working on the last version, right?
Bonjour, hi :) Yes, they are using the master branch which is the development version.
I thought so......
*chuckles sarcastically*
Trust and Honesty are necessary conditions for friendship. (Princess Celestia)

User avatar
Leun
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 05:00
In-game: Leun

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Leun » Post

This is currently going to a 404 error page for me:
https://git.minetest.land/MineClone2Org/MineClone2/

I think it is because it use to say Wuzzy instead of MineClone2Org..

User avatar
Grigor
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 05:55

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Grigor » Post

Hi all, thanks again for all the hard work, still enjoying the game a great deal.

A new thing - Running MC2 0.70.0 off Minetest 5.4 I'm suddenly getting this error message in red (but no crash)

ERROR[Main]: register_ore: specified ore type requires valid ‘noise_params’ parameter

Is it just me?

User avatar
Leun
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 05:00
In-game: Leun

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Leun » Post

@Grigor Page one of this thread states that 0.70.0 is for 5.3.0 and that developer versions are not supported..

markr
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 18:29
GitHub: CableGuy67

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by markr » Post

Leun wrote:
Sun Jan 31, 2021 04:07
This is currently going to a 404 error page for me:
https://git.minetest.land/MineClone2Org/MineClone2/

I think it is because it use to say Wuzzy instead of MineClone2Org..
Yes, take out the "Org" part and it will work. They made a couple changes as the org was created.

https://git.minetest.land/MineClone2/MineClone2/

User avatar
Leun
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 05:00
In-game: Leun

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Leun » Post

@markr Thank you :)

User avatar
NO11
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 22:24
GitHub: NO411
In-game: NO11
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by NO11 » Post

daret wrote:
Sat Jan 30, 2021 10:25
NO11 wrote:
Fri Jan 29, 2021 20:17
I have another question: I really enjoy playing Pvp with friends on a local (in 1 network) server, like "MC Manhut". But (I play on a raspi4 ..., the others on Win10) item drop is extremely delayed, chests cannot be opened, I'm killed, he loots my things, but I live on and can place whatever I want indefinitely ... . Everything is really bugged, what could be the reason? Really because of the weak performance of my Raspi? because if I host a local server from the Raspi, everything works perfectly for me. But someone who joins the game can hardly play because everything (including boats) is loading far too slowly.
If someone else is hosting and I join, everything is flawed with me. Anyone have an idea why? Pvp is hardly possible, sorry for being so upset, Mineclone2 is great. Could such things be fixed in 0.72 (performance update)?
You are playing Mineclone on top of Raspberry Pi OS?
I would say RPi is not powerful enough, may be running only server (without GUI) could work, but running server + playing the game on the same device ... I don't know.

Try to check the cpu performance (https://www.geeks3d.com/20191004/gl-z-0 ... -improved/).
But I would say the bottleneck is the sd-card, used for OS and data storage.
https://www.jeffgeerling.com/blog/2019/ ... rison-2019
- may be using some usb3 ssd could help
oh, you won't believe it, but I actually managed to start a local server from the Raspi4 with GUI and to play on it myself. You could join with another computer without any problems. The problem was: the internet ..., sorry. The network cable for the Pi probably no longer works well, at least I only had 24Mb / s ...

User avatar
Grigor
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 05:55

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Grigor » Post

@Leun, Many thanks, should've read the fine print. I'll try inserting some noise parameters in certain places and see if it goes away.

Also, I'm testing a version of the mcl_weather folder that stops it raining / snowing in deserts... not sure if this is a proper issue that needs fixing?

Fateh Aliyev
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 16:24

Re: [Game] MineClone 2 [0.70.0]

by Fateh Aliyev » Post

Just out of curiosity, what is the probability of catching a fish with the fishing rod?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests