Page 2 of 3

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 18:19
by TuxerP
Ok, I will give it a try then. What is an up to date version of minetest? I have 0.4.12+repack-2 on ubuntu 15.10. Is that ok?

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 18:52
by Calinou
TuxerP wrote:Ok, I will give it a try then. What is an up to date version of minetest? I have 0.4.12+repack-2 on ubuntu 15.10. Is that ok?
No, it is too old, you need to build from source. 1-line script for building from source.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 06:03
by TuxerP
Minetest_game runs fine on my mobile devices. I have installed the latest minetest build via the script and placed you're subgame in the folder where the minetest_game and minimal game are. The source build does not provide a systemd startup script or a default minetest.conf.

Game does not load with security on.

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 18:17
by Sane
Hi there,
I've just pulled carbone-ng from github. It seems, that it will not run with security set to on.
Spoiler

Code: Select all

#    Prevent mods from doing insecure things like running shell commands.
secure.enable_security = true
That is due to io.open calls in:
Spoiler

Code: Select all

...
minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
	local filename = minetest.get_modpath("player_textures").."/textures/player_"..player:get_player_name()
	local f = io.open(filename..".png")
	if f then
		f:close()
		default.player_set_textures(player, {"player_"..player:get_player_name()..".png"})
	end
end)
...
Spoiler

Code: Select all

... line 426
minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
... line 515
	if minetest.get_modpath("player_textures") then
		local filename = minetest.get_modpath("player_textures").."/textures/player_"..name
		local f = io.open(filename..".png")
		if f then
			f:close()
			armor.textures[name].skin = "player_"..name..".png"
		end
	end
...
An unclean but simple remedy is simply commenting out the io lines.

Code: Select all

...
--	local f = io.open(filename..".png")
--	if f then
--		f:close()
		...
--	end
But I think the problem lies somewhere else, because 3d_armor with exact the same io lines works just fine in an other subgame.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 05:55
by TuxerP
Hi,

I have also installed carbone-ng from github. It works perfect exept when I play on an mobile phone. The HUD then overlays the buttons from the minetest android client. I have added a screenshot.

Running minetest from github on Debian 8 there is no systemd startup service. I have created on and are planning to integrate lag01's methode to load map and players folders in memory. When the script is done I will post it.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 10:40
by Calinou
TuxerP wrote:I have also installed carbone-ng from github. It works perfect exept when I play on an mobile phone. The HUD then overlays the buttons from the minetest android client. I have added a screenshot.
If you want a small hotbar for use on mobile, remove the large_hotbar mod.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 16:37
by TuxerP
I have adjusted the large_hotbar mod to a size which is fine for my mobile. If I want to add a mod to minetest running the carbone-ng subgame where should I put that mod and how can I enable that one?
Can I place it in the mods folder of you're subgame or should I place it in the mods folder in my .minetest directory?

Maybe a stupid question, but I don't have experience with adding mods to a subgame.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 17:55
by Calinou
TuxerP wrote:I have adjusted the large_hotbar mod to a size which is fine for my mobile. If I want to add a mod to minetest running the carbone-ng subgame where should I put that mod and how can I enable that one?
Can I place it in the mods folder of you're subgame or should I place it in the mods folder in my .minetest directory?

Maybe a stupid question, but I don't have experience with adding mods to a subgame.
You should install mods to your mods directory, not in the subgame. This way, you avoid conflicts with future versions of Carbone NG and you can enable/disable your mod easily in the world configuration menu.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 22:31
by TuxerP
Done that. Thanks for the advise. I don's see not much mobs in the carbone world. Can I increase the number of spawning mobs?

Running carbone-ng for a few weeks, but it looks very cool and all the mods that needed are there. Keep up the good work.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 13:59
by FreeLikeGNU
Calinou wrote:
TuxerP wrote:I have adjusted the large_hotbar mod to a size which is fine for my mobile. If I want to add a mod to minetest running the carbone-ng subgame where should I put that mod and how can I enable that one?
Can I place it in the mods folder of you're subgame or should I place it in the mods folder in my .minetest directory?

Maybe a stupid question, but I don't have experience with adding mods to a subgame.
You should install mods to your mods directory, not in the subgame. This way, you avoid conflicts with future versions of Carbone NG and you can enable/disable your mod easily in the world configuration menu.
It would be nice if one could set mods to use on the command line for a headless server the way we can for games and worlds

$ minetest --game carbone-ng --world myworld --mods modlist.txt

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 18:01
by Inocudom
Calinou, it is essential that you kept Carbone NG up-to-date with minetest-game. That way, you won't have to keep releasing new versions.

Where did all of those wonderful sound effects that the previous version had go? They were very essential to the general ambience.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 00:13
by FreeLikeGNU
Inocudom wrote:Calinou, it is essential that you kept Carbone NG up-to-date with minetest-game. That way, you won't have to keep releasing new versions.

Where did all of those wonderful sound effects that the previous version had go? They were very essential to the general ambience.
Yeah, put down the books and keep modding!!! ;-)

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 21:15
by Smitje
Hi all,

I love Carbone NG so far. Just tried it. But why do I die when I mine mese blocks?

cheers,
Smitje

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 21:31
by IvĂ 
Smitje wrote:Hi all,

I love Carbone NG so far. Just tried it. But why do I die when I mine mese blocks?

cheers,
Smitje
Because they aren't mese :D

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 23:51
by kaadmy
Smitje wrote:Hi all,

I love Carbone NG so far. Just tried it. But why do I die when I mine mese blocks?

cheers,
Smitje
Read the block again, it says...
Image

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 19:25
by Smitje
lol,

you got me! Guess you see what you expect to see.

Thanks

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2015 23:08
by moshiro fumamoto
dont work i most be doing something wrong. am new at this

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 11:33
by HRJ21
Carbone-ng looks beautiful, thank you. The only issue I have with it is that even when I am not in creative mode, I can still craft unlimited amounts of any item I want. How do I turn this off? Thanks!

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 19:40
by kaadmy

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 20:03
by LiberalSlovak
Are you ever going to re add mesecons? I love everything in this game except for the absence of my electronics!

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 09:30
by prof-turbo
LiberalSlovak : I think you should add it by yourself. Mesecons is a mod pretty loud for many computers, so putting it in a popular game would probably annoy some people :)

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 16:48
by GreenXenith
So...is the large_hotbar a mod you made yourself? Because I cant find it anywhere...and I really want it...

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 18:38
by Calinou
GreenDimond wrote:So...is the large_hotbar a mod you made yourself? Because I cant find it anywhere...and I really want it...
Yes, it's a tiny mod that enlarges the hotbar.

If you want it yourself, create a folder called large_hotbar/, create an init.lua file inside and write this:

Code: Select all

-- large_hotbar: Makes the hotbar larger
-- Copyright (c) 2015 Calinou
-- CC0 1.0 Universal

custom_hotbar_size = tonumber(minetest.setting_get("large_hotbar.size"))

minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
  player:hud_set_hotbar_itemcount(custom_hotbar_size or 16)
end)
Then move this folder to your Minetest installation's mods/ folder.

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Sun May 29, 2016 21:20
by lisacvuk
Nice game. Will we see connected drawtype support for the fences anytime soon, though?

Re: [Game] Carbone NG [carbone-ng]

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 03:51
by Klink45
I would like to have the normal inventory back. Which mod(s) change the inventory?