[Game] MiniTest

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

windmere33 wrote:I might be converting Traditional Bueaty soon, you could use that when I convert it.
Id like to have a texture pack with a free license (as in CC BY-SA, CC0 or WTFPL) that looks similiar to the default pack of Minecraft. It should definetly be 16x16.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
windmere33 wrote:I might be converting Traditional Bueaty soon, you could use that when I convert it.
Id like to have a texture pack with a free license (as in CC BY-SA, CC0 or WTFPL) that looks similiar to the default pack of Minecraft. It should definetly be 16x16.
Traditional Beauty is 64*64
Image
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
windmere33 wrote:I might be converting Traditional Bueaty soon, you could use that when I convert it.
Id like to have a texture pack with a free license (as in CC BY-SA, CC0 or WTFPL) that looks similiar to the default pack of Minecraft. It should definetly be 16x16.
Traditional Beauty is 64*64
Image
But it's not CC LICENSED.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
windmere33 wrote:I might be converting Traditional Bueaty soon, you could use that when I convert it.
Id like to have a texture pack with a free license (as in CC BY-SA, CC0 or WTFPL) that looks similiar to the default pack of Minecraft. It should definetly be 16x16.
Why not the almost MC texture pack, I see you used it then reverted your commit?
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Zeg9 wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
windmere33 wrote:I might be converting Traditional Bueaty soon, you could use that when I convert it.
Id like to have a texture pack with a free license (as in CC BY-SA, CC0 or WTFPL) that looks similiar to the default pack of Minecraft. It should definetly be 16x16.
Why not the almost MC texture pack, I see you used it then reverted your commit?
Its rather old and a lot of things (like the new picks) are missing, and Im too lazy to update it.
Maybe someone else can do this?

General notice: I will develop this game further in the next few days and will proabably not post every update here, so check the commit log of github for updates.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Do you still have my copy of MiniTest. I had all the pics and a bunch of other stuff done
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:Do you still have my copy of MiniTest. I had all the pics and a bunch of other stuff done
Yes, but are you sure that your textures are under a free license?

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

I made them myself but they are just like the default minecraft pack.
Edit: I am not sure if making something by hand that is just like something else would make them free but i did make them and they do have messups a couple pixels here and there.
Last edited by jojoa1997 on Thu May 23, 2013 11:13, edited 1 time in total.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

Image
I made that this morning, but it doesn't look as good as I thought...
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:I made them myself but they are just like the default minecraft pack.
Edit: I am not sure if making something by hand that is just like something else would make them free but i did make them and they do have messups a couple pixels here and there.
If it's exactly the same shape (like if you copied using a layer) I guess they aren't free...
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

No i painted it pixel by pixel from pics i saw
Zeg9 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:I made them myself but they are just like the default minecraft pack.
Edit: I am not sure if making something by hand that is just like something else would make them free but i did make them and they do have messups a couple pixels here and there.
If it's exactly the same shape (like if you copied using a layer) I guess they aren't free...
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

I just checked the diamond pick in your minitest (v1.5) is exactly the same as the one from minecraft...
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Zeg9 wrote:Image
I made that this morning, but it doesn't look as good as I thought...
It doesnt look that bad. Maybe a bit more grass at the side?
It would be nice if you could continue this for other nodes too.

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

A few screenshots

Image Image
First one is a bit outdated for sand and sandstone.
Done yet:
- Grass and dirt
- Stone and cobble
- Sand and sandstone
https://github.com/PilzAdam/MiniTest/pull/6
Last edited by Zeg9 on Fri May 24, 2013 11:10, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Zeg9 wrote:

A few screenshots

Image Image
First one is a bit outdated for sand and sandstone.
Done yet:
- Grass and dirt
- Stone and cobble
- Sand and sandstone
https://github.com/PilzAdam/MiniTest/pull/6
Awesome! Added.

User avatar
Pavel_S
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:43

by Pavel_S » Post

I found bag with doublechest.
Image
And fixed it

Code: Select all

local function hacky_swap_node(pos,name,param2)
    local node = minetest.env:get_node(pos)
    local meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    if node.name == name then
        return
    end
    node.name = name
    local meta0 = meta:to_table()
    
    minetest.env:set_node(pos,{name=name,param2=param2})
                                             ^rotate added
    meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    meta:from_table(meta0)
end

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

I got rid of the locked chests for shared chests. You might want to switch all items into a regular chest before I update. 2 weeks left till I can.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Pavel_S wrote:I found bag with doublechest.
Image
And fixed it

Code: Select all

local function hacky_swap_node(pos,name,param2)
    local node = minetest.env:get_node(pos)
    local meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    if node.name == name then
        return
    end
    node.name = name
    local meta0 = meta:to_table()
    
    minetest.env:set_node(pos,{name=name,param2=param2})
                                             ^rotate added
    meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    meta:from_table(meta0)
end
Ehm, I dont know where you got that version of hacky_swap_node(), but the one in MiniTest and minetest_game keep param2: https://github.com/PilzAdam/MiniTest/bl ... s.lua#L595

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:I got rid of the locked chests for shared chests. You might want to switch all items into a regular chest before I update. 2 weeks left till I can.
What are you talking about?

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:I got rid of the locked chests for shared chests. You might want to switch all items into a regular chest before I update. 2 weeks left till I can.
What are you talking about?
I meant on local copy. Also minecraft doesn't have a locked chest. Is there a way I can transfer the meta data of the chest when the alias occurs?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Pavel_S
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:43

by Pavel_S » Post

PilzAdam wrote: Ehm, I dont know where you got that version of hacky_swap_node(), but the one in MiniTest and minetest_game keep param2: https://github.com/PilzAdam/MiniTest/bl ... s.lua#L595
I changed hacky_swap_node().
Becouse of neighbor chest do not rotate.
See in screenshot.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Pavel_S wrote:
PilzAdam wrote: Ehm, I dont know where you got that version of hacky_swap_node(), but the one in MiniTest and minetest_game keep param2: https://github.com/PilzAdam/MiniTest/bl ... s.lua#L595
I changed hacky_swap_node().
Becouse of neighbor chest do not rotate.
See in screenshot.
Ah, now I get it. Pushed a slightly changed fix.

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

A little suggestion, since I saw you didn't want to be able to place nodes above y=256:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer, oldnode, itemstack)
    if pos.y>256 then
        minetest.env:set_node(pos, oldnode)
        return true
    end
end)
Moreover, I made some changes to mesecons so that effector are only updated on serverstep. Would you like to use it for a redstone mod?

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Nore wrote:A little suggestion, since I saw you didn't want to be able to place nodes above y=256:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer, oldnode, itemstack)
    if pos.y>256 then
        minetest.env:set_node(pos, oldnode)
        return true
    end
end)
Moreover, I made some changes to mesecons so that effector are only updated on serverstep. Would you like to use it for a redstone mod?
Nice, added.

Id like to wait a bit with the redstone, its just such a huge thing.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Nore wrote:A little suggestion, since I saw you didn't want to be able to place nodes above y=256:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer, oldnode, itemstack)
    if pos.y>256 then
        minetest.env:set_node(pos, oldnode)
        return true
    end
end)
Moreover, I made some changes to mesecons so that effector are only updated on serverstep. Would you like to use it for a redstone mod?
I would like to see it. Since i already made redstone it would be easier to integrate it in.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest