[Game] Minetest Black

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

[Game] Minetest Black

by jordan4ibanez » Post

.
EDIT by sfan5:
Topic was blanked out
DL Mirror: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/302 ... nknown.zip
Last edited by sfan5 on Thu May 16, 2013 14:29, edited 1 time in total.
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

Interesting, I'll try that this afternoon.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Can you make some screenshots?
Back from the dead!

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

Evergreen wrote:Can you make some screenshots?
wiki
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

People, get the latest, and start a new world, the node gun will be put into your inventory, try it out.
1.) Point it at a node
2.) Right click
3.)...
4.) Right click again for magic
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

:'(

Code: Select all

12:16:04: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: /home/guillaume/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua:
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: ...me/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/domb.lua:369: invalid escape sequence near '"[DOM]DOM_util, use '
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
12:16:04: ERROR[main]:     [C]: in function 'dofile'
12:16:04: ERROR[main]:     ...me/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua:4: in main chunk
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/guillaume/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/guillaume/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua
EDIT: Seems that if you search and replace '\/' by '/' it works.
EDIT2: also replace \[ by [ and \] by ], this is probably due to luajit
EDIT3: Oh that gun thing is great ! Nice job (if you made that ;))
Last edited by Zeg9 on Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:22, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

By the way, you can "kill" the node you are currently holding using the gun, just switch your tool to the sword...
EDIT: while we're talking about that: have you tried attaching the wield node to the player (so its move isn't jittery) ?
Last edited by Zeg9 on Wed Apr 17, 2013 13:14, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

jordan4ibanez wrote:Texture/Code Liscense: (CC BY-ND 3.0)
You cant do that. The mods you copied from the default game are LGPL/CC BY-SA. You cant redistribute it with this license.

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Post

o_O I didn't see the license before downloading, I should read better... Sorry but ND s*cks --'
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

Zeg9 wrote:By the way, you can "kill" the node you are currently holding using the gun, just switch your tool to the sword...
EDIT: while we're talking about that: have you tried attaching the wield node to the player (so its move isn't jittery) ?
That was a test. And no, how would I go about this? It has to attach towards the players direction so it will be jittery anyways.
PilzAdam wrote:
jordan4ibanez wrote:Texture/Code Liscense: (CC BY-ND 3.0)
You cant do that. The mods you copied from the default game are LGPL/CC BY-SA. You cant redistribute it with this license.
Fixed
Zeg9 wrote: EDIT3: Oh that gun thing is great ! Nice job (if you made that ;))
I did make that, and thank you.
Zeg9 wrote:o_O I didn't see the license before downloading, I should read better... Sorry but ND s*cks --'
License mongers?
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

So cool! Spent like 1/2 hour throwing shit around.

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

i'll wait until at least 0.0.5. better 0.1

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

Mito551 wrote:i'll wait until at least 0.0.5. better 0.1
No need to be snobby.
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

I have just made an auto generating spawnpoint with some code from worldedit, could some people please try it? Just create a new world and use a freshly downloaded copy of MB. There is only the issue that it will generate with the terrain, but I will fix that tomorrow.
Here is the commit:
http://goo.gl/cknVz
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Post

jordan4ibanez,

I was not able to get Minetest Black to work for me (I used the download from the first post). I just put the folder in the game directory correct?

Code: Select all

09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb/domb.lua:369: invalid escape sequence near '"[DOM]DOM_util, use '
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     [C]: in function 'dofile'
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:4: in main chunk
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua
It appears to be a problem with the DOM mod, but have not been able to figure it out.

FYI, what is a "auto generating spawnpoint" exactly?
Last edited by Jonathan on Thu Apr 18, 2013 14:18, edited 1 time in total.
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

Jonathan wrote:jordan4ibanez,

I was not able to get Minetest Black to work for me (I used the download from the first post). I just put the folder in the game directory correct?

Code: Select all

09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb/domb.lua:369: invalid escape sequence near '"[DOM]DOM_util, use '
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     [C]: in function 'dofile'
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:4: in main chunk
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua
It appears to be a problem with the DOM mod, but have not been able to figure it out.

FYI, what is a "auto generating spawnpoint" exactly?
Luajit.
&
https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/Minete ... wiki/Spawn
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Post

Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.

The spawn mod looks really neat! It seems with the newer versions of minetest, you can spawn a significant distance away from your original spawn point. It would be nice if the default game would spawn you right around the area you originally spawned or the same spawn point.
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6147
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Traxie21 wrote:So cool! Spent like 1/2 hour throwing shit around.
This includes a shit mod :O

lol :P
Last edited by rubenwardy on Thu Apr 18, 2013 16:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

Jonathan wrote:
Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.
.
No, it's because you have luajit installed.
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

rubenwardy wrote:
Traxie21 wrote:So cool! Spent like 1/2 hour throwing shit around.
This includes a shit mod :O

lol :P
MAYBE ONE DAY!
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Post

Jonathan wrote:
Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.

The spawn mod looks really neat! It seems with the newer versions of minetest, you can spawn a significant distance away from your original spawn point. It would be nice if the default game would spawn you right around the area you originally spawned or the same spawn point.
Is there a version of Minetest that already has LuaJIT incorperated? I have not been having an easy time trying to implement it.
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4517
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Jonathan: Any current "nightly" or personal build such as mine or Pilzadam's should have LuaJIT support.

Pilzadam's (Windows 32bit): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4547
Mine (Linux AMD64): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=82602
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

It is automatically used when compiling if you have LuaJIT installed. On Windows, the default binary doesn't use LuaJIT.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

Calinou wrote:It is automatically used when compiling if you have LuaJIT installed. On Windows, the default binary doesn't use LuaJIT.
VanessaE wrote:Jonathan: Any current "nightly" or personal build such as mine or Pilzadam's should have LuaJIT support.

Pilzadam's (Windows 32bit): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4547
Mine (Linux AMD64): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=82602
Jonathan wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.

The spawn mod looks really neat! It seems with the newer versions of minetest, you can spawn a significant distance away from your original spawn point. It would be nice if the default game would spawn you right around the area you originally spawned or the same spawn point.
Is there a version of Minetest that already has LuaJIT incorperated? I have not been having an easy time trying to implement it.
No I said luajit was the problem, but I fixed the issues.
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Fri Apr 19, 2013 04:45, edited 1 time in total.
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Post

Thank you all for your help.
jordan4ibanez wrote:No I said luajit was the problem, but I fixed the issues.
That's great! :)
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest