[Game] Minetest Black

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

[Game] Minetest Black

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Apr 16, 2013 04:29

Last edited by sfan5 on Thu May 16, 2013 14:29, edited 1 time in total.
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Tue Apr 16, 2013 05:36

Interesting, I'll try that this afternoon.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Tue Apr 16, 2013 21:09

Can you make some screenshots?
Back from the dead!
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Apr 16, 2013 22:23

Evergreen wrote:Can you make some screenshots?

wiki
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Wed Apr 17, 2013 05:20

People, get the latest, and start a new world, the node gun will be put into your inventory, try it out.
1.) Point it at a node
2.) Right click
3.)...
4.) Right click again for magic
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:18

:'(
Code: Select all
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: /home/guillaume/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua:
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: ...me/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/domb.lua:369: invalid escape sequence near '"[DOM]DOM_util, use '
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
12:16:04: ERROR[main]:     [C]: in function 'dofile'
12:16:04: ERROR[main]:     ...me/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua:4: in main chunk
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/guillaume/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua
12:16:04: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/guillaume/.minetest/games/Minetest-Black/mods/DOM/domb/init.lua

EDIT: Seems that if you search and replace '\/' by '/' it works.
EDIT2: also replace \[ by [ and \] by ], this is probably due to luajit
EDIT3: Oh that gun thing is great ! Nice job (if you made that ;))
Last edited by Zeg9 on Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:22, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 13:10

By the way, you can "kill" the node you are currently holding using the gun, just switch your tool to the sword...
EDIT: while we're talking about that: have you tried attaching the wield node to the player (so its move isn't jittery) ?
Last edited by Zeg9 on Wed Apr 17, 2013 13:14, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Wed Apr 17, 2013 14:10

jordan4ibanez wrote:Texture/Code Liscense: (CC BY-ND 3.0)

You cant do that. The mods you copied from the default game are LGPL/CC BY-SA. You cant redistribute it with this license.
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 14:28

o_O I didn't see the license before downloading, I should read better... Sorry but ND s*cks --'
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Wed Apr 17, 2013 16:01

Zeg9 wrote:By the way, you can "kill" the node you are currently holding using the gun, just switch your tool to the sword...
EDIT: while we're talking about that: have you tried attaching the wield node to the player (so its move isn't jittery) ?

That was a test. And no, how would I go about this? It has to attach towards the players direction so it will be jittery anyways.

PilzAdam wrote:
jordan4ibanez wrote:Texture/Code Liscense: (CC BY-ND 3.0)

You cant do that. The mods you copied from the default game are LGPL/CC BY-SA. You cant redistribute it with this license.

Fixed

Zeg9 wrote:EDIT3: Oh that gun thing is great ! Nice job (if you made that ;))

I did make that, and thank you.

Zeg9 wrote:o_O I didn't see the license before downloading, I should read better... Sorry but ND s*cks --'

License mongers?
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.

by Traxie21 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 16:39

So cool! Spent like 1/2 hour throwing shit around.
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 18:05

i'll wait until at least 0.0.5. better 0.1
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Wed Apr 17, 2013 21:39

Mito551 wrote:i'll wait until at least 0.0.5. better 0.1

No need to be snobby.
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Thu Apr 18, 2013 02:14

I have just made an auto generating spawnpoint with some code from worldedit, could some people please try it? Just create a new world and use a freshly downloaded copy of MB. There is only the issue that it will generate with the terrain, but I will fix that tomorrow.
Here is the commit:
http://goo.gl/cknVz
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Thu Apr 18, 2013 14:17

jordan4ibanez,

I was not able to get Minetest Black to work for me (I used the download from the first post). I just put the folder in the game directory correct?

Code: Select all
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb/domb.lua:369: invalid escape sequence near '"[DOM]DOM_util, use '
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     [C]: in function 'dofile'
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:4: in main chunk
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua


It appears to be a problem with the DOM mod, but have not been able to figure it out.

FYI, what is a "auto generating spawnpoint" exactly?
Last edited by Jonathan on Thu Apr 18, 2013 14:18, edited 1 time in total.
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Thu Apr 18, 2013 15:29

Jonathan wrote:jordan4ibanez,

I was not able to get Minetest Black to work for me (I used the download from the first post). I just put the folder in the game directory correct?

Code: Select all
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb/domb.lua:369: invalid escape sequence near '"[DOM]DOM_util, use '
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     [C]: in function 'dofile'
09:48:34: ERROR[main]:     ...in\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua:4: in main chunk
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua
09:48:34: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\jmorgan\Downloads\minetest\minetest-0.4.6-1f42479-bugfixes-win32\bin\..\games\Minetest-Black-master\mods\DOM\domb\init.lua


It appears to be a problem with the DOM mod, but have not been able to figure it out.

FYI, what is a "auto generating spawnpoint" exactly?

Luajit.
&
https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/Minetest-Black/wiki/Spawn
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Thu Apr 18, 2013 16:05



Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.

The spawn mod looks really neat! It seems with the newer versions of minetest, you can spawn a significant distance away from your original spawn point. It would be nice if the default game would spawn you right around the area you originally spawned or the same spawn point.
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5500
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

by rubenwardy » Thu Apr 18, 2013 16:31

Traxie21 wrote:So cool! Spent like 1/2 hour throwing shit around.


This includes a shit mod :O

lol :P
Last edited by rubenwardy on Thu Apr 18, 2013 16:32, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Thu Apr 18, 2013 19:29

Jonathan wrote:


Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.
.

No, it's because you have luajit installed.
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Thu Apr 18, 2013 19:30

rubenwardy wrote:
Traxie21 wrote:So cool! Spent like 1/2 hour throwing shit around.


This includes a shit mod :O

lol :P

MAYBE ONE DAY!
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Thu Apr 18, 2013 20:42

Jonathan wrote:


Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.

The spawn mod looks really neat! It seems with the newer versions of minetest, you can spawn a significant distance away from your original spawn point. It would be nice if the default game would spawn you right around the area you originally spawned or the same spawn point.


Is there a version of Minetest that already has LuaJIT incorperated? I have not been having an easy time trying to implement it.
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4310
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Thu Apr 18, 2013 20:52

Jonathan: Any current "nightly" or personal build such as mine or Pilzadam's should have LuaJIT support.

Pilzadam's (Windows 32bit): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4547
Mine (Linux AMD64): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=82602
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Thu Apr 18, 2013 21:07

It is automatically used when compiling if you have LuaJIT installed. On Windows, the default binary doesn't use LuaJIT.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Thu Apr 18, 2013 21:55

Calinou wrote:It is automatically used when compiling if you have LuaJIT installed. On Windows, the default binary doesn't use LuaJIT.
VanessaE wrote:Jonathan: Any current "nightly" or personal build such as mine or Pilzadam's should have LuaJIT support.

Pilzadam's (Windows 32bit): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4547
Mine (Linux AMD64): http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=82602
Jonathan wrote:
Jonathan wrote:


Thanks

I guess I will have to sit down sometime and figure out how to install Luajit. It does not look the easiest.

The spawn mod looks really neat! It seems with the newer versions of minetest, you can spawn a significant distance away from your original spawn point. It would be nice if the default game would spawn you right around the area you originally spawned or the same spawn point.


Is there a version of Minetest that already has LuaJIT incorperated? I have not been having an easy time trying to implement it.

No I said luajit was the problem, but I fixed the issues.
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Fri Apr 19, 2013 04:45, edited 1 time in total.
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Jonathan
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 14:07
Location: USA

by Jonathan » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:33

Thank you all for your help.

jordan4ibanez wrote:No I said luajit was the problem, but I fixed the issues.


That's great! :)
By perseverance the snail reached the ark.
- Charles Spurgeon
 

Next

Return to Old Games



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest