[Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Thu Sep 18, 2014 16:45

Linuxdirk wrote:It’s actually pretty great to have Carbone. It feels very balanced and complex. Is there a list of features added by all the mods or do we need to check the features and crafting recipes for each mod individually?


The first post has a changes and included mods list, that's all. Some mods are also posted individually in the Mod Releases forum.
 

MaxPower
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:25

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by MaxPower » Fri Sep 26, 2014 14:12

Thx Calinou for this game.

- Is there a way to disable Nyan Cats? I don't see the point of them, and find them a bit ugly.
- I like the achievement system, but I do not like the popup message where I have to escape it. Is it because off the use of formspec? Couldit not be implemented using the HUD API instead?
- Also for some reason it is not very lively, lots of rats, few sheep and only one monster (tree), Is it supposed to be like that?

/Edit:

Answering my own question, formspect usage for achievement can be disable in awards/config.txt.
Code: Select all
Use_Formspec = false


I still thing that using the HUD would have been better
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Fri Sep 26, 2014 17:50

MaxPower wrote:Thx Calinou for this game.

- Is there a way to disable Nyan Cats? I don't see the point of them, and find them a bit ugly.
- I like the achievement system, but I do not like the popup message where I have to escape it. Is it because off the use of formspec? Couldit not be implemented using the HUD API instead?
- Also for some reason it is not very lively, lots of rats, few sheep and only one monster (tree), Is it supposed to be like that?

/Edit:

Answering my own question, formspect usage for achievement can be disable in awards/config.txt.
Code: Select all
Use_Formspec = false


I still thing that using the HUD would have been better


You can disable Nyan Cats by editing mods/default/mapgen.lua, line 792, comment the line by writing -- (two dashes) at the beginning of it. Nyan Cats will still exist in already generated areas, but won't generate in new areas anymore.

I have removed the Awards mod entirely, as it's outdated and I don't find it useful. People can install it as a mod anyway.
 

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Casimir » Fri Sep 26, 2014 18:05

Linuxdirk (who is also in this forum) didn't posted it, but I think you would like to see that your game is being used and promoted on youtube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pX8nuSty7Y
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:22

Wow, my first mention and link without me initiating it …

But I wouldn’t say it’s actual promoting … It’s more like just me trying to create Let’s Play videos :D
 

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by JPRuehmann » Wed Oct 01, 2014 21:52

Hello

How can I alter the Crosshair?
I´d like to use that of better hud and / or firearms, shooter or my own as well.
until now I only get the red circle from carbone none of the others are working.
thanks,
JPR
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
Location: On earth
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
 

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by JPRuehmann » Thu Oct 02, 2014 13:13

Hello
I dont want to change anything in the Game because of updates.
I have to redo the changes then and this could be a hassle if there are more than only this one change.
But thanks,
JPR
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Thu Oct 02, 2014 19:14

I just tested this and it worked for me on Windows XP.

Create a crosshair.png file and place it in your minetest\textures\base\pack folder. Put it there and it will become the default cross hair in the game. If you use a texture pack or play a game or mod that modifies the crosshair then you will get their crosshair instead of your own.

EDIT: Since you are playing carbone likely, changing the texture in the minetest\games\carbone\mods\default\textures folder will be what you want to replace.

EDIT #2: If you want, you could create your own texture pack that only has the crosshair.png file and set it as your default texture pack and it should override any mods/game modes that might have the crosshair. It should just use whatever textures that are already specified by whatever mods/game modes that you are using uses.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Wed Oct 08, 2014 23:17

Just a quick question … I stumbled upon this guy lately and tried to kill him with an iron sword. I repeadetly hit him but nothing happened (no obvious indicators for damage on the mob and no usage bar on the sword).

How to kill it?
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Thu Oct 09, 2014 03:43

I think the pickaxe works best damage wise on the rock monster. It could be totally wrong but it seems like it does to me. There is no health bars yet, to find out monster hp press F5 on your keyboard and any creatures you are looking at will have a little message to the left with their hp and other info. Hope that helps.
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
Location: On earth
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Minetestforfun » Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:23

@LionsDen
Indeed, and i add : if the monster has a lot of armor and your tool is too low/weak, you will not be able to inflict for damages to the monster... (or inflict 1damage point, but if it has 50hp...)
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Dragonop » Sat Oct 11, 2014 08:06

@JPRuehmann:
Check out Kaeza's Misc Stuff modpack, one of them places a crosshair, you can edit that one to make it be like you want.
 

User avatar
MinecraftBoy3
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 08:57
In-game: Oliver_MV

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by MinecraftBoy3 » Sun Oct 26, 2014 14:21

hi all
if you guyzz know how to i set some spawn point
plzz help me i dont know how to put it on
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Tue Oct 28, 2014 03:24

I really like Carbone and running a headless server of your subgame is a joy! It hardly taxes my CPU during play and is nearly non existant when idle. I also like the achievment messages and coins but would like a way to use them. I noticed your idea:

Calinou wrote:Coins have no purpose currently. It's unknown if they'll have any use some day, due to balance issues, but maybe each kind of coin will allow you to buy upgrades (something like copper = jump, silver = speed, gold = gravity).


This seems like a fun way to use coins. They are piling up fast!

I'd like to add some more creatures to my Carbone server but found that Animals Modpack 2.4 (and the requisite Advanced Spawning 0.0.10) grind the server to 100%. Is there a mod you can recommend to add more creatures to Carbone and keep the server from grinding?

I run a headless server, I have not found a way to load mods unless they are put in the .mintestest/games/carbone/mods/ folder.
Is that the right place to put them or should I put mods in .minetest/mods/ ? How do I activate them on a headless server?.

What other mods play well with Carbone?

Do players have to have Carbone and (mods that I add) installed to join my server?

many thanks!

FreeLikeGNU
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Tue Oct 28, 2014 19:15

Simply smelting coins to ore seems a bit sad as the coins are given as an achievement and ore can be obtained in greater quantities simply from mining. I can also get a coin each time I use TNT but I'm not sure if that is intentional though.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Tue Oct 28, 2014 19:34

FreeLikeGNU wrote:Simply smelting coins to ore seems a bit sad as the coins are given as an achievement and ore can be obtained in greater quantities simply from mining.

Since there is no other use for coins right now smelting them into ingots seems okay for me (I just have too many of them *g*).
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Tue Oct 28, 2014 22:10

FreeLikeGNU wrote:I'd like to add some more creatures to my Carbone server but found that Animals Modpack 2.4 (and the requisite Advanced Spawning 0.0.10) grind the server to 100%. Is there a mod you can recommend to add more creatures to Carbone and keep the server from grinding?


Some mob mods are quite heavy, especially when you run several mob mods at once…

FreeLikeGNU wrote:I run a headless server, I have not found a way to load mods unless they are put in the .mintestest/games/carbone/mods/ folder.
Is that the right place to put them or should I put mods in .minetest/mods/ ? How do I activate them on a headless server?.


Add this to the world's world.mt file (replace modname with the mod name):

Code: Select all
load_mod_modname = true


FreeLikeGNU wrote:What other mods play well with Carbone?


Most mods that:
  • aren't already in Carbone,
  • don't do the same thing that's already done in Carbone (eg. mobs).

FreeLikeGNU wrote:Do players have to have Carbone and (mods that I add) installed to join my server?


No, media is downloaded on join and all code is run-server side. You can speed it up, if you have good bandwidth, by setting up a remote_media server (a Web server).
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3060
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Inocudom » Tue Oct 28, 2014 22:18

It appears that mods that use the minetest_game's doors mod as a dependency might not work with the doors mod in Carbone. Esteban's mod4 mod is an example of such.
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

User avatar
Esteban
Member
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
Location: Somewhere in the Caribbean...
GitHub: Esteban-
IRC: Esteban
In-game: Esteban

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Esteban » Wed Oct 29, 2014 00:41

Inocudom wrote:It appears that mods that use the minetest_game's doors mod as a dependency might not work with the doors mod in Carbone. Esteban's mod4 mod is an example of such.


Is more an issue of the mod itself. This happens to mods that have not been updated to the latest version of doors. The issue relies on that registering doors was like this before 4.9:
Code: Select all
doors:register_door

But it later was changed to
Code: Select all
doors.register_door

The mod is wrong, not the game.
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Wed Oct 29, 2014 02:15

Linuxdirk wrote:
FreeLikeGNU wrote:Simply smelting coins to ore seems a bit sad as the coins are given as an achievement and ore can be obtained in greater quantities simply from mining.

Since there is no other use for coins right now smelting them into ingots seems okay for me (I just have too many of them *g*).

I was too harsh. I think its cool that you are working on improving Minetest, I did not mean to disparage your efforts. That said I'm going to give your mods a try. I especially like where you are heading with making coal from things like trees!

many thanks!
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Wed Oct 29, 2014 02:24

Calinou wrote:
FreeLikeGNU wrote:Do players have to have Carbone and (mods that I add) installed to join my server?


No, media is downloaded on join and all code is run-server side. You can speed it up, if you have good bandwidth, by setting up a remote_media server (a Web server).


Thanks for all the good information! I'll check out the remote media server technique as well.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Games



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests