[Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
Post Reply
User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:It’s actually pretty great to have Carbone. It feels very balanced and complex. Is there a list of features added by all the mods or do we need to check the features and crafting recipes for each mod individually?
The first post has a changes and included mods list, that's all. Some mods are also posted individually in the Mod Releases forum.

MaxPower
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:25

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by MaxPower » Post

Thx Calinou for this game.

- Is there a way to disable Nyan Cats? I don't see the point of them, and find them a bit ugly.
- I like the achievement system, but I do not like the popup message where I have to escape it. Is it because off the use of formspec? Couldit not be implemented using the HUD API instead?
- Also for some reason it is not very lively, lots of rats, few sheep and only one monster (tree), Is it supposed to be like that?

/Edit:

Answering my own question, formspect usage for achievement can be disable in awards/config.txt.

Code: Select all

Use_Formspec = false
I still thing that using the HUD would have been better

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Post

MaxPower wrote:Thx Calinou for this game.

- Is there a way to disable Nyan Cats? I don't see the point of them, and find them a bit ugly.
- I like the achievement system, but I do not like the popup message where I have to escape it. Is it because off the use of formspec? Couldit not be implemented using the HUD API instead?
- Also for some reason it is not very lively, lots of rats, few sheep and only one monster (tree), Is it supposed to be like that?

/Edit:

Answering my own question, formspect usage for achievement can be disable in awards/config.txt.

Code: Select all

Use_Formspec = false
I still thing that using the HUD would have been better
You can disable Nyan Cats by editing mods/default/mapgen.lua, line 792, comment the line by writing -- (two dashes) at the beginning of it. Nyan Cats will still exist in already generated areas, but won't generate in new areas anymore.

I have removed the Awards mod entirely, as it's outdated and I don't find it useful. People can install it as a mod anyway.

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1174
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Casimir » Post

Linuxdirk (who is also in this forum) didn't posted it, but I think you would like to see that your game is being used and promoted on youtube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pX8nuSty7Y

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Post

Wow, my first mention and link without me initiating it …

But I wouldn’t say it’s actual promoting … It’s more like just me trying to create Let’s Play videos :D

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by JPRuehmann » Post

Hello

How can I alter the Crosshair?
I´d like to use that of better hud and / or firearms, shooter or my own as well.
until now I only get the red circle from carbone none of the others are working.
thanks,
JPR

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Minetestforfun » Post

I think, you can change the crosshair.png in the -/games/xxx/texture/

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by JPRuehmann » Post

Hello
I dont want to change anything in the Game because of updates.
I have to redo the changes then and this could be a hassle if there are more than only this one change.
But thanks,
JPR

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Post

I just tested this and it worked for me on Windows XP.

Create a crosshair.png file and place it in your minetest\textures\base\pack folder. Put it there and it will become the default cross hair in the game. If you use a texture pack or play a game or mod that modifies the crosshair then you will get their crosshair instead of your own.

EDIT: Since you are playing carbone likely, changing the texture in the minetest\games\carbone\mods\default\textures folder will be what you want to replace.

EDIT #2: If you want, you could create your own texture pack that only has the crosshair.png file and set it as your default texture pack and it should override any mods/game modes that might have the crosshair. It should just use whatever textures that are already specified by whatever mods/game modes that you are using uses.

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Post

Just a quick question … I stumbled upon this guy lately and tried to kill him with an iron sword. I repeadetly hit him but nothing happened (no obvious indicators for damage on the mob and no usage bar on the sword).

How to kill it?

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Post

I think the pickaxe works best damage wise on the rock monster. It could be totally wrong but it seems like it does to me. There is no health bars yet, to find out monster hp press F5 on your keyboard and any creatures you are looking at will have a little message to the left with their hp and other info. Hope that helps.

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Minetestforfun » Post

@LionsDen
Indeed, and i add : if the monster has a lot of armor and your tool is too low/weak, you will not be able to inflict for damages to the monster... (or inflict 1damage point, but if it has 50hp...)

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Post

I just went to that cave but the mob is gone :(

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Dragonop » Post

@JPRuehmann:
Check out Kaeza's Misc Stuff modpack, one of them places a crosshair, you can edit that one to make it be like you want.

User avatar
MinecraftBoy3
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 08:57
In-game: Oliver_MV

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by MinecraftBoy3 » Post

hi all
if you guyzz know how to i set some spawn point
plzz help me i dont know how to put it on

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Post

Just a quick update: The pickaxe works on the mobs with the red eyes and the other mobs that shoot something :)

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Post

I really like Carbone and running a headless server of your subgame is a joy! It hardly taxes my CPU during play and is nearly non existant when idle. I also like the achievment messages and coins but would like a way to use them. I noticed your idea:
Calinou wrote: Coins have no purpose currently. It's unknown if they'll have any use some day, due to balance issues, but maybe each kind of coin will allow you to buy upgrades (something like copper = jump, silver = speed, gold = gravity).
This seems like a fun way to use coins. They are piling up fast!

I'd like to add some more creatures to my Carbone server but found that Animals Modpack 2.4 (and the requisite Advanced Spawning 0.0.10) grind the server to 100%. Is there a mod you can recommend to add more creatures to Carbone and keep the server from grinding?

I run a headless server, I have not found a way to load mods unless they are put in the .mintestest/games/carbone/mods/ folder.
Is that the right place to put them or should I put mods in .minetest/mods/ ? How do I activate them on a headless server?.

What other mods play well with Carbone?

Do players have to have Carbone and (mods that I add) installed to join my server?

many thanks!

FreeLikeGNU

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Post

FreeLikeGNU wrote:This seems like a fun way to use coins. They are piling up fast!
Here’s another quick’n’dirty idea :)

https://github.com/dsohler/minetest-xte ... ter/xcoins

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Post

Simply smelting coins to ore seems a bit sad as the coins are given as an achievement and ore can be obtained in greater quantities simply from mining. I can also get a coin each time I use TNT but I'm not sure if that is intentional though.

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Linuxdirk » Post

FreeLikeGNU wrote:Simply smelting coins to ore seems a bit sad as the coins are given as an achievement and ore can be obtained in greater quantities simply from mining.
Since there is no other use for coins right now smelting them into ingots seems okay for me (I just have too many of them *g*).

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Post

FreeLikeGNU wrote:I'd like to add some more creatures to my Carbone server but found that Animals Modpack 2.4 (and the requisite Advanced Spawning 0.0.10) grind the server to 100%. Is there a mod you can recommend to add more creatures to Carbone and keep the server from grinding?
Some mob mods are quite heavy, especially when you run several mob mods at once…
FreeLikeGNU wrote:I run a headless server, I have not found a way to load mods unless they are put in the .mintestest/games/carbone/mods/ folder.
Is that the right place to put them or should I put mods in .minetest/mods/ ? How do I activate them on a headless server?.
Add this to the world's world.mt file (replace modname with the mod name):

Code: Select all

load_mod_modname = true
FreeLikeGNU wrote:What other mods play well with Carbone?
Most mods that:
  • aren't already in Carbone,
  • don't do the same thing that's already done in Carbone (eg. mobs).
FreeLikeGNU wrote:Do players have to have Carbone and (mods that I add) installed to join my server?
No, media is downloaded on join and all code is run-server side. You can speed it up, if you have good bandwidth, by setting up a remote_media server (a Web server).

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Inocudom » Post

It appears that mods that use the minetest_game's doors mod as a dependency might not work with the doors mod in Carbone. Esteban's mod4 mod is an example of such.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
GitHub: Esteban-
IRC: Esteban
In-game: Esteban
Location: Somewhere in the Caribbean...

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Esteban » Post

Inocudom wrote:It appears that mods that use the minetest_game's doors mod as a dependency might not work with the doors mod in Carbone. Esteban's mod4 mod is an example of such.
Is more an issue of the mod itself. This happens to mods that have not been updated to the latest version of doors. The issue relies on that registering doors was like this before 4.9:

Code: Select all

doors:register_door
But it later was changed to

Code: Select all

doors.register_door
The mod is wrong, not the game.

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:
FreeLikeGNU wrote:Simply smelting coins to ore seems a bit sad as the coins are given as an achievement and ore can be obtained in greater quantities simply from mining.
Since there is no other use for coins right now smelting them into ingots seems okay for me (I just have too many of them *g*).
I was too harsh. I think its cool that you are working on improving Minetest, I did not mean to disparage your efforts. That said I'm going to give your mods a try. I especially like where you are heading with making coal from things like trees!

many thanks!

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by FreeLikeGNU » Post

Calinou wrote:
FreeLikeGNU wrote:Do players have to have Carbone and (mods that I add) installed to join my server?
No, media is downloaded on join and all code is run-server side. You can speed it up, if you have good bandwidth, by setting up a remote_media server (a Web server).
Thanks for all the good information! I'll check out the remote media server technique as well.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest