[Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
hammergil
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 22:39

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by hammergil » Tue Feb 17, 2015 14:09

Thanks for the quick reply Wuzzy! I am no longer confused and appreciate the help.
 

deaf_fish
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 00:02
GitHub: hansonry
IRC: hansonry
In-game: hansonry

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by deaf_fish » Thu Feb 19, 2015 18:53

Just found this. This is pretty nice, hats off to the devs!

Couple of things though. Mobs are kicking my butt even though I have an iron sword and armor. I'm afraid to explore caves because of this. I put the armor in the left slots. Is this correct? Also, rats, rats everywhere.

Thanks!
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Fri Feb 20, 2015 17:38

deaf_fish wrote:Just found this. This is pretty nice, hats off to the devs!

Couple of things though. Mobs are kicking my butt even though I have an iron sword and armor. I'm afraid to explore caves because of this. I put the armor in the left slots. Is this correct? Also, rats, rats everywhere.

Thanks!


Mobs were recently nerfed. If you don't want monsters at all, add spawn_hostile_mobs = false to your minetest.conf.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by stu » Sat Feb 21, 2015 20:20

@Calinou, you might want to update your fork of 3d_armor, especially the player model which has now been greatly improved and exported in the much more compact .b3d format by ExeterDad.

See the recent commit history for more details.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3014
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Inocudom » Sun Feb 22, 2015 02:08

You should also update your itemframes mod:
https://github.com/Zeg9/minetest-itemframes/commits/master
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Sun Feb 22, 2015 09:17

stu wrote:@Calinou, you might want to update your fork of 3d_armor, especially the player model which has now been greatly improved and exported in the much more compact .b3d format by ExeterDad.

See the recent commit history for more details.


Done. I've also submitted a pull request that optimizes all textures.
 

nackstein
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:00

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by nackstein » Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:01

nice subgame.
I'm playing a little with it and found some warnings on the command line.
I'm using minetest 0.4.12 compiled from source on Arch Linux 64bit.

Here the log when I run carbone on a newly created world with no added mods:
Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.1
Irrlicht log: Linux 3.14.33-1-lts #1 SMP Fri Feb 13 17:02:25 CET 2015 x86_64
Irrlicht log: Using renderer: OpenGL 3.0
Irrlicht log: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Bay Trail : Intel Open Source Technology Center
Irrlicht log: OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
Irrlicht log: GLSL version: 1.3
11:32:30: ACTION[main]:
11:32:30: ACTION[main]:
11:32:30: ACTION[main]: Creative mode is disabled.
11:32:30: ACTION[main]: Damage is enabled.
11:32:30: ACTION[main]: PvP is enabled.
11:32:30: ACTION[main]:
11:32:30: ACTION[main]:
11:32:30: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "worldedit" accessed at ...s/carbone/mods/worldedit/worldedit_infinity/init.lua:1
11:32:31: ACTION[main]:         .__               __                   __   
11:32:31: ACTION[main]:   _____ |__| ____   _____/  |_  ____   _______/  |_
11:32:31: ACTION[main]:  /     \|  |/    \_/ __ \   __\/ __ \ /  ___/\   __\
11:32:31: ACTION[main]: |  Y Y  \  |   |  \  ___/|  | \  ___/ \___ \  |  | 
11:32:31: ACTION[main]: |__|_|  /__|___|  /\___  >__|  \___  >____  > |__| 
11:32:31: ACTION[main]:       \/        \/     \/          \/     \/       
11:32:31: ACTION[main]: World at [/home/vortex/minetest-master/bin/../worlds/c12]
11:32:31: ACTION[main]: Server for gameid="carbone" listening on 0.0.0.0:62531.
11:32:31: ACTION[ServerThread]: There are 2592 registered nodes, items and tools.
11:32:34: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer joined for the first time, giving them initial stuff.
11:32:34: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game.
11:32:34: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer joins game. List of players: singleplayer
11:32:34: WARNING: Assignment to undeclared global "hp" inside a function at ...est-master/bin/../games/carbone/mods/gauges/init.lua:22.
11:32:34: WARNING: Assignment to undeclared global "breath" inside a function at ...est-master/bin/../games/carbone/mods/gauges/init.lua:23.
Irrlicht log: Could not open file of texture: 3d_armor_boots_diamond.png
Irrlicht log: Could not open file of texture: 3d_armor_boots_diamond.png
11:32:34: ACTION[ServerThread]: Spawned a dirt monster at (65,-7,12).
11:32:38: ACTION[ServerThread]: Spawned a trooper at (58,-6,7).
Irrlicht log: Could not open file of texture: character.png
^C11:32:41: INFO: sigint_handler(): Ctrl-C pressed, shutting down.


suggested remedy:

for theses 2 warning:
Code: Select all
11:32:34: WARNING: Assignment to undeclared global "hp" inside a function at ...est-master/bin/../games/carbone/mods/gauges/init.lua:22.
11:32:34: WARNING: Assignment to undeclared global "breath" inside a function at ...est-master/bin/../games/carbone/mods/gauges/init.lua:23.

just make variables hp and breath local

for these 2 warnings:
Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Could not open file of texture: 3d_armor_boots_diamond.png
Irrlicht log: Could not open file of texture: 3d_armor_boots_diamond.png

the problem is that the file games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/models/3d_armor_character.blend
contain a reference to a local file 3d_armor_boots_diamond.png (found this with strace)

look at that output:
Code: Select all
$ strings games/carbone/mods/3d_armor/models/3d_armor_character.blend|grep png
character.png
3d_armor_boots_diamond.png
character.png

I never used blender so I'm not sure if there is a rationale behind that but maybe you can make it point
to the right folder so the warning disappear. just for testing I tried copying 3d_armor_boots_diamond.png
in the running folder and the warning go away.

for that warning:
Code: Select all
11:32:30: WARNING: Undeclared global variable "worldedit" accessed at ...s/carbone/mods/worldedit/worldedit_infinity/init.lua:1

I'm not sure if it's possible to declare it local or not (it's in the main body of the module...)
the check seems implemented here ./builtin/common/strict.lua

I will investigate into this just to learn something :)

Last but not least, I tried to couple carbone with skylands mod it seems that the default module of carbone
is missing pinetree, is this a choice or the default module is not up-to-date with the one in minetest game?

thank you in advance if you want to have a look at those silly question :P

edit:
I found how this warning can be solved. see official lua doc here:
http://www.lua.org/pil/14.2.html

you should use rawget in worldedit:
an example:
Code: Select all
#!/usr/bin/lua

if rawget(_G, 'var123') == nil then
   -- `var123' is undeclared
   var123 = {}
else
   print("already declared")
end

var123[1] = "123"

print("check " .. var123[1])


here you can find my patch for worldedit:
Code: Select all
--- games/carbone/mods/worldedit/worldedit_infinity/init.lua.orig   2015-03-02 15:01:19.460201538 +0100
+++ games/carbone/mods/worldedit/worldedit_infinity/init.lua   2015-03-02 15:10:11.830207528 +0100
@@ -1,4 +1,6 @@
-worldedit = worldedit or {}
+if rawget(_G, 'worldedit') == nil then
+   worldedit = {}
+end
 local minetest = minetest --local copy of global
 
 local get_pointed = function(pos, nearest, distance)


nack
Last edited by nackstein on Mon Mar 02, 2015 14:11, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by ExeterDad » Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:55

It must be using a older 3d_armor. In the last two versions of 3d_armor I personally stripped all references to all images out of the blend file.

Edit: But don't worry about the missing textures warnings. Images are fed to the model via lua. If the image that the model (in blender) was built with isn't found by the engine, it complains.

Also the global messages are not normally a big deal. It just means that the coding style has gotten more strict and that the mod developers need to update their code and declare things local. If not, it's considered global and lua is now complaining.
 

nackstein
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:00

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by nackstein » Mon Mar 02, 2015 14:41

ExeterDad wrote:It must be using a older 3d_armor. In the last two versions of 3d_armor I personally stripped all references to all images out of the blend file.

Edit: But don't worry about the missing textures warnings. Images are fed to the model via lua. If the image that the model (in blender) was built with isn't found by the engine, it complains.

Also the global messages are not normally a big deal. It just means that the coding style has gotten more strict and that the mod developers need to update their code and declare things local. If not, it's considered global and lua is now complaining.


I'm sure those warning are not a big deal, it's just that I like clean and polished logs ;)
after all I'm more interested in knowing why pinetrees are missing so I can play with skylands :)
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by ExeterDad » Mon Mar 02, 2015 15:47

I hear ya about the cleanliness :) I just wanted you to know that it will likely not affect gameplay. He's got a bunch of things to keep up with in this game, I'm sure he appreciates the heads up and will have it all resolved soon.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by ExeterDad » Mon Mar 02, 2015 23:55

I normally don't start Minetest from the consol, but did today and noticed the 3d_armor_boots_diamond.png message. I'm baffled on how it happened. Somehow I missed a reference to the image in the blend file that I exported to b3d in the 3d
_armor mod. I'll fix it asap and send a pull request to the 3d_armor repo.
Sorry about that :)
 

fhatking
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 13:35
GitHub: fhatking
In-game: fhatking

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by fhatking » Tue May 05, 2015 12:34

i downloaded this mode but it showed error and told to check in debug.txt for more details and when i checked it ,it said"18:08:51: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua:
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: cannot open E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua: No such file or directory
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua"
plz help in this error.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Tue May 05, 2015 13:52

fhatking wrote:i downloaded this mode but it showed error and told to check in debug.txt for more details and when i checked it ,it said"18:08:51: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua:
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: cannot open E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua: No such file or directory
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua
18:08:52: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run E:\minetest\bin\..\mods\carbone\init.lua"
plz help in this error.


You need to extract Carbone into the games folder, not the mods folder.
 

tux_peng
Member
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 18:21
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by FreeLikeGNU » Sun Jul 12, 2015 04:01

I love Carbone as MT game of choice, however, I cannot seem to damage mobs (even sheep). I'm runnning minetest v0.412 headless linux server and linux client. If I remove the game/carbone/mods/mobs folder and replace it with a clone of TenPlus1's Mobs Redo repo ( https://github.com/tenplus1/mobs ), the mobs get hurt as expected when attacked. Please advise!
EDIT:
I should mention that this is a build from the ppa: https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ntu/stable

When I build my own from latest git source as of latest commit c3dead719a @kilbith kilbith authored 8 days ago the Carbone mobs seem to take damage normally...
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Wuzzy » Fri Jul 17, 2015 15:19

Noooo, why is this no longer maintained? I don't want to be forced to use the bleeding-edge version of Minetest with all its bugs. :-(
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

by Calinou » Fri Jul 17, 2015 15:59

Wuzzy wrote:Noooo, why is this no longer maintained? I don't want to be forced to use the bleeding-edge version of Minetest with all its bugs. :-(


This is based on a 0.4.9 minetest_game, back when minetest_next did not even exist.

Once 0.4.13 is released, you will be able to play Carbone NG with the stable version.
 

Previous

Return to Old Games



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest