[Game] Carbone [carbone] – minetest_game, improved

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Thu Jul 03, 2014 19:20

Wuzzy wrote:
/say: broadcasts a message anonymously. [ban]

Why the ban privilege? This does not make sense to me.

Edit: Oh, and dye_purple.png is missing.


The ban privilege is generally given to server moderators.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Wuzzy » Fri Jul 04, 2014 01:22

But doesn’t “ban” mean, well, banning people? Why throw two completely different things (banning people and posting global anonymous messages) into the same bucket?

PS: Question: Do the coins have any purpose?
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Fri Jul 04, 2014 09:39

Wuzzy wrote:But doesn’t “ban” mean, well, banning people? Why throw two completely different things (banning people and posting global anonymous messages) into the same bucket?

PS: Question: Do the coins have any purpose?


I may add another privilege just for “say”, but then I'll end up with dozens of privileges laying around, flooding the screen for people who have all privileges and typing /privs.

Coins have no purpose currently. It's unknown if they'll have any use some day, due to balance issues, but maybe each kind of coin will allow you to buy upgrades (something like copper = jump, silver = speed, gold = gravity).
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Fri Jul 04, 2014 18:11

I can't make bronze ingots anymore. I don't know if this was a planned change or if something got accidentally deleted. I have made a bronze sword and pickaxe in the past and went to make a new pickaxe when my old one ran out but couldn't.

EDIT: Of course, I post about this issue and then go to the repository and see that it has been changed on July 4th, today. Oh well, thanks. :)
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Fri Jul 04, 2014 18:23

LionsDen wrote:I can't make bronze ingots anymore. I don't know if this was a planned change or if something got accidentally deleted. I have made a bronze sword and pickaxe in the past and went to make a new pickaxe when my old one ran out but couldn't.

EDIT: Of course, I post about this issue and then go to the repository and see that it has been changed on July 4th, today. Oh well, thanks. :)


I highlighted on the first post you should use copper and tin, not copper and iron. Finally a recipe that makes sense. ;)
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Sat Jul 05, 2014 03:29

Yeah, I must have found a few tin when I made them before but I don't have any now and haven't found any more tin yet.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Sat Jul 05, 2014 08:49

LionsDen wrote:Yeah, I must have found a few tin when I made them before but I don't have any now and haven't found any more tin yet.


Tin looks like silver, but is darker and slightly blue-green. The colour is close to stone's, it's not easy to see, except if you use a different texture pack than the default.

It can be found at any height but is rarer than iron. It can't be found in desert stone, unlike coal and copper.
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Sat Jul 05, 2014 18:25

I am using a texture pack and it does support the more_ores mod. If the tin you are using comes from that it is nearly white against the stone texture and is easily seen. Just haven't found any more so far.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3060
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Inocudom » Sat Jul 05, 2014 19:11

The textures for the frames of glass and obsidian glass aren't showing up.
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Sun Jul 06, 2014 09:28

LionsDen wrote:I am using a texture pack and it does support the more_ores mod. If the tin you are using comes from that it is nearly white against the stone texture and is easily seen. Just haven't found any more so far.


More Ores isn't supposed to be used at the same time as Carbone, if you really want it, disable tin and silver generation in the mod. Else, you have duplicate tin and silver.

Inocudom wrote:The textures for the frames of glass and obsidian glass aren't showing up.


Be sure to use a recent build of Minetest (dated after 2014-06-29). If you're using Carbone Textures, update it, it has been updated on 2014-07-05 in order to work with the new glass.

It should look like that.

However, if you're playing on a server which uses a game other than Carbone and with Carbone Textures, glass will have no frame. I'm not sure if I should change this, I think frame-less glass is nice too.
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Sun Jul 06, 2014 18:05

Calinou wrote:
LionsDen wrote:I am using a texture pack and it does support the more_ores mod. If the tin you are using comes from that it is nearly white against the stone texture and is easily seen. Just haven't found any more so far.


More Ores isn't supposed to be used at the same time as Carbone, if you really want it, disable tin and silver generation in the mod. Else, you have duplicate tin and silver.


I'm not using the More Ores mod, I just meant that if the texture is named the same as it is in the More Ores mod then I will see them. I have looked and you named them default_mineral_{ore name}.png so I copied the More Ores textures in the texture pack I am using and renamed the copies as default so I should now be able to see them. :) The texture pack I am using is 256x256 so the little 16x16 textures placed on the stone texture would be nearly invisible. I did go in and test it and I am now finding tin and silver. lol
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Sun Jul 06, 2014 21:34

I just found out that the dry shrubs don't burn as fuel. I went into the crafting.lua under default and added the following lines to the end giving it the same burn time as the default:grass_1. You might want to modify it for the regular download if you did indeed want to use dry shrubs as fuel.

Code: Select all
minetest.register_craft({
   type = "fuel", recipe = "default:dry_shrub", burntime = 3,
})
 

getsmp
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 02:54
Location: Moscow
GitHub: getsmp

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by getsmp » Tue Jul 08, 2014 02:58

What about adding a search field? Yes, it's Minecraft-like, but clicking hundreds of arrows when searching for items is not a good idea. Oh, and it should support UTF-8 characters. Thank you in advance.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:40

getsmp wrote:What about adding a search field? Yes, it's Minecraft-like, but clicking hundreds of arrows when searching for items is not a good idea. Oh, and it should support UTF-8 characters. Thank you in advance.


I don't feel like installing a custom inventory mod (too complex) and I can't code such a thing, so no.

The creative inventory pages are larger already and the page changing is seamless, which means you can go from the last page to the first page with just one button click.
 

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Thu Jul 10, 2014 07:48

JPRuehmann wrote:Hello
Unified-Inventory has a search field. https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3933
have Fun,
JPR


Yes, but it breaks inventory looks and is rather heavy (lots of code I don't need).
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Thu Jul 10, 2014 17:55

Crafting guide has a search field but it doesn't seem to work right. Plus when an item has group as part of it's recipe it shows an unknown block.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Wuzzy » Mon Jul 14, 2014 00:14

The nyan cat rainbow looks wrong in Carbone.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4589&p=148388#p142241
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4589&p=148388#p148371

Edit: It is not possible to get the “Castorama” award, despite placing 100s of iron checkers.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Mon Jul 14, 2014 09:37

Balance changes:
  • 1 wooden plank is now crafted into 9 sticks, 9 sticks can be crafted into 1 wooden planks. Sticks stack up to 1000.
  • Mese is now faster than diamond, but doesn't last very long.
  • Diamond is now slower.
  • Nyan tools are slightly less durable.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3060
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Inocudom » Tue Jul 15, 2014 16:51

Gitorious went down again, again, again...
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Calinou » Tue Jul 15, 2014 17:03

Inocudom wrote:Gitorious went down again, again, again...


Download link for latest version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/823 ... arbone.zip

2014-07-15: Gitorious seems to be up now.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3060
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Inocudom » Fri Jul 18, 2014 16:18

Carbone and the etherial mod don't get along too well:
Image
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

eth0
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 15:41

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by eth0 » Sat Jul 19, 2014 15:43

May be a dumb question but how do I install it? If I unzip ir in the mods folder ~/.minetest it keeps saying there is no init.lua.

thanks in advance.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by Evergreen » Sat Jul 19, 2014 16:50

eth0 wrote:May be a dumb question but how do I install it? If I unzip ir in the mods folder ~/.minetest it keeps saying there is no init.lua.

thanks in advance.

It goes in the games folder, not the mods folder. If the games folder doesn't exits, create it in ~/.minetest/games
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2578
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Game] Carbone [carbone] – an improvement to minetest_ga

by TenPlus1 » Sun Jul 20, 2014 14:13

The soccer mod is pretty good although having sheep and things spawn on the grass while playing so I've added some fake grass to the soccer mod on my side, here's the code:

Code: Select all
-- Astroturf (Fake Grass)
minetest.register_node('soccer:astroturf', {
   description = "Astroturf (Fake Grass)",
   tiles = {"default_grass.png"},
   inventory_image = minetest.inventorycube("default_grass.png"),
   sunlight_propagates = false,
   paramtype = 'light',
   groups = { snappy = 3 },
   sounds = default.node_sound_leaves_defaults(),
})

minetest.register_craft({
   output = "soccer:astroturf 2",
   recipe = {
      { "wool:dark_green", "wool:green", "" },
      { "wool:green", "wool:dark_green", "" },
   },
})
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Games



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest