[Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_game)

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Would it be possible to add different mgflags to the New World form so you can tick/untick jungles, caves, flat, nolight etc. within the actual game itself... ?
That would probably be a core engine change, not a modding side change
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

by TenPlus1 » Post

hoodedice wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:Would it be possible to add different mgflags to the New World form so you can tick/untick jungles, caves, flat, nolight etc. within the actual game itself... ?
That would probably be a core engine change, not a modding side change
Shame, I was looking through the minetest files and noticed quite a few .lua files for the game front-end itself... *hopeful*

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

paramat wrote:I seem to remember BlockMen is the only other modder other than me to do this.
Havent you seen screenshots of Nodetopia yet? viewtopic.php?pid=124740#p124740
Last edited by PilzAdam on Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:55, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
paramat wrote:I seem to remember BlockMen is the only other modder other than me to do this.
Havent you seen screenshots of Nodetopia yet? viewtopic.php?pid=124740#p124740
I still wonder why you keep that game so "underground". Release it formally, have a party, man! I'd played it and I've liked it.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

by paramat » Post

Ahh cool ... =) i had forgotten that screenshot, the grassy sides are one reason it looks so good.
I rely on donations for basic income. PayPal viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14935 Patreon https://www.patreon.com/paramat

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

paramat wrote:This is a good opportunity to change the mapgen v6 parameters, are you already working on this? i'm thinking of playing with these myself to improve and show the potential of MGV6. Remember MGV7 is about to be radically rewritten so don't depend on that.
Thanks for adding my wieldhand :)
No, currently not. But suggest tweaked values if you want (or make a pull request) ;)
paramat wrote:A radical suggestion ... change the grass side texture to be completely grass, this was the first change i ever made to Minetest, lines of dirt along the sides of every grassy hill look so bad to me =/ I seem to remember BlockMen is the only other modder other than me to do this.
Hmm...i will talk with sfan5 and nore about this but personally i wouldnt want it make with a texture (if changing at all).

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

Re:

by Jordach » Post

BlockMen wrote:
paramat wrote:This is a good opportunity to change the mapgen v6 parameters, are you already working on this? i'm thinking of playing with these myself to improve and show the potential of MGV6. Remember MGV7 is about to be radically rewritten so don't depend on that.
Thanks for adding my wieldhand :)
No, currently not. But suggest tweaked values if you want (or make a pull request) ;)
paramat wrote:A radical suggestion ... change the grass side texture to be completely grass, this was the first change i ever made to Minetest, lines of dirt along the sides of every grassy hill look so bad to me =/ I seem to remember BlockMen is the only other modder other than me to do this.
Hmm...i will talk with sfan5 and nore about this but personally i wouldnt want it make with a texture (if changing at all).
A hybrid form of Better grass would be a better idea...

User avatar
Casimir
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Casimir » Post

Something like this?
Image

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Jordach wrote:A hybrid form of Better grass would be a better idea...
Casimir wrote:Something like this?
-img-
Personally i would prefer something like this: viewtopic.php?id=5190
, but it needs a lot improvement before it could be included (if somehting like that gets added at all)

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4503
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Krock » Post

/me would prefer Casimir's grass, because dirt is still visible. Grass does not grow very well on vertical sides.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2747
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

I just put this maybe not fully fitting link here.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest_game/pull/181

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
Linxx
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 00:37

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Linxx » Post

what are the main goals for this game? aside from taking the original minetest_game place.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Calinou » Post

Linxx wrote:what are the main goals for this game? aside from taking the original minetest_game place.
I presume it's mostly only filling the gap and improving the game without really changing its goal.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2747
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

I think it does more than improving the default game, it also changes most of the default textures. I don't think everyone like these changes.
https://github.com/BlockMen/minetest_ne ... bec67d1ddc

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote: I think it does more than improving the default game, it also changes most of the default textures. I don't think everyone like these changes.
Ups. That's a serious problem. That means that existing servers can't just switch over to minetest_next - the appearance of buildings would be changed. Of course players do sometimes use texture packs - but that's their choice then. They can't complain if a building doesn't look well with other textures than those installed by default on the server.

Some of the new functions are very nice: /sethome is very important (even for singleplayer - I don't want to know how many starter houses have been lost due to players not finding back there after death!). Protected furnaces are also very good. Also jungle enabled by default.

But the textures are a problem. Please find a way to make minetest_next usable on existing servers. The imrpovements are worth it. Changing the textures on existing worlds is an absolute no-go. An option to choose which textures to use might do. Perhaps a small shell script that copies the old textures back - plus an extra mod, i.e. default2, that adds blocks with the new textures to the game. That would be the choice I'd love to see implemented.

The xpanes are also an improvement compared to the xpanes mod on Redcrabs server - those always had the problem of connecting glass panes to nodeboxes, like i.e. chairs, and that didn't look well. Unfortionately, the xpanes are not the solution I need for my buildings. Just place one of the nice new glass doors (not as nice as the homedecor ones but definitely a start) next to a wall consisting of the new glasspanes. See the problem? That's where I need glass panes. And also in buildings where the walls are made of half-wide blocks. Moving the glass pane to the border of the block is only half the solution.

The dark background when accessing a formspec is strange. Does it symbolize locked objects? If so, perhaps a lock or key symbol might help.

And please don't get me wrong on the textures. I like most of the new ones far more than the old ones. Some may be a huge improvement for cheap buildings out of cobble/stonebrick/wood. And the sandstonebrick texture is also very nice. The clay one less so. The wood texture is a definite improvement. Perhaps making it end at the block boundary would look even better. New worlds will look better with the new textures.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3892
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by sfan5 » Post

Code: Select all

mkdir pack/oldtextures
echo "Old minetest_game textures" > pack/oldtextures/description.txt
find games/minetest_game/ -name "*.png" -exec cp {} pack/oldtextures/ \;
done
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Post

sfan5 wrote:

Code: Select all

    mkdir pack/oldtextures
    echo "Old minetest_game textures" > pack/oldtextures/description.txt
    find games/minetest_game/ -name "*.png" -exec cp {} pack/oldtextures/ \;
done
And how may a server use such a texture pack?

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2747
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

̣
Last edited by Hybrid Dog on Mon May 26, 2014 17:37, edited 1 time in total.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by paramat » Post

Blockmen, having completely grassy sides to grass nodes is probably unpopular with most players, and can be done easily with a texture change, so i really don't expect this to happen ;) In fact i would rather it was done simply with a texture instead of your complex (and impressive) abm method.

Concerning mapgen, hmmmm has developed some new parameters for MGV6 which apparently are a big improvement and he would like to see those used somewhere, i'll try to find those for you.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Post

Hello!

My son is playing Minetest NeXt on a windows machine. He tried farming, and planted about 7 wheat seeds and waited for them to grow. He harvested when he thought they were done (they had turned yellow) but he only harvested 2 wheat and no new seeds.

I've never done any farming, but this doesn't sound like the expected rate of return. What is he doing wrong?

Thanks!

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck
Location: error 404 - location not found
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by rubberduck » Post

the wheat seed has 8 different sizes when growing.
you have to wait for the last "status" of the plant

here you can read more about the wheat, size and drop-probabilities

http://wiki.minetest.net/Wheat_%28plant%29
if the plant is fully grown up, you should get at least one seed and one wheat(item) per plant

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Post

That was it. He mistook the "almost grown" for the "fully grown" image. He is now harvesting with very nice returns.

Thank you!

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Post

Kilarin wrote: That was it. He mistook the "almost grown" for the "fully grown" image. He is now harvesting with very nice returns.
He's not the first one to encounter that problem. It annoyed me a lot with the strawberries from farming_plus. Thus, I changed the image to the almost-grown one from red strawberries to more white/pinkish berries. This makes distinguishing them a lot easier.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Post

Sokomine wrote:He's not the first one to encounter that problem.
His final method of determining when the wheat was ripe: one looked for one pixle on the bottom row. If it was missing, the wheat was in stage 7, if it was there, the wheat was in stage 8 and ripe.

I think you've got an excellent point that making the final stage of a harvest crop more easily distinguishable might be a good change to make.

User avatar
Mikerhinos
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 08:17

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Mikerhinos » Post

Sparklings when ready to harvest would be pretty cool too.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest