[Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_game)

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
rubberduck
Member
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck
Location: error 404 - location not found
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by rubberduck » Post

i really like this game.

i have some ideas what you can add too.

1. i don't know, if it is possible to disable the "prevent node inside player" feature.
i like the idea to make it possible to disable this feature, because this feature slows down making "towers" to get on high places

2. the ore-textures could be improved.
some time ago i made these textures here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8677
the default textures look very similar in some cases, that was one reason i made new ones.

3. i don't like these 2d torches
the 3d torches (viewtopic.php?f=11&t=6099)
could (if you want) replace the old ones.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Calinou » Post

rubberduck wrote: 1. i don't know, if it is possible to disable the "prevent node inside player" feature.
It's done in C++ and has no minetest.conf setting to be disabled.

You can modify your client, but that may be seen as cheating.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Post

My son is having a lot of fun with minetest_next. But, being my boy, he's had to start messing with it already. :)
He figured out where the plant textures were and modified them so it was easier to tell when crops were ripe. And he hunted down the sign recipe and changed it to generate 6 signs instead of 1. He thought it was unreasonable that it took 6 3'x3' boards to make one small sign. :)

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Post

Kilarin wrote: He thought it was unreasonable that it took 6 3'x3' boards to make one small sign. :)
Very reasonable change :-) On most servers, you do get 4 signs for the receipe.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Post

Another question about Minetest_next. On my mintest_game server I'm finding lava lakes quite frequently underground. But in my son's minetest_next game he's been mining a log, has exceeded a depth of over -700, and still hasn't hit a single lava lake.

Did you change the frequency of lava in mintest_next, or is this just random difference in two maps?

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Post

Kilarin wrote: has exceeded a depth of over -700, and still hasn't hit a single lava lake.
I don't know if minetest_next changes anything there, but it might as well be just bad luck. A way to quickly check for any sourrounding lava lakes is to grant yourshelf the noclip priv and then fly into the stone. Lava lakes and caves will become visible. It's convenient but may be considered cheating.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4504
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Krock » Post

Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Post

Sokomine wrote:A way to quickly check for any sourrounding lava lakes is to grant yourshelf the noclip priv and then fly into the stone.
Thank you for the suggestion. He did that, and found a lot of lava lakes. Apparently he had just managed to dig that far and not hit any yet. I dug an elevator shaft straight down in my world and hit about 5 lava lakes before I got to -1000. Random means RANDOM. :)

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Post

Kilarin wrote: Random means RANDOM. :)
He's not the first to stumble upon that :-) Happens to us all sooner or later. Random is sometimes strange :-)

User avatar
srifqi
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi
Location: Indonesia

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by srifqi » Post

Sorry, but i have an error here:

Code: Select all

11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: D:\Program Files\minetest-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua:
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ...-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming/nodes.lua:1: attempt to call field 'override_item' (a nil value)
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: 	...-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming/nodes.lua:1: in main chunk
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: 	[C]: in function 'dofile'
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: 	...t-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua:7: in main chunk
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run D:\Program Files\minetest-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run D:\Program Files\minetest-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua
Saya dari Indonesia! · Terjemahkan Minetest! · my mods · My nickname in IPA: /es.rif.qi/

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Nore » Post

You need to use a more recent minetest version (minetest.override_item was added after 0.4.9)

lotek
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 20:21
GitHub: LotekHeavy
IRC: lotek
In-game: lotek
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by lotek » Post

Can't plant wheat seed on soil

I have "wheat seed", have "created" with a hoe "wet soil" and would like to plant it. But always it shows up for a few seconds and then it vanishes. I use this game (next) and also farming plus and food mode. But I see also no error log, not on server side or client side. If I play singleplayer with default game, I can plant/place the seed.

Any Idea what I can do? Could it be a bug in minetest_next?

Update: Other seeds with "farming plus" works. I use latest version from github & minetest client with daily builds (https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ily-builds).

Screenshot how it looks for a few miliseconds :-(
Image

Message form the client:

Code: Select all

20:51:20: INFO[main]: Ground right-clicked
20:51:20: VERBOSE[main]: Node placement prediction for farming:seed_wheat is farming:seed_wheat
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Client::addNode() took 2ms
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Pointing at [node under=-54,4,-69 above=-54,5,-69]
----
Mine Heavy
http://mine.heavy.ch

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by webdesigner97 » Post

lotek wrote:Can't plant wheat seed on soil

I have "wheat seed", have "created" with a hoe "wet soil" and would like to plant it. But always it shows up for a few seconds and then it vanishes. I use this game (next) and also farming plus and food mode. But I see also no error log, not on server side or client side. If I play singleplayer with default game, I can plant/place the seed.

Any Idea what I can do? Could it be a bug in minetest_next?

Update: Other seeds with "farming plus" works. I use latest version from github & minetest client with daily builds (https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ily-builds).

Screenshot how it looks for a few miliseconds :-(
Image

Message form the client:

Code: Select all

20:51:20: INFO[main]: Ground right-clicked
20:51:20: VERBOSE[main]: Node placement prediction for farming:seed_wheat is farming:seed_wheat
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Client::addNode() took 2ms
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Pointing at [node under=-54,4,-69 above=-54,5,-69]
I'll try to reproduce that. If I experience the same, then it's my fault ^^

Edit: I tried planting wheat seeds on soil (wet/dry), and couldn't reproduce this. Maybe minetest_next (or better said: its farming mod), is incompatoble with farming_plus?

lotek
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 20:21
GitHub: LotekHeavy
IRC: lotek
In-game: lotek
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by lotek » Post

OK i retestet this on a singleplayer local game. if running minetest next game together with the farming plus mod, it's not possible to plant / seed wheat. If running the farming plus mod with default game everything is working.

does anybody have an clue how to fix this? (I will also create a link from farming plus mod to here).
----
Mine Heavy
http://mine.heavy.ch

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by BlockMen » Post

lotek wrote:OK i retestet this on a singleplayer local game. if running minetest next game together with the farming plus mod, it's not possible to plant / seed wheat. If running the farming plus mod with default game everything is working.

does anybody have an clue how to fix this? (I will also create a link from farming plus mod to here).

Its easy fixable in farming_plus. The bug appears because farming_plus calls farming:place_seed() which causes trouble with the new API of farming in NeXt. If his mod would use farming.place_seed() it works fine. Ask PilzAdam to fix it ;)

User avatar
Achilles
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
In-game: Achilles
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Post

Amazing updates :) Congrats to all the contributors...

TNT is a bit of a nuisance tho...

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Calinou » Post

Achilles wrote:Amazing updates :) Congrats to all the contributors...

TNT is a bit of a nuisance tho...
Properly tweaked, it isn't. The biggest problem currently is that it doesn't obey protection.

There are much better and quicker ways for griefers to grief, they don't need TNT for that. It's a cliché to say TNT is only for griefers.

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Post

If I remember correctly, Achilles or possibly someone else said that their kids found the tnt and now their map looks like swiss cheese. :) I like tnt but prefer using my own personal version which doesn't destroy some of the blocks, as in some blocks are destroyed but don't drop in the original tnt.

User avatar
Achilles
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
In-game: Achilles
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Post

Calinou wrote:
Achilles wrote:Amazing updates :) Congrats to all the contributors...

TNT is a bit of a nuisance tho...
Properly tweaked, it isn't. The biggest problem currently is that it doesn't obey protection.

There are much better and quicker ways for griefers to grief, they don't need TNT for that. It's a cliché to say TNT is only for griefers.
I know, hopefully it will be fixed soon. Also maybe they will have an option so that fire is not produced when a TNT block goes off.

User avatar
Achilles
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
In-game: Achilles
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Post

LionsDen wrote:If I remember correctly, Achilles or possibly someone else said that their kids found the tnt and now their map looks like swiss cheese. :) I like tnt but prefer using my own personal version which doesn't destroy some of the blocks, as in some blocks are destroyed but don't drop in the original tnt.
Lol, I dont think that was me :D

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Post

Achilles wrote:
LionsDen wrote:If I remember correctly, Achilles or possibly someone else said that their kids found the tnt and now their map looks like swiss cheese. :) I like tnt but prefer using my own personal version which doesn't destroy some of the blocks, as in some blocks are destroyed but don't drop in the original tnt.
Lol, I dont think that was me :D
Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by ExeterDad » Post

LionsDen wrote:Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.
Yeah... I posted the comment about TNT making our pretty map into Swiss Cheese. Didn't know TNT was in there when I upgraded the server. The kids found it had a blast (pun intended).

The resulting forest fires took care of everything else. Not a huge deal, in the end it's all just pixels and noise right? :)

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

I agree that tnt should be disabled by default as well, especially since it causes conflicts with tnt mods like bettertnt. When my friend updated his server to Mintest 0.4.10, all the sudden bettertnt stopped working entirely, just turning into lit, invincible blocks...

Just a slight suggestion. :)
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
Achilles
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
In-game: Achilles
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Post

ExeterDad wrote:
LionsDen wrote:Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.
Yeah... I posted the comment about TNT making our pretty map into Swiss Cheese. Didn't know TNT was in there when I upgraded the server. The kids found it had a blast (pun intended).

The resulting forest fires took care of everything else. Not a huge deal, in the end it's all just pixels and noise right? :)
Nice way of looking at things XD

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Inocudom » Post

Achilles wrote:
ExeterDad wrote:
LionsDen wrote:Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.
Yeah... I posted the comment about TNT making our pretty map into Swiss Cheese. Didn't know TNT was in there when I upgraded the server. The kids found it had a blast (pun intended).

The resulting forest fires took care of everything else. Not a huge deal, in the end it's all just pixels and noise right? :)
Nice way of looking at things XD
Same thing could be said about our reality, if you really think about it. In the ultimate sense, it is very true for our real world too. It shares many similarities to a computer program.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest