[Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_game)

Games that have been abandoned and no longer work properly with the latest version of Minetest.
User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: https://github.com/minetest/forum.minetest.net_template1
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by rubberduck » Wed May 28, 2014 07:04

i really like this game.

i have some ideas what you can add too.

1. i don't know, if it is possible to disable the "prevent node inside player" feature.
i like the idea to make it possible to disable this feature, because this feature slows down making "towers" to get on high places

2. the ore-textures could be improved.
some time ago i made these textures here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8677
the default textures look very similar in some cases, that was one reason i made new ones.

3. i don't like these 2d torches
the 3d torches (viewtopic.php?f=11&t=6099)
could (if you want) replace the old ones.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Calinou » Wed May 28, 2014 18:34

rubberduck wrote:1. i don't know, if it is possible to disable the "prevent node inside player" feature.


It's done in C++ and has no minetest.conf setting to be disabled.

You can modify your client, but that may be seen as cheating.
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Wed May 28, 2014 21:40

My son is having a lot of fun with minetest_next. But, being my boy, he's had to start messing with it already. :)
He figured out where the plant textures were and modified them so it was easier to tell when crops were ripe. And he hunted down the sign recipe and changed it to generate 6 signs instead of 1. He thought it was unreasonable that it took 6 3'x3' boards to make one small sign. :)
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Wed May 28, 2014 22:15

Kilarin wrote:He thought it was unreasonable that it took 6 3'x3' boards to make one small sign. :)

Very reasonable change :-) On most servers, you do get 4 signs for the receipe.
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:43

Another question about Minetest_next. On my mintest_game server I'm finding lava lakes quite frequently underground. But in my son's minetest_next game he's been mining a log, has exceeded a depth of over -700, and still hasn't hit a single lava lake.

Did you change the frequency of lava in mintest_next, or is this just random difference in two maps?
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:55

Kilarin wrote:has exceeded a depth of over -700, and still hasn't hit a single lava lake.

I don't know if minetest_next changes anything there, but it might as well be just bad luck. A way to quickly check for any sourrounding lava lakes is to grant yourshelf the noclip priv and then fly into the stone. Lava lakes and caves will become visible. It's convenient but may be considered cheating.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4151
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Kilarin » Mon Jun 09, 2014 16:34

Sokomine wrote:A way to quickly check for any sourrounding lava lakes is to grant yourshelf the noclip priv and then fly into the stone.

Thank you for the suggestion. He did that, and found a lot of lava lakes. Apparently he had just managed to dig that far and not hit any yet. I dug an elevator shaft straight down in my world and hit about 5 lava lakes before I got to -1000. Random means RANDOM. :)
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Sokomine » Mon Jun 09, 2014 17:05

Kilarin wrote:Random means RANDOM. :)

He's not the first to stumble upon that :-) Happens to us all sooner or later. Random is sometimes strange :-)
 

User avatar
srifqi
Member
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
Location: Indonesia
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by srifqi » Mon Jun 30, 2014 04:49

Sorry, but i have an error here:
Code: Select all
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: D:\Program Files\minetest-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua:
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ...-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming/nodes.lua:1: attempt to call field 'override_item' (a nil value)
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
11:49:25: ERROR[main]:    ...-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming/nodes.lua:1: in main chunk
11:49:25: ERROR[main]:    [C]: in function 'dofile'
11:49:25: ERROR[main]:    ...t-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua:7: in main chunk
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run D:\Program Files\minetest-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua
11:49:25: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run D:\Program Files\minetest-0.4.9\bin\..\games\minetest_next\mods\farming\init.lua
I'm from Indonesia! Saya dari Indonesia!
Terjemahkan Minetest!
Mods by me. Modifikasi oleh saya.

Pronounce my nick as in: es-rifqi (IPA: /es rifˈki/)
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by Nore » Mon Jun 30, 2014 08:38

You need to use a more recent minetest version (minetest.override_item was added after 0.4.9)
 

lotek
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 20:21
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: LotekHeavy
IRC: lotek
In-game: lotek

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by lotek » Fri Jul 04, 2014 18:43

Can't plant wheat seed on soil

I have "wheat seed", have "created" with a hoe "wet soil" and would like to plant it. But always it shows up for a few seconds and then it vanishes. I use this game (next) and also farming plus and food mode. But I see also no error log, not on server side or client side. If I play singleplayer with default game, I can plant/place the seed.

Any Idea what I can do? Could it be a bug in minetest_next?

Update: Other seeds with "farming plus" works. I use latest version from github & minetest client with daily builds (https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ily-builds).

Screenshot how it looks for a few miliseconds :-(
Image

Message form the client:
Code: Select all
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Ground right-clicked
20:51:20: VERBOSE[main]: Node placement prediction for farming:seed_wheat is farming:seed_wheat
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Client::addNode() took 2ms
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Pointing at [node under=-54,4,-69 above=-54,5,-69]
----
Mine Heavy
http://mine.heavy.ch
 

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
Location: Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by webdesigner97 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 20:01

lotek wrote:Can't plant wheat seed on soil

I have "wheat seed", have "created" with a hoe "wet soil" and would like to plant it. But always it shows up for a few seconds and then it vanishes. I use this game (next) and also farming plus and food mode. But I see also no error log, not on server side or client side. If I play singleplayer with default game, I can plant/place the seed.

Any Idea what I can do? Could it be a bug in minetest_next?

Update: Other seeds with "farming plus" works. I use latest version from github & minetest client with daily builds (https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ily-builds).

Screenshot how it looks for a few miliseconds :-(
Image

Message form the client:
Code: Select all
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Ground right-clicked
20:51:20: VERBOSE[main]: Node placement prediction for farming:seed_wheat is farming:seed_wheat
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Client::addNode() took 2ms
20:51:20: INFO[main]: Pointing at [node under=-54,4,-69 above=-54,5,-69]

I'll try to reproduce that. If I experience the same, then it's my fault ^^

Edit: I tried planting wheat seeds on soil (wet/dry), and couldn't reproduce this. Maybe minetest_next (or better said: its farming mod), is incompatoble with farming_plus?
 

lotek
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 20:21
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: LotekHeavy
IRC: lotek
In-game: lotek

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by lotek » Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:32

OK i retestet this on a singleplayer local game. if running minetest next game together with the farming plus mod, it's not possible to plant / seed wheat. If running the farming plus mod with default game everything is working.

does anybody have an clue how to fix this? (I will also create a link from farming plus mod to here).
----
Mine Heavy
http://mine.heavy.ch
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt [minetest_next]

by BlockMen » Sat Jul 05, 2014 19:46

lotek wrote:OK i retestet this on a singleplayer local game. if running minetest next game together with the farming plus mod, it's not possible to plant / seed wheat. If running the farming plus mod with default game everything is working.

does anybody have an clue how to fix this? (I will also create a link from farming plus mod to here).


Its easy fixable in farming_plus. The bug appears because farming_plus calls farming:place_seed() which causes trouble with the new API of farming in NeXt. If his mod would use farming.place_seed() it works fine. Ask PilzAdam to fix it ;)
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Wed Jul 09, 2014 23:05

Amazing updates :) Congrats to all the contributors...

TNT is a bit of a nuisance tho...
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Calinou » Thu Jul 10, 2014 07:52

Achilles wrote:Amazing updates :) Congrats to all the contributors...

TNT is a bit of a nuisance tho...


Properly tweaked, it isn't. The biggest problem currently is that it doesn't obey protection.

There are much better and quicker ways for griefers to grief, they don't need TNT for that. It's a cliché to say TNT is only for griefers.
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Thu Jul 10, 2014 17:53

If I remember correctly, Achilles or possibly someone else said that their kids found the tnt and now their map looks like swiss cheese. :) I like tnt but prefer using my own personal version which doesn't destroy some of the blocks, as in some blocks are destroyed but don't drop in the original tnt.
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Thu Jul 10, 2014 22:34

Calinou wrote:
Achilles wrote:Amazing updates :) Congrats to all the contributors...

TNT is a bit of a nuisance tho...


Properly tweaked, it isn't. The biggest problem currently is that it doesn't obey protection.

There are much better and quicker ways for griefers to grief, they don't need TNT for that. It's a cliché to say TNT is only for griefers.


I know, hopefully it will be fixed soon. Also maybe they will have an option so that fire is not produced when a TNT block goes off.
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Thu Jul 10, 2014 22:35

LionsDen wrote:If I remember correctly, Achilles or possibly someone else said that their kids found the tnt and now their map looks like swiss cheese. :) I like tnt but prefer using my own personal version which doesn't destroy some of the blocks, as in some blocks are destroyed but don't drop in the original tnt.


Lol, I dont think that was me :D
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by LionsDen » Fri Jul 11, 2014 03:59

Achilles wrote:
LionsDen wrote:If I remember correctly, Achilles or possibly someone else said that their kids found the tnt and now their map looks like swiss cheese. :) I like tnt but prefer using my own personal version which doesn't destroy some of the blocks, as in some blocks are destroyed but don't drop in the original tnt.


Lol, I dont think that was me :D


Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by ExeterDad » Fri Jul 11, 2014 05:38

LionsDen wrote:Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.


Yeah... I posted the comment about TNT making our pretty map into Swiss Cheese. Didn't know TNT was in there when I upgraded the server. The kids found it had a blast (pun intended).

The resulting forest fires took care of everything else. Not a huge deal, in the end it's all just pixels and noise right? :)
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by HeroOfTheWinds » Fri Jul 11, 2014 20:05

I agree that tnt should be disabled by default as well, especially since it causes conflicts with tnt mods like bettertnt. When my friend updated his server to Mintest 0.4.10, all the sudden bettertnt stopped working entirely, just turning into lit, invincible blocks...

Just a slight suggestion. :)
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Achilles » Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:11

ExeterDad wrote:
LionsDen wrote:Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.


Yeah... I posted the comment about TNT making our pretty map into Swiss Cheese. Didn't know TNT was in there when I upgraded the server. The kids found it had a blast (pun intended).

The resulting forest fires took care of everything else. Not a huge deal, in the end it's all just pixels and noise right? :)


Nice way of looking at things XD
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Game] Minetest NeXt (discontinued) (part of minetest_ga

by Inocudom » Sat Jul 12, 2014 13:46

Achilles wrote:
ExeterDad wrote:
LionsDen wrote:Nope, after posting this I found the actual message and I believe the name was Exeter or something like that.


Yeah... I posted the comment about TNT making our pretty map into Swiss Cheese. Didn't know TNT was in there when I upgraded the server. The kids found it had a blast (pun intended).

The resulting forest fires took care of everything else. Not a huge deal, in the end it's all just pixels and noise right? :)


Nice way of looking at things XD

Same thing could be said about our reality, if you really think about it. In the ultimate sense, it is very true for our real world too. It shares many similarities to a computer program.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Games



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest