[Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

[Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Fri Jul 14, 2017 17:07

Waypoints

Image

I will make it more useful when hud is added.
Now you can…
  • have/add/delete/edit (world specific, of course) waypoints with specific postition, name and color,
  • teleport to a waypoint,
  • run a chatcommand with the position of a waypoint and
  • toggle in settings if it shall look like the formspecs from default.
Use the "waypoints" chatcommand (".waypoints").

Depends: csm_worldname

Download
Github
Last edited by DS-minetest on Sun Jul 30, 2017 07:29, edited 1 time in total.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

User avatar
octacian
Member
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 22:18
Location: BC, Canada
GitHub: octacian
IRC: octacian
In-game: octacian

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by octacian » Fri Jul 14, 2017 18:51

I like the idea of this, in fact, I made something like it a while back that I haven't released. One thing I really dislike: The dependency. Please, write this in a way that it can either work alone or with the dependency. That'd make it much nicer to use :D
MicroExpansion, Working Computers, All Projects - Check out my YouTube channel! (octacian)
 

User avatar
TalkLounge
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:42
Location: Germany
GitHub: TalkLounge
IRC: TalkLounge
In-game: TalkLounge

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by TalkLounge » Fri Jul 14, 2017 20:29

Nice Idee, I like it. I will use that a lot, but why are there 2 dependencies? Could you combine into one?
German Server: Wildes Land 2 Subgames Server: Sky World Subgames E-Mail: talklounge@yahoo.de
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Sat Jul 15, 2017 09:30

TalkLounge wrote:Nice Idee, I like it. I will use that a lot, but why are there 2 dependencies? Could you combine into one?

There's only one dependency, csm_worldname. That mod simply depends on another mod, csm_com. If it wouldn't depend on csm_com and did the same, there would be two instead of one message that come from the server at joining.

I could change csm_worldname so, that you can give custom worldnames if the server doesn't have csm_worldname, like it was at csm_worldstorage.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: You wouldn't believe me
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf or Somebody
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: You wouldn't believe me
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf or Somebody
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Sun Jul 16, 2017 07:18

Lone_Wolf wrote:Image

You've got an old minetest version, add an s after …chat_message.
Edit: Also it says that the error occurred at csm_com, you should have written it there.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: You wouldn't believe me
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf or Somebody

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by Lone_Wolf » Sun Jul 16, 2017 07:24

DS-minetest wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:Image

You've got an old minetest version, add an s after …chat_message.
Edit: Also it says that the error occurred at csm_com, you should have written it there.

Ok. I have 0.4.16?
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Sun Jul 16, 2017 07:35

Lone_Wolf wrote:
DS-minetest wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:

You've got an old minetest version, add an s after …chat_message.
Edit: Also it says that the error occurred at csm_com, you should have written it there.

Ok. I have 0.4.16?

Yes, you have. But after 0.4.16, the function was renamed and since I use 0.4.16-dev, I use the new name eg. to test it, to use it myself and that I don't have to change it later.
I wrote:add an s after …chat_message.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Thu Jul 27, 2017 16:08

Update:
It's now possible to automatically set waypoints at deathpoints.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

lonestar
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 03:25
Location: Texas,USA

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by lonestar » Sat Jul 29, 2017 22:59

I have this installed as well as dependencies and not sure how to use this. There is no menu item, nor do i see any commands that i could use. I'm using minetest 0.4.16-dev.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Sun Jul 30, 2017 07:29

lonestar wrote:I have this installed as well as dependencies and not sure how to use this. There is no menu item, nor do i see any commands that i could use. I'm using minetest 0.4.16-dev.

Sorry, I forgot to mention, use the "waypoints" chatcommand (".waypoints").
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

lonestar
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 03:25
Location: Texas,USA

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by lonestar » Mon Jul 31, 2017 01:02

Ok, when I issue the .waypoints command, I get "no worldname". Then when I issue .worldname, I get "no worldname".
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Mon Jul 31, 2017 08:26

lonestar wrote:Ok, when I issue the .waypoints command, I get "no worldname". Then when I issue .worldname, I get "no worldname".

That happens if the server hasn't installed csm_worldname.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

lonestar
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 03:25
Location: Texas,USA

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by lonestar » Mon Jul 31, 2017 23:07

DS-minetest wrote:
lonestar wrote:Ok, when I issue the .waypoints command, I get "no worldname". Then when I issue .worldname, I get "no worldname".

That happens if the server hasn't installed csm_worldname.


OK, so csm_worldname has to be in clientmods and mods or just in mods. I have it in both folders now and works like expected.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Tue Aug 01, 2017 09:37

lonestar wrote:
DS-minetest wrote:
lonestar wrote:Ok, when I issue the .waypoints command, I get "no worldname". Then when I issue .worldname, I get "no worldname".

That happens if the server hasn't installed csm_worldname.


OK, so csm_worldname has to be in clientmods and mods or just in mods. I have it in both folders now and works like expected.

csm_worldname has to be in clientmods and mods.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

Qbiq
Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 17:37
In-game: Qbiq

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by Qbiq » Thu Aug 03, 2017 01:18

I'm trying to get this to work locally and cannot, just to test it. I have csm_worldname in both mods and clientmods. The mod is enable and csm is set to true. Must I use 0.4.16-dev? Regardless of if csm_worldname mod is enabled or disable I get a pop-up to set the world name. Regardless if I do or don't set the worldname, running the .worldname command says no worldname. Any advice?
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Clientmod] Waypoints [waypoints]

by DS-minetest » Thu Aug 03, 2017 08:26

Qbiq wrote:I'm trying to get this to work locally and cannot, just to test it. I have csm_worldname in both mods and clientmods. The mod is enable and csm is set to true. Must I use 0.4.16-dev? Regardless of if csm_worldname mod is enabled or disable I get a pop-up to set the world name. Regardless if I do or don't set the worldname, running the .worldname command says no worldname. Any advice?

Client needs waypoints, csm_worldname (there's another mod from me called, I think, worldstorage, which works with pop-ups) and csm_com.
Server needs csm_worldname and csm_com.
I you have 0.4.16-dev you have to set the flavour limits from 3 to 1 or 0.
Maybe you need 0.4.16-dev because of the change of "register_on_receiving_chat_messages" to "register_on_receiving_chat_message". But you could also add "s"s.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
Location: Madrid,Spain
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
 


Return to Client-side modding



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest