[ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

Post Reply
User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

[ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by jordan4ibanez » Post

This is a small mod which essentially takes over your chat to display your position.

Github: https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/pos

Download: https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/pos/archive/master.zip

License: wtfpl
I've been gone for a long time

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2130
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by sofar » Post

Why not allocate a HUD element and display text in there? Taking over the chat makes it fairly unusable for almost any purpose.

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by ManElevation » Post

screenshot?
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2539
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by Linuxdirk » Post

sofar wrote:Why not allocate a HUD element and display text in there? Taking over the chat makes it fairly unusable for almost any purpose.
Uhm, because client-side modding does not support HUD elements?

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

xD i think i know why ^

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by ManElevation » Post

um why doesnt this work? im on windows and i get this error

Code: Select all

2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from C:\Users\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: ...rs\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:3: attempt to call field 'register_on_connect' (a nil value)
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...rs\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:3: in main chunk
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

User avatar
kingoscargames
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:06
GitHub: kingoscargames
In-game: kingoscargames
Location: Netherlands

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by kingoscargames » Post

ManElevation wrote:um why doesnt this work? im on windows and i get this error
Im using windows and it works for me.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2341
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

ManElevation wrote:um why doesnt this work? im on windows and i get this error

Code: Select all

2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from C:\Users\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: ...rs\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:3: attempt to call field 'register_on_connect' (a nil value)
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...rs\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:3: in main chunk
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
Put it in the clientmods folder

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by ManElevation » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:
ManElevation wrote:um why doesnt this work? im on windows and i get this error

Code: Select all

2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from C:\Users\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: ...rs\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:3: attempt to call field 'register_on_connect' (a nil value)
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...rs\morenavaj\Documents\minetest\bin\..\mods\pos\init.lua:3: in main chunk
2017-09-23 18:04:18: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
Put it in the clientmods folder
ah!
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2341
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by Lone_Wolf » Post


User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [ClientMod] Chat Position [pos]

by ManElevation » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:This might help
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=17830
I know how to do it just dint see that I was a clientmod
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest