Failure to run cilent side mods

Post Reply
User avatar
LemonFox
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 16:27
IRC: LemonFox
In-game: LemonFox

Failure to run cilent side mods

by LemonFox » Post

I have followed the instructions and have added my cilent side mods in minetest/cilentmods/

I have made a text file named "mods.conf" and have filled it with the enabling lines

I am running linux mint and have downloaded minetest via apt-get install

Any help would be appriciated

hajo
Member
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: Failure to run cilent side mods

by hajo » Post

LemonFox wrote:I am running linux mint and have downloaded minetest via apt-get install
As always: more details please - such as version numbers, messages from debug.txt, etc.

Most likely you are running MT 0.4.16, but CSM needs 0.4.16-dev or 0.5+

User avatar
ChimneySwift
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 06:46
GitHub: ChimneySwift
IRC: ChimneySwift
In-game: ChimneySwift
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Failure to run cilent side mods

by ChimneySwift » Post

hajo wrote:Most likely you are running MT 0.4.16, but CSM needs 0.4.16-dev or 0.5+
o_O

I'm running 0.4.16 stable and CSMs work...
A spoon is basically a tiny bowl with a stick on it

dawgdoc
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 01:10
GitHub: dawgdoc

Re: Failure to run cilent side mods

by dawgdoc » Post

Mint repositories contain Minetest 0.4.15. You will need to install the Ubuntu PPA to get the 0.4.16 version, which is necessary for client side mods.
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day. Give a kid a fish, it's going to die.

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Failure to run cilent side mods

by Lejo » Post

Have you enabled client side modding in your minetest.conf?

neoh4x0r
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 20:16
GitHub: neoh4x0r

Re: Failure to run cilent side mods

by neoh4x0r » Post

LemonFox wrote:I have made a text file named "mods.conf" and have filled it with the enabling lines
Lejo wrote:Have you enabled client side modding in your minetest.conf?
I think that's the problem..... "mods.conf" vs "minetest.conf"

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Failure to run cilent side mods

by Lejo » Post

make sure "enable_client_modding = true" is in the minetest.conf setted.

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
GitHub: AiTechEye
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Re: Failure to run cilent side mods

by AiTechEye » Post

This is an explanation for those who get a similar problem in the future:

To enable client modding:

1: in minetest main many, go to the settings tab then advanced settings
2: browse Client > controls > network > Client modding = enabled

enable_client_modding = true should be in the minetest.conf now, or you can just add it in there,
but you need to close minetest first or minetest will overwrite it.


3: Start a singleplayer world, then minetest will create mods.conf in the clientmods folder.

open the mods.conf file (clientmods\mods.conf) and set true on the mods you want to enable, eg if you want the wit mod, set load_mod_wit = true

as default you does commands with . instead of / with clientmods

Image

Image
Attachments
c2.PNG
(102.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
c1.PNG
(132.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest