[csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

matyilona200
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 14:41
GitHub: matyilona

[csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by matyilona200 » Post

Adds location markers to the HUD. These always point in the direction of the location they mark. To work properly, the locations_markers_csm_textures directory has to be installed as a texturepack, as suggested here.

New points can be added by pressing W+S+LMB, the visibility of all markers can be toggled by A+D+LMB.
The button in the middle adds a marker to the current position, the arrows change the marker style, the button on the top change the color.
The three little crosses (left lower corner) delete all markers, the large one (right lower corner) deletes all markers in a 3 meter radius.

It is available on github

Screenshots:
Image
Image

TODO:
  • Eliminate all hardcoded numbers, add them as settings (per marker or global)
  • Adding markers for a specified location
  • List of all markers to delete/toggle visibility/edit them one-by-one
This is my first attempt at a csm, it might have very trivial issues that I did not catch.
Attachments
screenshot_20190628_155709.png
Formspec for adding markers
(224.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20190628_155703.png
Markers on screen
(307.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Sokomine » Post

From how far away can the location markers be seen? Might be intresting to add distance and perhaps a name (optional?). Players getting lost and not finding back to their home in their first world sadly still happens. Those won't profit from this mod as they most certainly will not be aware of it. But the mod could be helpful in other cases.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

This csm mod does not work on minetest 5.1.0 rc1.

Image
03.10.19_15.58.png
(40.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Just Monika!

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Monika_Miyazaki wrote:This csm mod does not work on minetest 5.1.0 rc1.

Image
03.10.19_15.58.png
I see that nobody cares about this mistake.
And nobody wants to help.
Just Monika!

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2326
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Monika_Miyazaki wrote:I see that nobody cares about this mistake.
And nobody wants to help.
I see that nobody is patient and nobody thinks that the mod author might be busy this time of year :P

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:
Monika_Miyazaki wrote:I see that nobody cares about this mistake.
And nobody wants to help.
I see that nobody is patient and nobody thinks that the mod author might be busy this time of year :P
I understand that. But such an error occurs not only in this mod for CSM.
Just Monika!

matyilona200
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 14:41
GitHub: matyilona

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by matyilona200 » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:
Monika_Miyazaki wrote:I see that nobody cares about this mistake.
And nobody wants to help.
I see that nobody is patient and nobody thinks that the mod author might be busy this time of year :P
I've been busy, haven't got much time to tinker with minetest nowdays unfortunately.

I noticed this problem too. It only occurs when connecting to servers. I tested it with many of the servers in the ingame list and had the issue with all of them, however if I host a game from the client (by ticking "Host server" on the Start Game tab) and connect with an other client I do not have this issue. I use the stock 5.0.1 archlinux package, taking a look at the PKGBUILD file I can't see any make options being used that can explain this behavior.

I think it is worth keeping in mind that CSM is still unstable and server operators might not want of allow the use of them because of issues with stability, or cheating.

EDIT:
right after writing this, I just found out that CSMs are off by default so unless the server operator enables them explicitly CSMs can't be used on servers.

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

I like to debug mod errors so I will try it to solve. When I have the solution I'm going to post it.
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Miniontoby wrote:I like to debug mod errors so I will try it to solve. When I have the solution I'm going to post it.
It would be interesting to know whether the problem can be solved higher on the screenshot or not.
Just Monika!

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

matyilona200 wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:
Monika_Miyazaki wrote:I see that nobody cares about this mistake.
And nobody wants to help.
I see that nobody is patient and nobody thinks that the mod author might be busy this time of year :P
I've been busy, haven't got much time to tinker with minetest nowdays unfortunately.

I noticed this problem too. It only occurs when connecting to servers. I tested it with many of the servers in the ingame list and had the issue with all of them, however if I host a game from the client (by ticking "Host server" on the Start Game tab) and connect with an other client I do not have this issue. I use the stock 5.0.1 archlinux package, taking a look at the PKGBUILD file I can't see any make options being used that can explain this behavior.

I think it is worth keeping in mind that CSM is still unstable and server operators might not want of allow the use of them because of issues with stability, or cheating.

EDIT:
right after writing this, I just found out that CSMs are off by default so unless the server operator enables them explicitly CSMs can't be used on servers.
Okay. Thanks for the information.
Just Monika!

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

[DELETED] Check post down here
Last edited by Miniontoby on Mon Oct 21, 2019 13:01, edited 1 time in total.
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

Monika_Miyazaki wrote:
Miniontoby wrote:I like to debug mod errors so I will try it to solve. When I have the solution I'm going to post it.
It would be interesting to know whether the problem can be solved higher on the screenshot or not.
I think that it is an problem with your Minetest or your downloaded code of this mod Monika, because be me this mod does work.

Try this steps:
  1. Install this mod
  2. Go to the Minetest folder and move the "/clientmods/locations_markers_csm/locations_markers_csm_textures" folder to "/textures/"
  3. Open minetest, goto "content" click on "locations_markers_csm_textures" and then press "Use Texture Pack"
  4. Start your world and press "W+S+Left_click", choose your color, your marker picture (with the arrows) and press then the marker picture
  5. And done!
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Miniontoby wrote:
Monika_Miyazaki wrote:
Miniontoby wrote:I like to debug mod errors so I will try it to solve. When I have the solution I'm going to post it.
It would be interesting to know whether the problem can be solved higher on the screenshot or not.
I think that it is an problem with your Minetest or your downloaded code of this mod Monika, because be me this mod does work.

Try this steps:
  1. Install this mod
  2. Go to the Minetest folder and move the "/clientmods/locations_markers_csm/locations_markers_csm_textures" folder to "/textures/"
  3. Open minetest, goto "content" click on "locations_markers_csm_textures" and then press "Use Texture Pack"
  4. Start your world and press "W+S+Left_click", choose your color, your marker picture (with the arrows) and press then the marker picture
  5. And done!
That manual didn't help.
I use the release version of Minetest 5.1.0.

Does not work for single-player or servers.

The mistake is still the same. As on my first post here.
Just Monika!

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

I have also Minetest 5.1.0. and by me I got this mod work. I did wrote the steps I did in the post above.

This is being intresting.
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

I think that I have the solution for your problem. But then its only for singleplayer to use

P.S. I haven't got the right answer
Last edited by Miniontoby on Wed Oct 23, 2019 14:46, edited 1 time in total.
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Miniontoby wrote:I think that I have the solution for your problem
  1. Set "Client Side Modding" to Disable
  2. Start your world and walk a bit in the world and then leave the world
  3. Set "Client Side Modding" to Enable
  4. Start your world and I hope that it's solved
I don't know of that is the real solution and if it doesn't work try then to put it not in "clientmods" folder, but then in the "mods" folder and enable the mod and try it again.
It doesn't work for me.

And as a regular mod I don't need it.
I need it as a mod for the server, not as a single-player game.

Like a normal mod (in the mods folder) it does not work.

Image
23.10.19.PNG
(44.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Just Monika!

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

I had an older version of minetest 5.1.0 and now because I have the env_meta error to much I did replace my minetest with the newest version and this mod doesn't work by me also with the same error

My conclusion is that this mod is got broken with the newest version of minetest
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

Monika_Miyazaki wrote: Image
23.10.19.PNG
blocked attempted read from
This means that your minetest couldn't read from the file, I think
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Miniontoby wrote:I had an older version of minetest 5.1.0 and now because I have the env_meta error to much I did replace my minetest with the newest version and this mod doesn't work by me also with the same error

My conclusion is that this mod is got broken with the newest version of minetest
Well, in that case, we should expect the fixes of this mod from its author.
And if this is the fault of minetest developers (who broke the API), then wait for the fixes from them.
Just Monika!

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

Monika_Miyazaki wrote:
Miniontoby wrote:I had an older version of minetest 5.1.0 and now because I have the env_meta error to much I did replace my minetest with the newest version and this mod doesn't work by me also with the same error

My conclusion is that this mod is got broken with the newest version of minetest
Well, in that case, we should expect the fixes of this mod from its author.
And if this is the fault of minetest developers (who broke the API), then wait for the fixes from them.
I think that is a good solution for now
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Miniontoby wrote:
Monika_Miyazaki wrote: Image
23.10.19.PNG
blocked attempted read from
This means that your minetest couldn't read from the file, I think
So that's in case you run it as a regular mod.
But I need it as a mod for CSM (to create labels on the server).
Just Monika!

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Miniontoby wrote:
Monika_Miyazaki wrote:
Miniontoby wrote:I had an older version of minetest 5.1.0 and now because I have the env_meta error to much I did replace my minetest with the newest version and this mod doesn't work by me also with the same error

My conclusion is that this mod is got broken with the newest version of minetest
Well, in that case, we should expect the fixes of this mod from its author.
And if this is the fault of minetest developers (who broke the API), then wait for the fixes from them.
I think that is a good solution for now
I think the API for CSM is a little broken.
It's worth waiting for the fixes.
Just Monika!

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Miniontoby » Post

I think you need to post it in the minetest 5.1.0 topic, only that they know it and then that they can change it, I think
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"

User avatar
Monika_Miyazaki
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 17:21
In-game: Monika_Miyazaki
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Monika_Miyazaki » Post

Miniontoby wrote:I think you need to post it in the minetest 5.1.0 topic, only that they know it and then that they can change it, I think
That doesn't make any sense right now. The developers are surely aware of this.
Just Monika!

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4499
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [csm] Location markers [locations_markers_csm]

by Krock » Post

Miniontoby wrote:I think you need to post it in the minetest 5.1.0 topic
Wrong place. If it's a Minetest bug, please create an issue on GitHub.
Monika_Miyazaki wrote:The developers are surely aware of this.
No, there's yet no report of such an issue.

CSM API wrote:** WARNING: The client API is currently unstable, and may break/change without warning. **
Whereas this is true, it indeed seems to be a new problem. "minetest.localplayer" is not guaranteed to be available when loading the mods. The real issue is that "on_mods_loaded" callback is run before the client is fully initialized.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests