Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian

Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by Aeonian » Thu Dec 07, 2017 04:57

No matter if I compile it myself or use someone else's build, on MacOS, I cannot get minetest to stop showing me a blank white window moments after I open the application.

Its very odd because I had minetest working for about a week, and one day it just didn't work at all. I've tried compiling it myself and used other people's builds, but I always get a white, blank window.

Any ideas as to what it could be?
 

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian
 

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by Aeonian » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:36

I ran the actual binary inside the package contents of the .app, and I kept getting an error "CGContextGetBlendMode: invalid context 0x0" in the terminal. The white screen also appeared when I ran the executable.

I looked it up and for some reason this error happens during iPhone app development a lot? Is this some sort of error on Apple's part? Its definitely some sort of graphical error.
 

User avatar
ThomasMonroe
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 16:21
Location: Wherever I am at
GitHub: ThomasMonroe314
IRC: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared
In-game: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by ThomasMonroe » Thu Dec 07, 2017 13:36

I would think this is because of the recent drop of Apple support, but I'm not sure
Projects|:*sigh* school: :Qub³d: :Legends Of Survival: :making people think:
I don't make things messy, I just *cough* disturb the local entropy.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5422
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by rubenwardy » Thu Dec 07, 2017 13:38

ThomasMonroe wrote:I would think this is because of the recent drop of Apple support, but I'm not sure


Nothing has changed in regards to Minetest supporting Mac OS, Minetest has never really officially supported it as we don't have anyone with the skills to do so. See how we don't have an official Mac OS build. Note we'll ofc accept PRs to fix Mac OS support
Core Developer | Donate | My Twitter | Mods | Mods 4 Android | Node Box Editor | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

LgiOxMFYXOqtqVqMPhbw1Bn3oNRvEC7j
 

User avatar
ThomasMonroe
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 16:21
Location: Wherever I am at
GitHub: ThomasMonroe314
IRC: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared
In-game: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by ThomasMonroe » Thu Dec 07, 2017 16:38

sorry I mis-worded it, idk then
Projects|:*sigh* school: :Qub³d: :Legends Of Survival: :making people think:
I don't make things messy, I just *cough* disturb the local entropy.
 

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by Aeonian » Sat Dec 09, 2017 17:27

I don't usually use MacOS, because there is really no reason to, but its all I've got on my school mac, and I wanted to be able to use minetest from there.


I think maybe I screwed up some graphical settings or one of the services got blocked by my school, because it was working until about a week ago.
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests