Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian

Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by Aeonian » Thu Dec 07, 2017 04:57

No matter if I compile it myself or use someone else's build, on MacOS, I cannot get minetest to stop showing me a blank white window moments after I open the application.

Its very odd because I had minetest working for about a week, and one day it just didn't work at all. I've tried compiling it myself and used other people's builds, but I always get a white, blank window.

Any ideas as to what it could be?
 

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian
 

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by Aeonian » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:36

I ran the actual binary inside the package contents of the .app, and I kept getting an error "CGContextGetBlendMode: invalid context 0x0" in the terminal. The white screen also appeared when I ran the executable.

I looked it up and for some reason this error happens during iPhone app development a lot? Is this some sort of error on Apple's part? Its definitely some sort of graphical error.
 

User avatar
ThomasMonroe
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 16:21
Location: Wherever I am at
GitHub: ThomasMonroe314
IRC: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared
In-game: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by ThomasMonroe » Thu Dec 07, 2017 13:36

I would think this is because of the recent drop of Apple support, but I'm not sure
Projects|:*sigh* school: :Qub³d: :Legends Of Survival: :making people think:
I don't make things messy, I just *cough* disturb the local entropy.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5670
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by rubenwardy » Thu Dec 07, 2017 13:38

ThomasMonroe wrote:I would think this is because of the recent drop of Apple support, but I'm not sure


Nothing has changed in regards to Minetest supporting Mac OS, Minetest has never really officially supported it as we don't have anyone with the skills to do so. See how we don't have an official Mac OS build. Note we'll ofc accept PRs to fix Mac OS support
 

User avatar
ThomasMonroe
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 16:21
Location: Wherever I am at
GitHub: ThomasMonroe314
IRC: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared
In-game: ThomasMonroe TMcSquared

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by ThomasMonroe » Thu Dec 07, 2017 16:38

sorry I mis-worded it, idk then
Projects|:*sigh* school: :Qub³d: :Legends Of Survival: :making people think:
I don't make things messy, I just *cough* disturb the local entropy.
 

Aeonian
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 17:53
In-game: Aeonian

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by Aeonian » Sat Dec 09, 2017 17:27

I don't usually use MacOS, because there is really no reason to, but its all I've got on my school mac, and I wanted to be able to use minetest from there.


I think maybe I screwed up some graphical settings or one of the services got blocked by my school, because it was working until about a week ago.
 

kypa
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:29
In-game: kypa

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by kypa » Thu Feb 07, 2019 13:50

Hello! I have the same problem now. Did you manage to solve it?
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by texmex » Thu Feb 07, 2019 21:05

rubenwardy wrote:
ThomasMonroe wrote:I would think this is because of the recent drop of Apple support, but I'm not sure


Nothing has changed in regards to Minetest supporting Mac OS, Minetest has never really officially supported it as we don't have anyone with the skills to do so. See how we don't have an official Mac OS build. Note we'll ofc accept PRs to fix Mac OS support


I don’t understand why. Neoascetic has been producing perfectly good builds for years now, and through Travis CI which means no Mac needed even.
 

kypa
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:29
In-game: kypa

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by kypa » Fri Feb 08, 2019 15:09

texmex wrote:Did you try removing minetest.conf? (While app closed, ofc)

yes, it didn't help
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex
 

kypa
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:29
In-game: kypa

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by kypa » Mon Feb 11, 2019 18:21

texmex wrote:What’s your system specs?

https://pasteboard.co/I0HwsEM.png
Here's a screenshot. Or do you need anything else?
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex
 

kypa
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:29
In-game: kypa

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by kypa » Tue Feb 12, 2019 14:15

I have found an error but Idk if it is the reason why minetest crashes. So, when I open the terminal file 'minetest' from the MacOS folder, there appears this:
https://pasteboard.co/I0vrdhS.png
Does anybody know how to fix this?

UPD: sorry, I had just fixed it by downloading minetest with Homebrew. But the program still doesn't work
UPD2: just found out that I have no folder called 'Minetest' in /Library/Application Support or /Contents/User. Have no idea why because they are stated in README file
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by texmex » Tue Feb 12, 2019 14:42

Sounds like your system is a little off. An error is seen at line 4, where the path is in part repeated when it shouldn't.

There should be no Minetest directory in /Library/Application Support but in ~/Library/Application Support .
 

kypa
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:29
In-game: kypa

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by kypa » Tue Feb 12, 2019 16:10

texmex wrote:There should be no Minetest directory in /Library/Application Support but in ~/Library/Application Support .

Thank you for this because I have found debug.txt :DDD
And now I have found some information. So, the lines before the separator were before the program crashed and the lines after separator appear every time I open the program now.
https://pasteboard.co/I0Q5MM1.png
 

kypa
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:29
In-game: kypa

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by kypa » Tue Feb 12, 2019 16:14

YES I GOT IT
Deleting everything from minetest.conf helped! I think I have just removed other files called minetest.conf :D
Thanks everybody for advices and support!!! It really works 0_0
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: Launching Minetest Provides Blank, White Screen

by texmex » Tue Feb 12, 2019 17:39

Good to hear! In addition, by looking at your debug.txt it looks like you’re installing games and mods INSIDE the application. That will make you all those added things next update. Instead, place mods and games in directories called that inside ~/L/AS/minetest (the aforementioned path)
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests