I can't access content.minetest.net

Post Reply
Chrysolite Azalea
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 05:38
GitHub: ChrysoliteAzalea

I can't access content.minetest.net

by Chrysolite Azalea » Post

Hello everyone! I have problems with accessing content.minetest.net

I can't access it, neither from my home network, nor from my dormitory network, nor from my university network (I'm in Russia, studying in South Ural State University), neither through browser, nor through Minetest client. I can access it through Tor. However, as I recently checked, content.minetest.net is not listed as blocked/prohibited in government database.

Does anyone else have the similar problem?
cdb_JQUaRqvA1Vho

DOOM_possum
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 22:06
In-game: DOOM_possum

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by DOOM_possum » Post

no. it might be your admin in the school it's self, or maybe it is a bug just for now, i guess, i can get in just Fine, can even download them, maybe someone else can help You more

Chrysolite Azalea
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 05:38
GitHub: ChrysoliteAzalea

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by Chrysolite Azalea » Post

I can't access it from my home. Also, it can be because of my ISP.
cdb_JQUaRqvA1Vho

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6449
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by rubenwardy » Post

Can you access https://rubenwardy.com?

Chrysolite Azalea
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 05:38
GitHub: ChrysoliteAzalea

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by Chrysolite Azalea » Post

Yes, I can
cdb_JQUaRqvA1Vho

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6449
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by rubenwardy » Post

What happens? Does it time out, is there a connection refused, or what?

Other things to try:

The result of dig all content.minetest.net will show where the DNS points to

The result of traceroute content.minetest.net (or tracepath on Ubuntu) will show where the connection is lost (maybe PM, as it is sensitive)

I'm not sure how to do these on Windows, but they're packages on most Linux distros. On Ubuntu, it's dnsutils for dig, tracepath is installed by default.

User avatar
voxel
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 23:56

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by voxel » Post

@Rubenwardy
Better describe that these are terminal commands, not all people know about such things.
;)
Good sites: ContentDB - notabug --- Bad sites: gitlab - github (both bad sites only to report issues).

Chrysolite Azalea
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 05:38
GitHub: ChrysoliteAzalea

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by Chrysolite Azalea » Post

The IP address of content.minetest.net is shown as 142.4.209.73

The traceroute is in the attachment.
Attachments
traceroute.txt.gz
(733 Bytes) Downloaded 2 times
cdb_JQUaRqvA1Vho

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6449
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by rubenwardy » Post

That's the old IP address, looks like there's a DNS server incorrectly caching the old value somewhere. I'm not sure if I can fix this

Chrysolite Azalea
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 05:38
GitHub: ChrysoliteAzalea

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by Chrysolite Azalea » Post

Can you please tell me the actual IP address? Maybe adding it to /etc/hosts would help.
cdb_JQUaRqvA1Vho

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6449
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by rubenwardy » Post

It's 194.36.147.174

Chrysolite Azalea
Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 05:38
GitHub: ChrysoliteAzalea

Re: I can't access content.minetest.net

by Chrysolite Azalea » Post

Oh thank you!

Sorry, for the inconvenience. Turns out, the error was caused by an incorrect record in /etc/hosts on my laptop. The wrong record has been removed, the site is accessible.
cdb_JQUaRqvA1Vho

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest