Page 1 of 1

Small rant on the UI

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 07:06
by Ihrit
Hi! I got little furstrated on my first touch to the project after dowloading the game. I was little tired and wanted to quickly test what the game is like, but failed the creation of a new game several times for I was rushing through the form not reading it properly.

So why is there no default value set for the game type? I know it's in the FAQ you need to do this, but I find it unnecessary to to fail because you missed it. It should be safe to have one as default?

So it's just a nuisance I know and I sincerely apologize if I wasted someones time.

Btw. I managed to create a game in the end and tested it for couple of hours. Couldn't find more useful stuff to report in that time. I really enjoyed it.. it's myt first experience of this genre and I'm glad I didn't rage remove the game after failing at this small feat.

Re: Small rant on the UI

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 09:33
by rubenwardy
That has been fixed in the latest version of Minetest - the development version. It was a bug in the code that caused it to not be initially selected. Download dev from the builds section of the forum if you are on windows.

It is rumored that 0.4.11 is coming in November.

Re: Small rant on the UI

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 16:55
by Krock
rubenwardy wrote:It is rumored that 0.4.12 is coming in November.

Oh neat. Seems like we skip version 0.4.11 :P

Re: Small rant on the UI

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 17:51
by rubenwardy
Corrected.

Remember, we did skip 0.4.2

Re: Small rant on the UI

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 00:45
by kaeza
rubenwardy wrote:Corrected.

Remember, we did skip 0.4.2

I thought MT devs would pull a MS-like move with version numbers <_<

Re: Small rant on the UI

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2014 09:59
by Calinou
We had 0.4.2-rc1, a Windows build posted by celeron55 on his blog (featuring remade creative inventory), but no “stable” 0.4.2 release.