Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by Linuxdirk » Fri Jan 02, 2015 01:03

I just updated to 0.4.11 and saw this …

In the menu it’s all fine and properly scaled and centered.

Image

… when starting the game and open the inventory it’s waaay too large …

Image

… same with furnace …

Image

… or is it just me?
 

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
 
Posts: 977
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by Napiophelios » Fri Jan 02, 2015 03:21

adjust the Gui scaling settings in minetest config file

I wanted my hotbar larger so I adjusted the settings
and noticed all the formspecs are now bigger too (as well as wield items)
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4242
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by Krock » Fri Jan 02, 2015 08:28

Seems like the menu uses a smaller scale factor than all other formspecs in-game.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

Zeno
Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 03:36
Location: Australia
GitHub: Zeno-
 

User avatar
jp
Member
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
Location: France
GitHub: kilbith

Re: Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by jp » Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:52

Yep, you seem use your own external font. I don't recognize it packaged with the engine.

Your issue may come from that point.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5689
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by rubenwardy » Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:38

It's a feature. Minetest automatically adjusts the size of formspecs to be the same on all screens. If it is too big for you, use the setting in minetest.conf
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by Linuxdirk » Fri Jan 02, 2015 13:11

rubenwardy wrote:If it is too big for you, use the setting in minetest.conf

Are there different settings for ingame and menu? When scaling ingame to an appropriate size the menu is unreadable small (not to mention that the font is scaled down to unreadability too, when having formspecs the appropriate size).

Why can’t we just switch back to the old behavior?
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by ExeterDad » Fri Jan 02, 2015 13:57

I'm pretty sure this was introduced with the development of the Android app and it's tiny multiple sized screens.
 

User avatar
Neon
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 02:03
In-game: Neon

Re: Can we please have reasonable scaling of formspecs back?

by Neon » Wed Oct 21, 2015 02:17

Somewhat related; e.g. GUI scaling:

I had a point where operator error created a GUI scaling of 0. This caused a GUI crash upon startup. Can we please have a code snippit that sets a GUI Scaling to a default value when it detects an invalid value for the GUI Scaling.
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron