Malicious mods on Xanadu?

gaf99

Malicious mods on Xanadu?

by gaf99 » Post

I was playing on Xanandu server when another player dropped several books. When I opened the book https://i.imgur.com/oPJtgS3.jpg it contained 11 pages of what appeared to be java code. The other players and I began to lag, so I logged out, ran a virus scan, check firewall log ect.. found nothing. I contacted the sever admin TenPlus1 and expressed my concern and gave him/her the location of the book, no response other than finding my account banned the next day. I was unable to get any answer from mods or the server admin in reference to the suspicious book. My question and concern is if it's possible for a skiddie to add their code to minecraft items and use as a exploit, do devs audit the code of mods? I'm not a programmer or very tech savvy, but the entire situation seems very odd to me. I run the 0.4.13 version ,no mods added by me on client side, and have had no other glitches other than when I opened this book. Thanks

TenPlus1
In-game: TenPlus1

Re: Malicious mods on Xanadu?

by TenPlus1 » Post

These are just hoax books made to worry players on server, they cannot harm either the server or the players machine since text is read only and does nothing else.

kaadmy
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

by kaadmy » Post

gaf99 wrote:what appeared to be java code.
Minetest is written in C++ and Lua, no Java here.
gaf99 wrote:add their code to minecraft items and use as a exploit
This isn't Minecr**t, it's Minetest.
gaf99 wrote:do devs audit the code of mods?
Nope, that's the problem of the server owner.
gaf99 wrote:no mods added by me on client side
Minetest has no client-side mods yet, mods are run completely server-side.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.

Pixture

maikerumine
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

by maikerumine » Post