[ solved ] help! server will not load, this error

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

i have tried both using dnf and using the .rpm from minetest.net

User avatar
trev
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 16:49
In-game: trev

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by trev » Post

Your Minetest installation thinks that it is a shared, system-wide installation. That's why it's looking in /usr/local/share for Minetest files. This would be the case after using a prebuilt RPM package to update.

What folder are you keeping your server in?

There is a big difference between minetest and .minetest (dot-minetest)

If you are running the server in place, you must compile the game yourself, and use the following CMake options.

cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1

or it won't work. Perhaps this change with the update broke it. It's breaking because it can't find its files. Notice it also isn't finding the world you're asking for.
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)

User avatar
trev
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 16:49
In-game: trev

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by trev » Post

One thing to try is copying the world, the mods, and the game to your .minetest folder in /root.
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

i am doing system wide as root. i am on as the root user in terminal when i run my server, and the server is either installed with dnf or from a .rpm. i have tried almost every option with cmake on the source code b4 but it wouldnt work.

prehaps i can backup the world and get a new operating system. maybe arch. does pacman have minetest on it???

also would /root/.minetest be all i need for a world clone to a new system?

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

alright i tried this, version 0.4.13 is on @fedora repos while 0.4.15 is on @updates. this is the result:

Code: Select all

[james@server ~]$ su -
Password: 
[root@server ~]# dnf remove minetest minetest-server
Dependencies resolved.
===================================================================================================================================================================================================================
 Package                                                Arch                                          Version                                                Repository                                       Size
===================================================================================================================================================================================================================
Removing:
 minetest                                               x86_64                                        0.4.15-1.fc24                                          @updates                                         25 M
 minetest-server                                        x86_64                                        0.4.15-1.fc24                                          @updates                                        4.3 M

Transaction Summary
===================================================================================================================================================================================================================
Remove  2 Packages

Installed size: 30 M
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Running transaction check
Transaction check succeeded.
Running transaction test
Transaction test succeeded.
Running transaction
  Erasing     : minetest-0.4.15-1.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                                  1/2 
  Erasing     : minetest-server-0.4.15-1.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                           2/2 
  Verifying   : minetest-0.4.15-1.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                                  1/2 
  Verifying   : minetest-server-0.4.15-1.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                           2/2 

Removed:
  minetest.x86_64 0.4.15-1.fc24                                                                        minetest-server.x86_64 0.4.15-1.fc24                                                                       

Complete!
[root@server ~]# dnf install minetest-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64 minetest-server-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64 
Last metadata expiration check: 1:46:38 ago on Sun Jan 29 13:21:07 2017.
Dependencies resolved.
===================================================================================================================================================================================================================
 Package                                                 Arch                                           Version                                               Repository                                      Size
===================================================================================================================================================================================================================
Installing:
 minetest                                                x86_64                                         0.4.13-5.fc24                                         fedora                                         9.5 M
 minetest-server                                         x86_64                                         0.4.13-5.fc24                                         fedora                                         1.5 M

Transaction Summary
===================================================================================================================================================================================================================
Install  2 Packages

Total download size: 11 M
Installed size: 27 M
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
(1/2): minetest-server-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64.rpm                                                                                                                                    546 kB/s | 1.5 MB     00:02    
(2/2): minetest-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64.rpm                                                                                                                                           3.3 MB/s | 9.5 MB     00:02    
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total                                                                                                                                                                              2.7 MB/s |  11 MB     00:04     
Running transaction check
Transaction check succeeded.
Running transaction test
Transaction test succeeded.
Running transaction
  Installing  : minetest-server-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                           1/2 
  Installing  : minetest-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                                  2/2 
  Verifying   : minetest-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                                  1/2 
  Verifying   : minetest-server-0.4.13-5.fc24.x86_64                                                                                                                                                           2/2 

Installed:
  minetest.x86_64 0.4.13-5.fc24                                                                        minetest-server.x86_64 0.4.13-5.fc24                                                                       

Complete!
[root@server ~]# until minetestserver --logfile /home/james/Desktop/log.txt --gameid minetest --worldname Trumpland; do sleep 3; done
2017-01-29 15:08:05: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share not found at "/usr/local/share/minetest"
2017-01-29 15:08:05: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share not found at "/usr/local/bin/../share/minetest"
2017-01-29 15:08:05: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share found at "/usr/local/bin/.."
2017-01-29 15:08:05: [Main]: World 'Trumpland' not available. Available worlds:
2017-01-29 15:08:05: [Main]:   'Trumpland minetest server' '/root/.minetest/worlds/Trumpland minetest server'
2017-01-29 15:08:05: [Main]: Automatically selecting world at [/root/.minetest/worlds/Trumpland minetest server]
2017-01-29 15:08:05: ERROR[Main]: Game "minetest" not found
2017-01-29 15:08:05: ERROR[Main]: Subgame [] could not be found.
2017-01-29 15:08:05: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Supplied invalid gamespec
2017-01-29 15:08:08: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share not found at "/usr/local/share/minetest"
2017-01-29 15:08:08: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share not found at "/usr/local/bin/../share/minetest"
2017-01-29 15:08:08: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share found at "/usr/local/bin/.."
2017-01-29 15:08:08: [Main]: World 'Trumpland' not available. Available worlds:
2017-01-29 15:08:08: [Main]:   'Trumpland minetest server' '/root/.minetest/worlds/Trumpland minetest server'
2017-01-29 15:08:08: [Main]: Automatically selecting world at [/root/.minetest/worlds/Trumpland minetest server]
2017-01-29 15:08:08: ERROR[Main]: Game "minetest" not found
2017-01-29 15:08:08: ERROR[Main]: Subgame [] could not be found.
2017-01-29 15:08:08: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Supplied invalid gamespec
2017-01-29 15:08:11: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share not found at "/usr/local/share/minetest"
2017-01-29 15:08:11: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share not found at "/usr/local/bin/../share/minetest"
2017-01-29 15:08:11: WARNING[Main]: system-wide share found at "/usr/local/bin/.."
2017-01-29 15:08:11: [Main]: World 'Trumpland' not available. Available worlds:
2017-01-29 15:08:11: [Main]:   'Trumpland minetest server' '/root/.minetest/worlds/Trumpland minetest server'
2017-01-29 15:08:11: [Main]: Automatically selecting world at [/root/.minetest/worlds/Trumpland minetest server]
2017-01-29 15:08:11: ERROR[Main]: Game "minetest" not found
2017-01-29 15:08:11: ERROR[Main]: Subgame [] could not be found.
2017-01-29 15:08:11: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Supplied invalid gamespec
^C
[root@server ~]# 

Morn76
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 19:45

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Morn76 » Post

Fedora24 wrote: prehaps i can backup the world and get a new operating system. maybe arch. does pacman have minetest on it???
Yes, it does. Also, Manjaro seems to be getting really popular as a more user-friendly Arch derivative. Not that Arch is not user-friendly once properly installed; especially for a server it's actually pretty great I think.

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

yeah, i plan to get some form of arch prob not arch itself. i use distrowatch for that :P :D

Morn76
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 19:45

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Morn76 » Post

Fedora24 wrote:yeah, i plan to get some form of arch prob not arch itself. i use distrowatch for that :P :D
Yes, Distrowatch is very useful to see which distros are up-and-coming. https://lwn.net/ is the other Linux distro mainstay, although some Arch devs hate it because it forced them to finally implement package signing a few years ago.

But remember not to use the Arch forum to ask about problems with Manjaro or Antergos. They hate that. Even more so than LWN. :-) No really, they do.

I've tried Manjaro Xfce in a VM on Arch a few days ago and liked it. If it gets some of the benefits of Arch to the, shall we say, point-and-click crowd, I'm all for it. They even have an official KDE version.

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

Morn76 wrote:
Fedora24 wrote:yeah, i plan to get some form of arch prob not arch itself. i use distrowatch for that :P :D
Yes, Distrowatch is very useful to see which distros are up-and-coming. https://lwn.net/ is the other Linux distro mainstay, although some Arch devs hate it because it forced them to finally implement package signing a few years ago.

But remember not to use the Arch forum to ask about problems with Manjaro or Antergos. They hate that. Even more so than LWN. :-) No really, they do.

I've tried Manjaro Xfce in a VM on Arch a few days ago and liked it. If it gets some of the benefits of Arch to the, shall we say, point-and-click crowd, I'm all for it. They even have an official KDE version.
lol i'll remember that :P

Morn76
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 19:45

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Morn76 » Post

Fedora24 wrote: lol i'll remember that :P
Oh I forgot, don't mention that systemd sucks on the Arch forums either. The Arch gods don't like it when their decisions are questioned.

The good news is that installing and running Arch is a piece of cake compared to its touchy forum etiquette. :-)

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

sounds good, i'm working on getting manjaro on :)

I'll let you know how it goes when i'm all set :)

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Fixer » Post

Try disabling mod security in config.

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

Fixerol wrote:Try disabling mod security in config.
ill check that out if it still glitches on manjaro

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

i get this error

Code: Select all

2017-01-30 22:43:53: ERROR[CurlFetch]: servers.minetest.net/announce not found (HTTP response code said error) (response code 500)
but i am on the internet! i can curl websites succesfully. ????

User avatar
trev
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 16:49
In-game: trev

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by trev » Post

As I understand, this is due to the "Server announce" feature. This feature allows your server to be listed on the "Servers" tab on the main menu for all Minetest users. Although this is eventually desirable, try disabling it to see if the server will run.

In the minetest.conf file:

server_announce = false
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

i figured out the issue. i got another version of fedora and i have it up now. thanks for your help though!

User avatar
trev
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 16:49
In-game: trev

Re: help! server will not load, this error

by trev » Post

Awesome, you're welcome.
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: [ solved ] help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

marked as solved

lightseer
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:18

Re: [ solved ] help! server will not load, this error

by lightseer » Post

When you say you've removed everything and reinstalled, what exactly have your removed? I know of several things you have to take out. Could you have missed something such as the .minecraft folder in $HOME ?

User avatar
Edgy1
Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:29
GitHub: JamesTobin
In-game: Trump

Re: [ solved ] help! server will not load, this error

by Edgy1 » Post

full reinstlall but i used the same .minetest folder,

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests