Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

Post Reply
nvrsbr
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 19:42

Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by nvrsbr » Post

https://s1.postimg.org/40azccoitb/Error.jpg

Any ideas?

I can play for about 3 seconds then my game crashes to this :P

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Too many memory consuming mods. Lua has a limit of 1GB (correct me if i'm wrong) and you're mod it tking too much memory. try to use less mods or to lighten the mod.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4572
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Krock » Post

LuaJIT (not "LUA" JIT) issue, where a huge amount of memory is used at one time.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2988
In the issue above, there is also the link to a patched 0.4.16 Win64 binary. If you're on GNU/Linux, look out for patches posted in the discussion or compile Minetest without LuaJIT.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Fixer » Post

Some solutions:

https://kitsunemimi.pw/tmp/minetest-0.4 ... t-win64.7z (simple Lua version, slower than usual, but does not have memory problems)

https://kitsunemimi.pw/tmp/minetest-0.4 ... 4-win64.7z (usual LuaJit version with support for large memory, may crash, but it was stable for me on windows).

User avatar
Acceleration
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 13:12
GitHub: ScrambledAuroras
IRC: ScrambledAuroras
In-game: Acceleration

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Acceleration » Post

Krock wrote:LuaJIT (not "LUA" JIT) issue, where a huge amount of memory is used at one time.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2988
In the issue above, there is also the link to a patched 0.4.16 Win64 binary. If you're on GNU/Linux, look out for patches posted in the discussion or compile Minetest without LuaJIT.
Does this occur on Cmake'd-on-premises Linux headless builds?
Try to be a rainbow in someone's cloud

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
GitHub: ChristoferL
Location: Athol, Massachusetts

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Post

I have been going crazy with issues (mods failing) and LuaJIT always seems to be blamed in the end. I have loaded the build linked above and I am not having any issues yet. Sounds and functions seem to all be running... in fact, things are happening that I forgot were supposed to happen! I assume this is due to memory? Is there any real danger in running this build other than it wouldn't work?
everything can be a learning experience...

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by paramat » Post

If you're on Linux and you want to use mods, you're better off not using LuaJIT, due to this memory issue.

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
GitHub: ChristoferL
Location: Athol, Massachusetts

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Post

So I'm going to sound super newbe here but apparently the compiler you use can affect how much memory the program you've compiled can use?
everything can be a learning experience...

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Fixer » Post

Actually, people on linux seem to have less problems with luajit memory issues (at least few accounts from Vanessa)

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
GitHub: ChristoferL
Location: Athol, Massachusetts

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Post

Fixerol wrote:Actually, people on linux seem to have less problems with luajit memory issues (at least few accounts from Vanessa)
I have been using Windows exclusively, but I could try that. Still, I am currently testing a build not compiled with LuaJIT and it seems much better than it was. The memory issue could really tank my project though. That would suck. LOL.
everything can be a learning experience...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests