Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

nvrsbr
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 19:42

Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by nvrsbr » Wed Oct 25, 2017 13:35

https://s1.postimg.org/40azccoitb/Error.jpg

Any ideas?

I can play for about 3 seconds then my game crashes to this :P
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7434
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by azekill_DIABLO » Wed Oct 25, 2017 14:17

Too many memory consuming mods. Lua has a limit of 1GB (correct me if i'm wrong) and you're mod it tking too much memory. try to use less mods or to lighten the mod.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4106
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Krock » Wed Oct 25, 2017 19:04

LuaJIT (not "LUA" JIT) issue, where a huge amount of memory is used at one time.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2988
In the issue above, there is also the link to a patched 0.4.16 Win64 binary. If you're on GNU/Linux, look out for patches posted in the discussion or compile Minetest without LuaJIT.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Fixer » Wed Oct 25, 2017 23:31

Some solutions:

https://kitsunemimi.pw/tmp/minetest-0.4 ... t-win64.7z (simple Lua version, slower than usual, but does not have memory problems)

https://kitsunemimi.pw/tmp/minetest-0.4 ... 4-win64.7z (usual LuaJit version with support for large memory, may crash, but it was stable for me on windows).
 

User avatar
Acceleration
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 13:12
GitHub: ScrambledAuroras
IRC: ScrambledAuroras
In-game: Acceleration

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Acceleration » Fri Oct 27, 2017 16:56

Krock wrote:LuaJIT (not "LUA" JIT) issue, where a huge amount of memory is used at one time.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2988
In the issue above, there is also the link to a patched 0.4.16 Win64 binary. If you're on GNU/Linux, look out for patches posted in the discussion or compile Minetest without LuaJIT.

Does this occur on Cmake'd-on-premises Linux headless builds?
Try to be a rainbow in someone's cloud
 

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
Location: Athol, Massachusetts
GitHub: ChristoferL

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:11

I have been going crazy with issues (mods failing) and LuaJIT always seems to be blamed in the end. I have loaded the build linked above and I am not having any issues yet. Sounds and functions seem to all be running... in fact, things are happening that I forgot were supposed to happen! I assume this is due to memory? Is there any real danger in running this build other than it wouldn't work?
everything can be a learning experience...
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3195
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by paramat » Fri Nov 24, 2017 00:10

If you're on Linux and you want to use mods, you're better off not using LuaJIT, due to this memory issue.
 

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
Location: Athol, Massachusetts
GitHub: ChristoferL

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:22

So I'm going to sound super newbe here but apparently the compiler you use can affect how much memory the program you've compiled can use?
everything can be a learning experience...
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Fixer » Sun Nov 26, 2017 22:44

Actually, people on linux seem to have less problems with luajit memory issues (at least few accounts from Vanessa)
 

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
Location: Athol, Massachusetts
GitHub: ChristoferL

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:00

Fixerol wrote:Actually, people on linux seem to have less problems with luajit memory issues (at least few accounts from Vanessa)


I have been using Windows exclusively, but I could try that. Still, I am currently testing a build not compiled with LuaJIT and it seems much better than it was. The memory issue could really tank my project though. That would suck. LOL.
everything can be a learning experience...
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests