Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

nvrsbr
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 19:42

Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by nvrsbr » Wed Oct 25, 2017 13:35

https://s1.postimg.org/40azccoitb/Error.jpg

Any ideas?

I can play for about 3 seconds then my game crashes to this :P
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7381
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by azekill_DIABLO » Wed Oct 25, 2017 14:17

Too many memory consuming mods. Lua has a limit of 1GB (correct me if i'm wrong) and you're mod it tking too much memory. try to use less mods or to lighten the mod.
【OMICRON】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3994
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Krock » Wed Oct 25, 2017 19:04

LuaJIT (not "LUA" JIT) issue, where a huge amount of memory is used at one time.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2988
In the issue above, there is also the link to a patched 0.4.16 Win64 binary. If you're on GNU/Linux, look out for patches posted in the discussion or compile Minetest without LuaJIT.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Fixer » Wed Oct 25, 2017 23:31

Some solutions:

https://kitsunemimi.pw/tmp/minetest-0.4 ... t-win64.7z (simple Lua version, slower than usual, but does not have memory problems)

https://kitsunemimi.pw/tmp/minetest-0.4 ... 4-win64.7z (usual LuaJit version with support for large memory, may crash, but it was stable for me on windows).
 

User avatar
Acceleration
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 13:12
GitHub: ScrambledAuroras
IRC: ScrambledAuroras
In-game: Acceleration

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Acceleration » Fri Oct 27, 2017 16:56

Krock wrote:LuaJIT (not "LUA" JIT) issue, where a huge amount of memory is used at one time.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/2988
In the issue above, there is also the link to a patched 0.4.16 Win64 binary. If you're on GNU/Linux, look out for patches posted in the discussion or compile Minetest without LuaJIT.

Does this occur on Cmake'd-on-premises Linux headless builds?
Try to be a rainbow in someone's cloud
 

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
Location: Athol, Massachusetts
GitHub: ChristoferL

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:11

I have been going crazy with issues (mods failing) and LuaJIT always seems to be blamed in the end. I have loaded the build linked above and I am not having any issues yet. Sounds and functions seem to all be running... in fact, things are happening that I forgot were supposed to happen! I assume this is due to memory? Is there any real danger in running this build other than it wouldn't work?
everything can be a learning experience...
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3135
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by paramat » Fri Nov 24, 2017 00:10

If you're on Linux and you want to use mods, you're better off not using LuaJIT, due to this memory issue.
 

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
Location: Athol, Massachusetts
GitHub: ChristoferL

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:22

So I'm going to sound super newbe here but apparently the compiler you use can affect how much memory the program you've compiled can use?
everything can be a learning experience...
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by Fixer » Sun Nov 26, 2017 22:44

Actually, people on linux seem to have less problems with luajit memory issues (at least few accounts from Vanessa)
 

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
Location: Athol, Massachusetts
GitHub: ChristoferL

Re: Worldgen LUA Memory Error?

by christoferlevich » Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:00

Fixerol wrote:Actually, people on linux seem to have less problems with luajit memory issues (at least few accounts from Vanessa)


I have been using Windows exclusively, but I could try that. Still, I am currently testing a build not compiled with LuaJIT and it seems much better than it was. The memory issue could really tank my project though. That would suck. LOL.
everything can be a learning experience...
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests