Why my game isn't smooth? [SOLVED]

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Why my game isn't smooth? [SOLVED]

by azekill_DIABLO » Wed Nov 29, 2017 17:35

-> I have some gud nvidia graphic card (proof: WarThunder at Max graphics with 70fps and 1366*768 rez)
-> I lowered nearly all graphic settings (very low view range and resolution, no shaders, filters or fog. I also have MTG (a recent version) and a 16pix TP.)

But even with that, the best I can get is 35-38 FPS. I have no idea why it is so slow! Please help me!
Last edited by azekill_DIABLO on Fri Dec 08, 2017 18:03, edited 1 time in total.
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by sofar » Wed Nov 29, 2017 18:52

azekill_DIABLO wrote:But even with that, the best I can get is 35-38 FPS. I have no idea why it is so slow! Please help me!


o_O

It's really hard to debug these issues without any form of reference. For instance, I have no idea what WarThunder is and 1366x768 doesn't sound like a high resolution to me.

Can you answer (in detail, please, with exact model names as much as you can)
- CPU model number?
- RAM?
- storage? is it a spinning rust (HDD) or SSD?
- OS? Version?
- GPU model? RAM on GPU?
- Monitor resolution?

And that's not even going into different parts of the problem, like running programs, internet connection, what minetest server you're playing on, etc.

If you're using Linux, there are plenty of tools available to summarize your hardware in a way that it is quickly visible what kind of performance characteristics your system has. Try and see if your OS has one of those. E.g. `sudo lshw -short` would really help.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by azekill_DIABLO » Fri Dec 01, 2017 17:49

Sorry for the late response!
> I made my own tool to do that lol

Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7 GenuineIntel ~3101 MHz
4 GB
SSD
Windows 10
Well I kinda forgot about the details... it's an Nvidia with at least 800Gti
1366*768

I'm playing minetest 4.16 and this happens on every subgame in single and multiplayer. (even minimal with super low graphics (bad lightning, no filters, shaders disabled, view_range = 40...) it's still under 40 FPS.)
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4093
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by Krock » Fri Dec 01, 2017 18:10

Located your CPU being a Intel Core i5-2400 @ 3.10GHz, which is far good enough for what Minetest needs.

So I think the problem are the divers for the graphics card, so check for driver updates. You can find more information using Everest Home Edition, which can tell you exactly what hardware you're using, even if Windows lists them as unknown devices.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by azekill_DIABLO » Fri Dec 01, 2017 19:46

Krock wrote:Located your CPU being a Intel Core i5-2400 @ 3.10GHz, which is far good enough for what Minetest needs.

Well, I hope so.

So I think the problem are the divers for the graphics card, so check for driver updates. You can find more information using Everest Home Edition, which can tell you exactly what hardware you're using, even if Windows lists them as unknown devices.

I think I have a driver problem. Will try to fix it and if it works, i'll tell you! thanks
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by sofar » Sat Dec 02, 2017 02:11

Agreed with krock that drivers may likely be the issue here.
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by sofar » Sat Dec 02, 2017 02:16

Ark.intel.com lists that cpu as having onboard intel hd graphics. Is the monitor plugged into the right port?
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1608
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by burli » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:08

you may have two or more HDMI ports on the back of your PC. One for the internal graphics from the integrated GPU, and one from your Nvidia GPU. Maybe you are using the wrong port

Based on your resolution I assume you have a laptop. Maybe you just have one HDMI port, but you set up your driver wrong and the game or the whole system only runs on the Intel GPU and you never use the Nvidia GPU

I don't use Windows for over 10 years now, so I can't help more

EDIT: or you set the video driver from Minetest accidentally to "software". Go to the settings and search for video_driver
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by azekill_DIABLO » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:12

burli wrote:you may have two or more HDMI ports on the back of your PC. One for the internal graphics from the integrated GPU, and one from your Nvidia GPU. Maybe you are using the wrong port

Well no. looks like there are only 3 ports here: graphics, power and sound.

Based on your resolution I assume you have a laptop.

NOPE. I have a weird computer.

Maybe you just have one HDMI port, but you set up your driver wrong and the game or the whole system only runs on the Intel GPU and you never use the Nvidia GPU

I think I forgot updateing my driver. I need to update it.

I don't use Windows for over 10 years now, so I can't help more

np, thanks anyway!
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by sofar » Sat Dec 02, 2017 21:26

Well no. looks like there are only 3 ports here: graphics, power and sound.


Are you sure? perhaps upload a picture of your case backside?
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by sofar » Sat Dec 02, 2017 21:26

Can you paste `cat /proc/cpuinfo` in here as well?
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by azekill_DIABLO » Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:36

sofar wrote:
Well no. looks like there are only 3 ports here: graphics, power and sound.


Are you sure? perhaps upload a picture of your case backside?

Better look for info on internet...

Taken from https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824254042
Code: Select all
Connectivity:

  Input Video Compatibility
      Analog RGB

  Connectors
      D-Sub

  D-Sub
      1

  DVI
      No

  HDMI
      No


Can you paste `cat /proc/cpuinfo` in here as well?

Isn't that linux commands? I already showed you the best I can get you know :D
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by sofar » Mon Dec 04, 2017 00:00

You have a D-sub connector to your onboard gfx... No, a link to an onboard website doesn't help, because we don't know for sure that's the actual mobo you have :)

and yeah, too bad you don't have Linux. Perhaps try a live CD?
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: Why my game isn't smooth?

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Dec 04, 2017 15:33

Correction: I have a Debian. AntiX to be precise. graphics are also totally ****ed up on it xD

/shitpost
(my computer is d00med! (no offense lol))
end/

BTW: I will re-install driver when I can and I'll tell you if that was the problem.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests