Coding error - distracted programmer

Post Reply
User avatar
Trenton
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 22:58
Location: Italy

Coding error - distracted programmer

by Trenton » Post

I was checking the -\games\minetest_game\default\init.lua
and I found a double string for the inventory image of the clay brick, the code is:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craftitem("default:clay_brick", {
    description = "Clay brick",
    inventory_image = "default_steel_ingot.png",
    inventory_image = "default_clay_brick.png",
})

maybe it was a distraction error during the copy of the command.

I hope this and other segnalation will improve the making of new versions of this awesome game ^^


(maybe this can become a "coding error" thread if someone else found some others error
Sorry for my poor english

>I'm still testing my mod. if you wanna help me contact me =)

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4534
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Funny that. And I would not call this a bug: this should go into Modding General.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Only the last string is read, anyway. :P

User avatar
Trenton
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 22:58
Location: Italy

by Trenton » Post

Jordach wrote:Funny that. And I would not call this a bug: this should go into Modding General.
it makes the code longer and maybe with some new release of the code may interfer with something and cause problem, that's why I called it bug. ^^
Sorry for my poor english

>I'm still testing my mod. if you wanna help me contact me =)

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4534
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Oh, but LUA takes the last thing as fact.

User avatar
Trenton
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 22:58
Location: Italy

by Trenton » Post

I'm still a n00b at coding, and I still have to learn how does LUA works. the others normally it takes in consideration only the first string
Spoiler
I take this occasion to ask if there's a topic about LUA scripting
Sorry for my poor english

>I'm still testing my mod. if you wanna help me contact me =)

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

by LolManKuba » Post

Trenton wrote:I'm still a n00b at coding, and I still have to learn how does LUA works. the others normally it takes in consideration only the first string
Spoiler
I take this occasion to ask if there's a topic about LUA scripting
You have written the 2000th post on the Bugs and Problems forum :O

User avatar
Trenton
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 22:58
Location: Italy

by Trenton » Post

LolManKuba wrote: You have written the 2000th post on the Bugs and Problems forum :O
yay! where's the prize? :D
Sorry for my poor english

>I'm still testing my mod. if you wanna help me contact me =)

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

by LolManKuba » Post

Trenton wrote:
LolManKuba wrote: You have written the 2000th post on the Bugs and Problems forum :O
yay! where's the prize? :D
Go visit a dungeon master to get it and its... 1 GRAVEL!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests