Page 1 of 1

alias to replace stairs(...)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:38
by ektor
Hello,

I want to remove the nether mod because of the lag on my server.
Every nether blocs are easy to replace in an aliases/init.lua file but the stairs doesn't work.
I write in the file:
Code: Select all
...
minetest.register_alias("stairs:stair_nether_brick", "stairs:stair_desert_stonebrick")
minetest.register_alias("stairs:slab_nether_brick", "stairs:slab_desert_stonebrick")
...

but in the world when I remove the nether mod, I find at the nether stairs place an unknow node...

How can I solve this?

Re: can't replace stairs:stair_nether_brick...

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:17
by TumeniNodes
Code: Select all
minetest.register_alias_force

this will unregister the nether brick stairs

http://dev.minetest.net/register_alias_force

Re: can't replace stairs:stair_nether_brick...

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:59
by ektor
Oh thanks TumeniNodes :) i'll try it!

Edit1:
It did not work,

but when I take it off, it gives me in the inventory the right object, and I can put it back in place ...

really weird

+ "images"


Edit2:
SORRY, it's work with the default stairs mod. :) But with the stairs_redo (that I use to have the corners stairs and other cool stuff) mod of TenPlus1, I always have unknows nodes...

Re: [SOLVED]alias to replace stairs(...)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 14:39
by TumeniNodes
Well, the default stairs mod does have corner stairs now, ...not "the other cool stuff" though.
If the issue is due to stairs redo, I would refer to TenPlus1. Just post your situation in the thread for that mod

Re: [SOLVED]alias to replace stairs(...)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 17:37
by ektor
TumeniNodes wrote:Well, the default stairs mod does have corner stairs now.


Oh yes I see it in servers in 0.5, great !


TumeniNodes wrote:If the issue is due to stairs redo, I would refer to TenPlus1. Just post your situation in the thread for that mod


I'll do this, thanks.

Re: [notSOLVED]alias to replace stairs(...)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 08:04
by TenPlus1
try this:

minetest.register_alias("stairs:slab_nether_brick", "stairs:slab_desert_stonebrick")
minetest.register_alias("stairs:stair_nether_brick", "stairs:stair_desert_stonebrick")

Re: [notSOLVED]alias to replace stairs(...)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 09:41
by ektor
TenPlus1 wrote:try this:

minetest.register_alias("stairs:slab_nether_brick", "stairs:slab_desert_stonebrick")
minetest.register_alias("stairs:stair_nether_brick", "stairs:stair_desert_stonebrick")


Thanks TenPlus1 to look at this post.
It's what I do in first place, but doesn't do the job.
And finally the 4 lines are now in my file:
Code: Select all
minetest.register_alias("stairs:stair_nether_brick", "stairs:stair_desert_stonebrick")
minetest.register_alias("stairs:slab_nether_brick", "stairs:slab_desert_stonebrick")
minetest.register_alias_force("stairs:stair_nether_brick", "stairs:stair_desert_stonebrick")
minetest.register_alias_force("stairs:slab_nether_brick", "stairs:slab_desert_stonebrick")

weird, isn't it?

Re: alias to replace stairs(...)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 17:26
by TenPlus1
the other way to handle this is re-enable nether mod and comment out the on_generated section which slows things down...

at line 606 in init.lua add: --[[

at very end of file add: --]]

and that's it :)