server setup

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Unknown
GitHub: AiTechEye

server setup

by AiTechEye » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:20

finally i got an isp that are allowing their customers to set up their own server at home.

I added the settings
Code: Select all
server_announce = true
enable_server = true
server_name = ...
server_description = ...
remote_port = 30000
port = 30000
serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net
max_users = 15


and in port forwarding (router firewall is off)

Image

the console says

Code: Select all
2019-01-19 11:17:45: [Main]: Using world specified by --worldname on the command line
message from mods ...
message from mods ...
message from mods ...
2019-01-19 11:17:46: ACTION[Main]: World at [... minetest-0.4.17.1-win64\bin\..\worlds\S]
2019-01-19 11:17:46: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:30000.


it still not going online, what is missing or wrong?
Attachments
a.PNG
(28.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by AiTechEye on Sat Jan 19, 2019 20:46, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
jas
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 18:15
GitHub: jastevenson303
IRC: jas_
In-game: jas

Re: server setup

by jas » Sat Jan 19, 2019 14:21

Not sure but I think you have to specify the port for each server, so maybe two entries for two ports?

Source target and local port are blank, is that okay?
2019-10-14 09:12:51: ACTION[Server]: jas activates
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Unknown
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Sat Jan 19, 2019 14:28

trying to change it, but what should it be in the local / target?

(changed 30000,30001 to 30000)
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: server setup

by Festus1965 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 19:03

in Portforward, pic, you forward 30000
in conf, and i see in start yoou used 30001

should be the same if it should work
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Unknown
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Sat Jan 19, 2019 21:04

the router says it are using a private ip, does it matter?
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: server setup

by Festus1965 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 04:21

the router tells you that where ?

the router need to know that the outside port, 30000 or 30001 (all ip, so not used or sometime need 0.0.0.0), should be forwarded to a
* ip intern network, most 192.168.x.x (what the mts is)
* maybe also to what port there - most easy if same (check minetest.conf and after started the text showed, pic also)
* tcp/udp or/and ...

so at your picture maybe local port should be filled also
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Unknown
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:34

30000 is the only port im using, and the local ip, firewall is off, dmz on... still not working.

EDIT:

the problem is my isp is rebuilding their network, and are using CG-NAT.
it makes it impossible to use port forwarding, except through some kind of service.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: server setup

by Festus1965 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 23:56

AiTechEye wrote:the problem is my isp is rebuilding their network, and are using CG-NAT.
it makes it impossible to use port forwarding, except through some kind of service.


oh I had the same here also, 1 year i needed to get that out = no own server, and a lot of useless time lost by testing

so:
* what services - can you missuse some other port, that is allowed to forward, instead of the official server that it should be (maybe 80 possible ?)
* can you ask the provider to give you a normal address, no NAT - at me at worked like that = MTS running and usable (after my request it took 2 days, then i had public ip, without NAT)
Last edited by Festus1965 on Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:04, edited 1 time in total.
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Unknown
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:59

many other people have this problem, and i will not mess around with it, maybe works later with ipv6
 

User avatar
Joseph16
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 05:35
In-game: Joseph16

Re: server setup

by Joseph16 » Sat May 04, 2019 14:01

I had the same problem. Might be different because of your ISP doing stuff but I deleted the forwarded config entry in the router's config page and made a new one, this time giving my pc a static IP, and making sure my pc was chosen in the selected device drop down. This filled in some IP details that I hadn't been able to manually.
Testin' mines since 1989
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest