server setup

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Sweden
GitHub: AiTechEye

server setup

by AiTechEye » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:20

finally i got an isp that are allowing their customers to set up their own server at home.

I added the settings
Code: Select all
server_announce = true
enable_server = true
server_name = ...
server_description = ...
remote_port = 30000
port = 30000
serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net
max_users = 15


and in port forwarding (router firewall is off)

Image

the console says

Code: Select all
2019-01-19 11:17:45: [Main]: Using world specified by --worldname on the command line
message from mods ...
message from mods ...
message from mods ...
2019-01-19 11:17:46: ACTION[Main]: World at [... minetest-0.4.17.1-win64\bin\..\worlds\S]
2019-01-19 11:17:46: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:30000.


it still not going online, what is missing or wrong?
Attachments
a.PNG
(28.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by AiTechEye on Sat Jan 19, 2019 20:46, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
jas
Member
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 18:15
GitHub: jastevenson303
IRC: jas_
In-game: jas

Re: server setup

by jas » Sat Jan 19, 2019 14:21

Not sure but I think you have to specify the port for each server, so maybe two entries for two ports?

Source target and local port are blank, is that okay?
201902221552
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Sweden
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Sat Jan 19, 2019 14:28

trying to change it, but what should it be in the local / target?

(changed 30000,30001 to 30000)
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: server setup

by Festus1965 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 19:03

in Portforward, pic, you forward 30000
in conf, and i see in start yoou used 30001

should be the same if it should work
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Sweden
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Sat Jan 19, 2019 21:04

the router says it are using a private ip, does it matter?
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: server setup

by Festus1965 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 04:21

the router tells you that where ?

the router need to know that the outside port, 30000 or 30001 (all ip, so not used or sometime need 0.0.0.0), should be forwarded to a
* ip intern network, most 192.168.x.x (what the mts is)
* maybe also to what port there - most easy if same (check minetest.conf and after started the text showed, pic also)
* tcp/udp or/and ...

so at your picture maybe local port should be filled also
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Sweden
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:34

30000 is the only port im using, and the local ip, firewall is off, dmz on... still not working.

EDIT:

the problem is my isp is rebuilding their network, and are using CG-NAT.
it makes it impossible to use port forwarding, except through some kind of service.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: server setup

by Festus1965 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 23:56

AiTechEye wrote:the problem is my isp is rebuilding their network, and are using CG-NAT.
it makes it impossible to use port forwarding, except through some kind of service.


oh I had the same here also, 1 year i needed to get that out = no own server, and a lot of useless time lost by testing

so:
* what services - can you missuse some other port, that is allowed to forward, instead of the official server that it should be (maybe 80 possible ?)
* can you ask the provider to give you a normal address, no NAT - at me at worked like that = MTS running and usable (after my request it took 2 days, then i had public ip, without NAT)
Last edited by Festus1965 on Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:04, edited 1 time in total.
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: Sweden
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: server setup

by AiTechEye » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:59

many other people have this problem, and i will not mess around with it, maybe works later with ipv6
 

User avatar
Joseph16
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 05:35
In-game: Joseph16

Re: server setup

by Joseph16 » Sat May 04, 2019 14:01

I had the same problem. Might be different because of your ISP doing stuff but I deleted the forwarded config entry in the router's config page and made a new one, this time giving my pc a static IP, and making sure my pc was chosen in the selected device drop down. This filled in some IP details that I hadn't been able to manually.
Testin' mines since 1989
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest